#3 Promoting 5 Cool Open Source Hunts For Everyday Use

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Steemhunt Platform - Promoting 5 Cool Open Source Hunts For Everyday Use

Github Repository: https://github.com/Steemhunt/web



The Steemhunt platform encourages hunters to post cool awesome products, and one of the category that hunters can submit are Open Source softwares, apps or websites. With my intense involvement promoting Open Source Economy at @Utopian-io, I take special interest in the kind of Open Source products that hunters search for. I also look out for cool Open Source products that have high ranks and so to promote them in these blog series.

As someone who is the Top Open Source Hunter, I know many Open Source projects that are worthy of promotion. Therefore, I encourage all hunters to hunt for more Open Source products. Many people are asking me what kind of Open source hunts are accepted by the Steemhunt Platform, so in this post, I have chosen good ranking Open source hunts so that you can get an idea of what kind of Open Source hunts do well.

The Steemhunt platform is relatively new at the moment. Right now, the platform search engine does not allow us to search for the complete archive of all the posts that have been submitted to Steemhunt. As time goes on, the older posts get hidden and only 50 newer posts remain at the top. This is a shame as many the great products discovered get lost because of the increasing number of posts that Steemhunt receives daily. For this reason, this series of Blog posts on Open Source hunts are worth your attention because they are no longer archived on the platform itself, partly due to the fact that there are more than 300+ submissions per day. Only the top 50 of different categories get archived in the search engine.

For today's blog, I will list out 5 Cool Open Source products that have received quite a bit of attention by the community lately because people are using it everyday. It is practical. As you know, voting plays a big role as the Steemhunt audience decides which products or hunts are the coolest for the day. Hunters vote high for products they can use right away.

The following Open Source products received good hunting scores. Some are new to me and some are quite popular which I use everyday for my work. For the new ones that I have discovered from Steemhunt, I have only used it for the past couple of weeks to test it out. So with my added personal experience of them together with the Steemhunt promotion, I hope you can also see why they are useful for you to use everyday.

When Open Source products are useful everyday, the Steemhunt audience will vote for them. Therefore everyday practicality becomes a big criterion to their high Hunt Upvote.

Open Source HuntsWebsiteSH UserHunt Score
hashi1_300.jpgHashicorp Vault@ruah27.89
monster2_300.jpgSteem Monsters Explorer@chronocrypto25.21
kiwix1_300.jpgKiwix @ruah21.98
greenshot_300.jpgGreenshot @toffer14.4
caprine2_300.jpgCaprine@superoo711.01


How You Can Start Using these 5 Open Source Products Today!

1. Hashicorp Vault

What I like about Hashicrorp Vault

  • There are many solutions out there to try to solve the secrets distribution problem. Hashicrop Vault is the newest one and so I am ready to try this out. In the previous ones, they don't solve the fundamental problem of the secret zero. And without the secret zero, there is no way you can authenticate the new system. This is what I like about this Vault.
  • This one, I feel, is the most secure database for storing sensitive data.
  • It works with flexible ACL, revoke mechanism, namespaces and an API for accessing that data.
  • The information in Vault is protected by a master key. The vault uses the master key to encrypt or decrypt secrets. The master key is not available on its own and has to be reconstructed every time when you start or restart Vault.
  • The downside I can think of is that the Vault is difficult to setup to work for the first time. I had to get the developer in my team to explain the details to me so that I know how to proceed to secure storage of secrets for our web platform.

Highlighting this valuable part of the explanation from this Steemhunt Link.

Vault has its own Audit Log letting its user know the details of all authenticated client interactions, such as authentication, token creation, secret access and secret revocation. The logs can be send to multiple backends to ensure redundant copies.

Afraid of leaking data to someone? or leaked data on the public before? this tools can be a help to you to make your secrets more secure by its audit log feature you will know the action of the user who get access to your secrets.

2. Steem Monsters Explorer

What I Like about Steem Monsters Explorer

  • I never knew this one before until I saw it on Steemhunt. This is actually quite a fun board game that is quite popular on the STEEM blockchain. All the actions are recorded on the blockchain.
  • This is still a web application under development so the app will have more features in these coming weeks which is something I look forward to, because so far, you can only view cards of accounts, game activity of accounts, and the latest transactions.
  • I don't work all the time on the Steem blockchain but take part in a few of these games that are out there now for fun.

Get more info to sign in from this Steemhunt Link

3. Kiwix

What I like about Kiwix

  • I've used Kiwix and the best thing about this is that you can access Wikipedia without internet connection. I use this when I am on the go traveling from one place to another because I can work offline and make good use of my time.
  • This is extremely easy to use. It has a very simple approach to offline website using 1 file.
  • Everything is store in 1 .zim file. The program can create a database of index file such that it is easy to search.
  • Another thing I like about this is that it displays all pages of the key words you are searching.

Start using this today and find out more from the Steemhunt Link.

4. Greenshot

What I like About Greenshot

  • If you have not heard about Greenshot, you will be in awe of what Greenshot can do for you. This is an extremely valuable tool for my everyday business. You will find Greenshot very easy to install and to set up.
  • Of all the things about Greenshot, I love the default of using the "Print Screen" key as its hotkey.
  • You can easily get different types of screen capture by using a combination of Alt or Ctrl keys.
  • With Greenshot, I can easily capture a region of my screen, such as the last region by simply selecting Shift & Print Screen. All I need to do is to simply press the assigned hotkey and the capture is done immediately.
  • Another cool feature that we use Greenshot for our clients is that we can capture a region by selecting a green overlay to pick the area of the capture.
  • In short, I can say that Greenshot works like any commercial screen capture program. Try it today!

Get more information from this Steemhunt Hunter.

5. Caprine

What I like about Caprine

  • Most of us have been using Facebook for a long time and it is still quite popular. If you are like me who uses Facebook everyday for personal use and for business, try Caprice. It is actually a cross platform desktop application for Facebook Messenger. This is surely an added dimension if you are a Facebook everyday user.
  • With Caprice, I can create an electron app layer on top of messenger site of Facebook. By doing so it has an efficient function of the message reply.
  • I personally like the dark themes and different modes it gives. You can choose your preference.

Download it today from the Steemhunt Link.

Conclusion

I hope you can see how great the Steemhunt platform can be if you know how to isolate the categories, such as the Open Source products that are being submitted everyday. While the different hunters do not have an overall picture of what products are being promoted, you can take advantage of my blog series here where I have done all the research for you. Most people just read about the hunts and do not know what to do, so I hope these blogs will help you see the values of these Open Source products on Steemhunt and that you will join me to promote these Open source work to your friends also after you have good experiences with them.

For Steemhunt hunters, I hope to have gotten your interest now for Steemhunt as you can see that these open source projects get accepted with quite high scores. Explore and discover the next best open source work and submit it to Steemhunt. I will be there waiting for you.

Blog Series of Open Source Hunts

  1. How To Search Open Source Hunts & Grow Your Audience
  2. Steemhunt - Promoting 3 Popular Open Source Products for Your Business

Thank you for your attention,
Rosa
@rosatravels

Image Credit: 1, 2 3 4 5


Thank you reading this post!

谢谢你的阅读!希望你喜欢。

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the hunt!

Considering the main part of the content, most of the things you like about those project are not specific enough to describe something except the general features of the projects. Those points are also lacking volume to be considered as body parts of a blog post. I suggest digging into the details of those projects and then providing insights and the best overviews you could do.

Although it's not a post which Utopian would reward with high amounts, it's important write such posts to promote open source projects especially for Steemhunters.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @rosatravels
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42