steemit UI suggestion - change $ sign in Pending Payout to STU.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

problem:

The $ sign in the Pending Payout display for listings is highly confusing, as is the value that is displayed behind it. The Pending Payout is displayed in different locations, the screenshots below give two examples, with the item in question circled by a blue squiggly line:.

Within a list of posts:

Capture-$toSTU-1.JPG

At the bottom of a post:

Capture-$toSTU-3.JPG


It's not just confusing to the average user, but was until recently also confusing to witness @dragosroua as his recent post indicates. A quote from this post:

The main confusion point is the "$" displayed by default near the rewards by Steemit (and busy, and eSteem). This "$" is not a USD. It has nothing to do with it. It's also not a SBD. So, what is it? It's what I'l call from now on a "Steem Token Unit", or STU. This is different from SBD and STEEM as currencies, and it's actually the expression of the underlying value storage in the STEEM blockchain, which goes under the name vests.

So, the potential reward you see near your posts is actually expressed in STU.


I like his suggestion to reference this value as a "Steem Token Unit" or STU.

suggestion:

I propose to make a simple UI change and replace the "$" symbol with the string "STU" (at 85% font size to make it less prominent). Given the previous two screenshots, a mockup of the proposed solution looks like:

Within a list of posts:

Capture-$toSTU-2.JPG

At the bottom of a post:

Capture-$toSTU-4.JPG



User's might still have a question what "STU" means, but that can be explained in the steemit FAQ or with some kind of tooltip if desired.

benefits:

This minor change reduces major user confusion.

implementation:

The screenshots above provide info on two locations where the Pending Payout can appear. I don't know what the full set of possible locations is, a code search would have to identify all those I assume. The actual change is simple, replace the "$" symbol with the text "STU".
If my suggestion to reduce the font-size is followed as well, then a minor CSS change is required:

.FormattedAsset .prefix {
    padding-right: 0.2rem;        <-- currently 0.1rem
    font-size: 85%;                         <-- new
}
Potentially a new CSS class needs to be introduced if the above class(es) are used elsewhere for other purposes as well.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I agree with you 100% that since SBD has not been pegged to the $USD in some time now at $ to $1 it is extremely confusing. However, I do not think that using STU is the proper solution. That means nothing to me in terms of monetary value of the post. I truly believe that most people in general believe it is a $ payout currently. Even those that have been here when it did represent a close approximation to it $ payout.

Can the logarithm or calculation be changed to resemble that of an earnings amount relatable to the masses and most importantly to a dollar equivalent since that is what most people equate their work and time to a worth.

I agree that the displayed amount has little meaning to the average person if they are interested in a monetary estimate, but that was not the subject of this proposal. To change the logic behind the amount value is much more complicated than the currently proposed simple UI change to clarify the current displayed amount. Your request might require a code change to a different repository if I understand it correctly - a change in the steem blockchain application itself. Moreover, receiving the current value is a simple read operation, while your request would require a calculation each time your preferred earnings value is being displayed. Since that is still only an estimation of future payouts at best, I'm not sure if it is worth the extra effort. But... I suggest you file a "suggestion" request on utopian.io like I did. You can sign up and log in with your steemit credentials.

I would like to second this comment that STU is not the right solution. When SBD goes back to 1 USD, this discussion becomes moot anyway. (I don't stress out as the SBD price ratio keeps dropping, I always valued SBD at 1 USD anyway)

I would instead suggest as a hover, that it displays the predicted SBD/SP split, and that makes it absolutely clear what people will be predicted to get. I'm having a hard time determining if anyone has suggested it yet. But no matter, I'll just put it here.

Agreed

Thanks for your support

ah good I dont understand what is the value!

Thanks for clarifying this. I have found it super confusing to figure out actual post payouts and I was starting to think that the pending payouts were miscalculated. Now we need to figure out how to translate stu into sbd or steem.

BTW does anyone know if steempower is equal in value to steem? From what I gather there is a a fee to powerdown to steem and some value is lost along the way...

Thanks for your comment @naturalworld. Please read the article by @dragosroua that I reference in my post, and check out his Steem Supply tool.

Hey @edward.maesen I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.57
ETH 3030.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26