You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: steemit UI suggestion - change $ sign in Pending Payout to STU.

in #utopian-io7 years ago

I agree with you 100% that since SBD has not been pegged to the $USD in some time now at $ to $1 it is extremely confusing. However, I do not think that using STU is the proper solution. That means nothing to me in terms of monetary value of the post. I truly believe that most people in general believe it is a $ payout currently. Even those that have been here when it did represent a close approximation to it $ payout.

Can the logarithm or calculation be changed to resemble that of an earnings amount relatable to the masses and most importantly to a dollar equivalent since that is what most people equate their work and time to a worth.

Sort:  

I agree that the displayed amount has little meaning to the average person if they are interested in a monetary estimate, but that was not the subject of this proposal. To change the logic behind the amount value is much more complicated than the currently proposed simple UI change to clarify the current displayed amount. Your request might require a code change to a different repository if I understand it correctly - a change in the steem blockchain application itself. Moreover, receiving the current value is a simple read operation, while your request would require a calculation each time your preferred earnings value is being displayed. Since that is still only an estimation of future payouts at best, I'm not sure if it is worth the extra effort. But... I suggest you file a "suggestion" request on utopian.io like I did. You can sign up and log in with your steemit credentials.

I would like to second this comment that STU is not the right solution. When SBD goes back to 1 USD, this discussion becomes moot anyway. (I don't stress out as the SBD price ratio keeps dropping, I always valued SBD at 1 USD anyway)

I would instead suggest as a hover, that it displays the predicted SBD/SP split, and that makes it absolutely clear what people will be predicted to get. I'm having a hard time determining if anyone has suggested it yet. But no matter, I'll just put it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66566.79
ETH 3333.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70