You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1UP-Date: TribeVibes Mascot, More Community Airdrops & Official Steem Monsters Boss

in #utopian-io6 years ago

This is a great update. So much activity, all of it trending in a positive direction. I love seeing it. And, of course, I love the progress being made towards cooperation between 1Up and Utopian.

I also dig the new mascot for #tribevibes. So spiritual and magical! Great work by @kayrex!

I did feel the post could greatly improve in the areas of style, grammar, and proofreading. Some sentences were legitimately difficult to understand. I'd be happy to provide examples in a follow-up post if you're interested.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

I am happy to improve a few sentences here. Always happy to learn. :)

Cool. On to the examples! These are all from the opening paragraph.

What exciting time

Should be "What an exciting time"

We are rushing towards Smart Media Tokens and the general feeling to be here is getting better by the day.

To start, this sentence badly needs a comma before "and." Also, "the general feeling to be here" is not grammatically correct. Maybe "the general feeling here" or "the general feeling of being here" would work.

The 1UP project will bring a massive benefit to communities and individual Steemians and things come along nicely.

To start, there's another missing comma before "and." Also, things "are coming along nicely," not "come along nicely."

The commas before the and were new to me. We never do that in German before an und. But knowing it now makes it easier. I don't really understand the ohter examples gramatically but I get the feeling of why mine looked bad and your example not. That is good enough for me. ;)

Thanks, I am getting the hang of this. Utopian rocks!

I am not that good at many of the underlying rules either. But I do know what is and isn't grammatical.

Here are the simple rules to using commas before "and": The only time you don't do it is when you're making a list with two items. "My friends are called Joe and Jill." If it splits a sentence into two distinct parts, you always need a comma. If you're making a list with more than two items, that's a point of contention. I support using the Oxford comma, so I say you should.

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 1 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77