My first review and how steepshot uttered my journey on the blockchain

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

After many thoughts on how to establish a more comprehensive review on open source platforms, I have decided to diversify my work on the steem blockchain and I’ll be introducing different platforms that I have had a great experience on.

Being part of the new waves and driving force has given me the opportunity to explore and learn about a lot and believe me being part of steem blockchain has been my greatest achievement so far.

I know a lot of people out the will love to make some incentives while blogging especially those who finds it hard to write long blog post or those going through writer’s blog. Having said that, have come to a conclusion that I’ll be introducing a decentralized platform where you can earn as you display your lifestyle and virtual experience.

In today’s episode, I’ll love to share with you what have seen and experience so far, and the open source platform I’ll be writing about is steepshot.io but before I begin, I believe it will be more appropriate to pin-point or outline what I’ll be discussing today.


2074E196-FB7B-4388-862D-91860B21D9DD.jpeg


link

Talking points :

  • The idea behind steepshot.
  • It’s features

19D0B74F-7DC4-4029-BAC2-4477C986472F.jpeg


Before we start let me talk about how I came to know of the existence of this platform because I believe it will be appropriate to do so.

My experience cannot be complete without mentioning utopian.io because without it I wouldn’t have discovered steepshot.io in the first place.

This time last year I was a consistent contributor on utopian and that’s when I contributed on steepshot repository and because of the phase at which I met steepshot, I had to suggest many features that should have been included in other to establish a platform that could stand the test of time. Most of my contributions have been integrated and some are yet to be established.

Seeing the advantage of this platform got to me, and I was intrigued by it idea and user interface, so I decided to uncover it secrets. I began to learn more about this platform because it was more like Instagram where you post pictures and write about it in a short description. This picture could be anything be it traveling pictures, adventures or personal selfies and the fun thing about steepshot was the reward which followed and to me this was a dream come through because at that stage I was still new to blogging and I had lots of writers block.

The idea behind steepshot:


3BE9D7F9-51D0-4A16-B449-805D8E067434.jpeg


link

This is where you’ll learn more about steepshot.io and what it’s all about.

I believe these days a lot of people indulge in taking selfies and uploading them online where the get likes as rewards. Well if it was 3 years ago I would have encouraged it or likely be a part of it. This is because those likes at that time we’re like rewards or a way to justify how popular you are. Now I think they’re better options.

I believe regardless of likes, you should be able to make something from every month or yearly subscriptions that you do get from your data subscribers.

A lot of people are looking for a means to get rewarded for their work and effort and most times they might fall into the hands of scammers. Being a part of steepshot changes everything because it is secured and transparent with no authority controlling what you can establish or introduce apart for posting NFWS.

Steepshot is a platform running on steem blockchain and it’s ideas are to reward it users for showcasing their lifestyle and experience virtually.

From it definition I believe you can understand what this means. This platform is a place for people to actually share and interact. For instance, you might be willing to explore different country that you know nothing of but on steepshot you might happen to meet someone who has been to that place and you’ll get to share in his or her experience.

This can also be an avenue to publicize your goods and services whereby you can attract more engagements and customers.

Steepshot Features:


2E0DF7A3-D20F-4FF5-8603-6A4C1E168D73.jpeg


link

To be honest there are a lot of features integrated on this platform that are well-designed and useful to it me. Steepshot has almost the same basic features own by most dapps on steem blockchain though there’re some changes in it designs. You’ll get to see the basic once such as comment tab, like button and flag button. I believe you’re familiar with it functions already so it shouldn’t be had to implement them.

Let’s talk about the User interface:

Well if this is the first time you’re using steepshot here’s what you’ll discover when you open it front page.

You can either choose what suits you either the web version or the App versions and from there you’ll be introducing to different tabs where you can check on what’s trending, Hot or New just like on steemit.com. As for me I love the web version because am more comfortable with it and each time I am trying to make a contribution I do well to engage my self with other user in other to uncover what they’ve been doing especially during the past holiday period. The front page is practically where you have different tabs at your disposal and you can easily dive into anyone that suits you.

Search tab and the browse feature:

This is another useful tab that I find to be very useful especially when am in need of a particular thing. I remember a time when I was working on a project and I needed to have an insight of how a particular location was so after searching through tags, I finally got what I wanted.

Because of the closure I have with most of my followers and those I am following, each time I need to search for a particular user I can do it directly from the search tab or I can easily browse through different areas without having to go through steemit.

Post editor:

1DB820D9-EAD9-45FC-9A12-FCD243CC0A60.jpeg


This is another feature that I wish to discuss in this episode. As a normal steemit blogger there’s no difference in it just that when it comes to the description, you’re limited and that’s because this platform is more of pictures than write-ups.

You’re limited to only 2048 characters but yet it’s enough to establish a connection between your readers.

Flag button:

I remember when we had a popular hack on steem blockchain and a lot of people lost their coins. This was so terrible and at that time steepshot was far away from the flag button this got me worried before being able to flag an abusive comment lead others to be aware of an abusers and how to be mindful of suspicious links. As a user I take time to go through different comments when I can and I make sure that any comment I establish is from my own view not some random words. Though have never engaged in any flagging but I see the need to have this feature and thanks to the developer have seen an impressive improvement from this angle.

  • Like button
  • Comment field

I would have love to introduce this features to my review but I think they are too popular that almost everyone knows it basic functions and how they can be implemented on different stages at different time.

Users profile:


202E3CFC-FB72-4E90-8C9D-BFF77A3AAC16.png


This is a feature that I hope will be much improved with time because it has been designed in a way that you can’t edit or alter anything. Most DApps on steem blockchain have established a means where users can easily edit their profile directly from their platform but that is yet to be established on steepshot. However, have been able to see all the basic things about my profile which is very much appreciated.

Being able to only view my profile is not good enough and I believe this should be improved subsequently.

Wallet:


D3D05102-B9F0-446C-8551-1A926B24E15E.jpeg


This platform wouldn’t have been complete without the wallet features which houses all your steem, steem power and Steem backed dollars (SBD). Normally I use this feature very often because I love to keep an eye on my progress everyday same with the history so that I can easily check if I have been lucky enough to have some free coins from my followers or those I am following.

4CC4CE40-5B03-4A26-B2D5-FD8A96809654.jpeg

I noticed that when viewing the wallet, and let’s say you’ve delegated some steem power to another user, this is not included ratter the remaining steem power is what is displayed. In my belief I think the wallet should be able to house every thing in other for a user to understand its overall steem power regardless of it delegations but then there’s a feature in this wallet that I really love and this has made my life much easier while using this platform. The feature is the ability to claim rewards and also to transact between different accounts directly from the platform. This feature has made it much easier to execute different transactions without being worried about using steemit.com.

Settings:

When I first saw this Feature, honestly I thought it had the same function with the one on steemit.com but after clicking it I notice that you can only sort through post and toggle between NFSW post. I know steepshot is still young so am positive that more features will be added to make this platform an outstanding one, one that’ll be above it contemporaries.

Description:

This description is where I talk about how and what my pictures is all about and it’s amazing because you’re not required to say much. I find it very difficult to blog about lots of stuffs because apart from steemit have never been a part of blogging and that’s why I use steepshot. It’s very easy and anyone can try it especially novices who are new to what blogging is all about.

Tags:

There’s a tab feature where you can include multiple tabs just like in any DApp platform running on the steem blockchain but I think steepshot has the highest tags amongst other platforms and this is because when it comes to tags you get up to 20tags to establish on your post which means more visibility can be gained on your post.

Most time while using other platforms I wish I had more possibilities so that I can actually include lots of tags in order to gain more visibility to my post but while on steepshot I can actually do this and it as being a blessing to me so far.

Summary

In summary, I believe in my own very strength an opinion, I have been able to discuss the core values of steepshot and how amazing my journey on the platform has being although they are a lot to be done in other to make it much more conducive for variety of users or let’s say to improve it standards when compared to other platforms. I’ll urge the developer to establish more in some aspect such as the settingsalso that a user might have more control over his profile.

Watch out for the next episode where I'll be writing about the hidden features of steepshot.

Glad you Stopped by.

Links

Project repository:

https://github.com/Chainers/steepshot-web

Project link:

https://steepshot.io

GitHub profile:

https://github.com/abasifreke50

Resources:

All pictures were taken from my laptop and mobile phone while using steepshot.io and those that were downloaded were probably sourced

Sort:  

Hello, @abasifreke!

Thank you for this contribution. Steepshot is a great project, and I am glad you decided to start a new series of blog posts about the application. Your post is informative and well-illustrated with relevant screenshots.

I must admit that I like all the information provided. You gave an insightful overview of the features described in your review, and also took the time to share your personal views and knowledge. Keep up the good work.

That said, I believe that this post could have been better written. There were issues of grammar and style, making your text difficult to comprehend at times. Regardless, I appreciate the time and effort you put into your work.

I look forward to reading your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Hi @abasifreke!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @abasifreke!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66