My Before vs My Now. My story as a Steemian and a breadwinner (Untalented Contest #2)

This is just getting more interesting all the time. I want to say a big thank you to @surpassinggoogle for this wonderful opportunity to share experiences like this just like the last one I participated in. I love #untalented contest. You are really helping a lot of us to go into thanksgiving mode, just by looking back and seeing where we use t o be and where we are now. Sincerely, is worthy of thanksgiving.

ganache media

It is time for reminiscences.

BEFORE……….

Life has been so kind to me but not without his ups and down. I am a professional salesman with an insurance company in Nigeria. For anyone who knows how insurance is been perceived in Nigeria you will agree with me that is not encouraging at all, especially before the recapitalization of the sector in 2007. The mentality there is that insurance company owners and salespeople are fraudsters who go around lying to people on how they can insure themselves or their property, but refuse to pay claim when the unforeseen contingencies promised them happened. This can be traced to lack of proper regulations of the industry in the past, which now gave room to a lot of unethical and unprofessional practices as perpetrated by the operators then.

AIChE

In 2007, the sector was recapitalized to a tune of 5 billion naira, and the same thing happened in the banking sector as well as the sector was also recapitalized to a tune of 25 billion naira. This resulted into the 2 sectors being the only recapitalized sectors in the Nigeria financial industry till date. This is what led to the reason why insurance companies and banks went into merger and acquisition. For example, access bank acquiring intercontinental and Enterprise bank changes to Heritage Bank.
Why are mine explaining this? Is just to open our mind to some difficulties a man can face in the process of trying to make ends meet. In case you don’t know, most insurance employees receives commission as form of remuneration, and that means what you are able to bring as sale is what will determine what you will earn at the time of every pay day.
Man In Suit.jpg
Back in the days when men are still boys

To be honest with you it was not an easy task doing this. Just imagine how much of convincing you will need to do in order to get a business deal sealed. You will find yourself working around the streets, looking for a potential customer that will be willing to listen to you, nevertheless buying your product at that point in time. I remember not being able to make any sales in the first two months, but I later got one business at the end of the third month.

Though, I was able to face all this difficulties without relenting on my effort, but always encouraging myself that I can do it and I can make something good out of the job. The journey has been so challenging yet interesting.

I remember the time I was duped by fraudsters and when I lost huge part of my business capital to Ponzi schemes all in the name of trying to make money in order to take good care of my family as the sole breadwinner. With the fact that I also love taken risk

Dark moment for me

It was in the process of looking for how am going to get myself together after losing a lot of money to Ponzi scheme that I got to know about the opportunity in steemit through @tojukaka, and since then have being trying all my best to contribute my own quota to the growth of the platform. I can say that was the beginning of what you are seeing now through my blog.

NOW………

At the beginning I remember facing some difficulties with writing posts that are original especially when you have done your research and spend a lot of time on a post but ended up not getting enough up-vote and re-steeming then you begin to get discouraged. Sometimes I ask myself if this is what I really want to be doing now.

Youtube

But with the help, comment and constructive criticisms from friends like @tojukaka, @michelle.gent, @stellabelle, @infovore, @shello, @samstickkz, @blocktrades, @ehiboss, @amec, @prechi, @sussan , @ewuoso, @surpassinggoogle and many other fellow steemians. I was able to find my feet on the platform.

These are the sets of steemians who believed so much in what a minnows like me can do and they will always encourage me with their presence by visiting my post, commenting on it and upvoting it if the need be. I can say to a very good extent that I have tried my best and am also convinced that being on this platform is not a waste of time. I know that if I continue like this, one day I will also become a Whale like you (@surpassingoogle). Laughing………………

youtube

In Steemit, I have learnt a lot of things that I never knew where part of me not until I got involved on this platform. I have seen and read so many posts that have changed my mentality about life generally. Beyond the few cents I get from up-votes, I have also gain more in terms of information about things happening around the world because you just notice that someone somewhere will write something about that event or happening and put it on steemit.

Though, I am still working with the insurance company, but I can categorically tell you that with steemit and so many other opportunities before me. I know I have better options even if I don’t want to work there anymore. The time I spent on internet these days are more productive and profitable and am happy about that.

#Untalented contest has really helped someone like and it has always been fun coming here to learn from someone like @surpassinggoogle. You are such an inspiration.

Once again, thanks to the creators of this platform, because of a truth it has really helped me to see life in a more meaningful way. @surpassingoogle, thank you for this contest and the opportunity share this.

Long live steemit ……………long live #untalented contest.

Thank you for taking out time to read this

Sort:  

Welcome mate the Nigerian community is not a bean pudding. Its gradually becoming a force, your autobiography got me inspired, i love this, and @surpassinggoogle will surely get a Nigerian wife. I heard he now speaks our language 😁😁😁😁

@josediccus. Thank you for dropping by. Of a truth steemit has come stay in Nigeria. Cheers mate

See you at the top. Meanwhile. Im a poet and a content writer, and im following you

Following you too. I love writing post that has to do real life experiences and motivational stuff. I do different stuff. I will check your blog to see more on your poems. Kindly do the same.

Of course i will, i will do likewise and follow you up

This is truly #untalented. Keep it up my friend

Waoh! Am really honored by this. Thank you @gbenga for this lovely comment. You are one of my inspiration on this platform and I celebrate you for that.

Great story, thank God for the new knowledge. Steemit all the way

Yeah! We really thank God. Appreciates your dropping by.

This is really inspiring. Life could be an hard knot at times. thank God for steemit. It's a great platform. I wish you best. Let's become whales together!

Yeah! And Whales we shall be soon. Thank you bro.

Waoh! Thank you once again @surpassinggoogle . I think i now understand what #untalented and #steemgigs is all about. With this type of initiative every steemian will be happy and comfortable with him/herself.
This kind of initiative will self confidence in the heart of everyone here either as a minnow or a whale.
You are building a common ground for everybody so that someone will not see himself as a pushover. Everyone will have a say and his voice will be heard.
Sincerely ,I want to say i feel dropped reading your goal and what you want to achieve with this project writing. It really showed to me how some individuals like you and @stellabelle wants us to have wonderful world were everyone would be shown true love.
@surpassinggoogle. I want to say thank you and I am ready to join this movement and make this platform and the whole a better place to live.

Just finish writings a post I titled "start again" below is the link to the post:

https://steemit.com/motivation/@optimistdehinde/start-again-part-1

I believe it will help someone to believe in him/herself again just like you are preaching. I am really honored to have met someone like you on this platform . May Jehovah continue to bless you and your household.

@optimistdehinde celebrates your passion for others. I am actually getting my signature ready because of the autograph that we are going to be signing very soon.(lol). Thank you.

GOOD Luck

Hello @optimistdehinde

You have been spotted by @gbenga to possess rare gem!

So what can we do than to seal the deal, give you our tiny upvote and celebrate you, for everyone has something to offer.

We welcome you to the #untalented family. Feel free to come around for its a home with us. Flaws allowed, so relegate reservations and play with that beautiful mind of yours, let's tap into more hidden aspects of you. No average, no bum, just awesome you and the best version of YOU is a gift to humanity everytime. Stay awesome!

Join the steemgigs community on discord

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.

However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs in the first search box.

thank you

Wooow! Bro. You are a strong man and am so motivated by this post. Have heard alot of tales about @surpassingoogle and the great work he is doing here on steemit especially for minnows. Well i just hope he finds me some day. Nice one bro. @optimistdehinde

@eloquentsam. God has been the God of my journeys. Just enjoying His grace. He will find you. Just keep on doing you own thing. Thanks for the shout out.

Here on steemit, you're your own boss.
Keep up the good work

Thanks dearie. You are one of my inspiration and I really mean that. thanks for dropping by.

Life is always a journey one must complete , that's is very wonderful @optimistdehinde, in deed to be a great man isn't a day job, as long as we live we continue struggling and striving for a better tomorrow. I thank God for seeing you through in odds and good times. I congtratulate u for what u achieved in steemit so far. Ur experiences has given me courage to keep moving forward, believing that one day I will reach my destination in steemit and beyond, thanks for sharing..

@piusrita. Thank you for the kind words . i really cherish them. Just keep on being yourself and very soon you will be celebrated as a whale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59