Good Morning Steemit | Finally Got A Raspberry Pi

in #untalented7 years ago (edited)

Salam (Peace)

Well, it's not a morning here, but does time matter?
We are all over the globe!!

IMG_20171231_125058Z.jpg

For those who doesn't know, Raspberry Pi is basically a small computer with okay and cheap price... It can't be used for things Modern PC does, but it's more powerful than many older computers and it can work many retro games

Since two three years ago and RPi is one of the things I dreamed to own. The ability to change operating system just by changing the SD card is amazing... And having a small computer with a small.

There are few things I wanted a Raspberry Pi for

  • To have a reason to use/learn Linux (And how to manage A Small/Portable Computer).
  • To Learn Tiny Development, especially Python and TIC-80 (Lua).
  • To Test Things I Make, on A Low End Computer.
  • To Try Portable Retro Gaming (Retropie)

Steemit Made This Possible

I bought the Raspberry Pi along with all its external add-ons with the money I earned from here. (Yaay)

As I said in one of my previous articles getting something to Libya from outside the country with money I earned from home is achievement!!

I'm also happy that I'm not the only one whose steemit account made this possible for them. Hopefully steemit will grow and we'll all grow with it.

IMG_20171231_125954V.jpg

Challenges

I had some of problems trying to work it on a 5' Inch Screen. Then enabling the Wi-fi (I used a hidden router and faced problems finding it). I also learned that you can't send files from windows to the SD card easily, and still haven't been able to do that yet...

But I'm good at googling, and by checking [Solved] posts all over the internet, I overcome some of the challenges, and hopefully I'll be able to rise my head as a Raspberry Pi Developer soon!!

This made me remember the joy of programming again, and this cliche that happened to all of us:

Me: "It doesn't work, I don't know why?"
Me *messing up with the setting a lot*
Me: "It works now... I don't know why?"

Well, that's it for now... If when I manage to get retropie running I might make another post. Made the tag #ahmadmangarpi just in case.

What Do You Think?

I really love to read people's comments on my posts.
If you liked this post, you might like... uh... you know, I don't think I wrote a post related to this before. Check my Best Posts if you're interested in my game reviews or fiction.

Sort:  

nice article~ resteemed 😇

Super cool that you were able to use your steem earnings to buy a Raspberry pi!

I'm excited to see what kind of RPi developed games you end up making!

Pakistan?

Libya, but I think we are similar to Pakistan in some ways.

yeah we are

I have one of those, but stopped using it. Its just too slow and each time i had to plug in all stuff like power wire keyboard monitor etc.
Learning linux lua and python at same time is gonna be hard i guess, i wish you luck.

Learning linux lua and python at same time is gonna be hard i guess

Thanks for the advice, I'll probably learn one of them first.... Maybe Lua because I find many game dev programs use it. Wait... Python too!!

Well, I'll see in the next days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32