FINDING SELF-WORTH ― Amazing Adjustments That Have Happened To My Life Since I Found Steemit #Untalented

in #untalented-adjustments7 years ago (edited)

20161125_155608.jpg

This flower is a representation of finally getting a hold of my self-worth. It took so much time and wrong-validations, but it's worth the wait and it's worth much.


I am often labeled as ungrateful because of how pessimistic I am despite of everything that I am given with. Those who are yet to know my life and what I've been through easily point their fingers at me as if one single hurtful comment from them can turn how my brain thinks, but it only makes it worse. Not a single hurtful, unabashed opinion can mend a broken soul; only love, compassion, encouragement, and a whole lot of patience.

Growing up, I used to get compared to other family members and successful neighbors. "Look at her, look at him. Look at how successful they are! You should take this, you should take that." Blah, blah, blah. I was never taught of paving my own way and doing things my way. I was never taught that it's okay to take my time because not everyone's journey are timed the same. I was never taught that it's okay to think of yourself first because it is the most important thing.

I was only taught to take the path of someone else's.


See, I knew my parents only wanted the best for me; unfortunately you don't get this in your unruly teenage years and so you rebel until you ruin your life. The result? A mix of depressed, anxious, very low self-esteem, and no confidence of a person right up until November of 2017. All these years, I was asking and looking for validation in the wrong places when the only validation I needed is within my self.

To be quite honest, I was hesitant to write this one because I have been writing non-stop about how #steemit changed my life and it really gets cheesy. I have always been open when something good and/or bad happens and although they are my most genuine feelings, I can't help but get anxious as to how people perceive it.

Will the authenticity of my words lessen the more I talk about it?



IMG_20161124_223613.jpg


Untitled-1.pngThis is by far the best thing that's ever happened to me. My friends over at Facebook are always so supportive of the things I do: drawing, painting, photography, singing, et al. And although I want to believe them with all my heart, there were still doubt because they're my friends and my friend's are kind and supportive and all sorts of wonderful, encouraging people.

But when I started steemit, I know my output will get criticized through monetary upvotes. And what's better way to assess your skills than getting a huge upvote from someone who's a complete stranger, right? Partly right. Although I do not recommend that you weigh your worth that way, in my case it worked. Not exactly with the upvotes alone, but gaining readers, followers, having purposeful engagement, and knowing genuine people who gives genuine feedback without asking anything in return. It can be an ego booster and I don't see anything bad with it. I needed to feel important and appreciated or else this feeling of growing self-worth isn't even possible.


Untitled-1.png

I am the most perfectionist person I know and it hinders my growth as an individual who's flawed but perfectly imperfect. If you see me how I work, I go all out ― from markdown-styling to editing the photographs I upload within my posts. I get burnt-out most of the time all because of my doing. I think of details or of how things should get done. I worry about the slightest spaces between my paragraphs. I worry about the smallest crack of my voice when I sing for #openmic. I worry about the tiniest unbalanced in my photographs.

But when I started steemit, I realized that it's okay to stop when you think it's only going worse. It's not that you neglect quality, but it's because done is better than perfect. Why would you want a dozen of unfinished ideas when you can submit the best version of it and developed it further along the way? I am myself's worst critic, but I have learned it here. Although in all honestly, I still struggle with this. But hey, at least I am trying and I have started.


DSCF3807.jpg


asd.png

It is not that I rant all the time in Facebook, but I am quite opinionated when it comes to the things I feel strongly about. Sometimes I get way too transparent and open, but I don't care as long as it touches a stranger's heart. Breaking up the stigma of talking about mental health is something I really want steemit to embrace. I want people to know that it is okay not to be okay ― that it is okay to feel burnt-out, uninspired, unmotivated, depressed, anxious, and a whole lot more and not get embarrassed by it.

What is not okay is not opening up and not asking for help. I learned this the hard way. I almost ended everything without accepting and knowing what exactly is behind it. I thought it was only a teenager's angst, but it was more than that. It was more than a rebellious act. It was a black-hole sucking me into ultimate damnation. My crying for help didn't help either because I wasn't taken seriously.

Here at steemit, I want to be a listening ear and a virtual friend who only consoles and not judge. I want to be the person who helps others because I understand where they are coming from. I want to be the person who becomes a testimony through the beautiful things steemit has done to her life.

sfd.png

Overall, I think I am becoming the woman I only dreamt of becoming before ― wise, kind, hard-working, giving, and over-all beautiful on the inside. I am nowhere near ideal, but I am trying, and steemit brought out that version of me. I want others to realize their dreams and have financial freedom. I want others to know that talents are important, too, despite not having a 4 degree course under your belt. I want others to know that you can have your own pace without running to keep up with others.


How about you? What are your amazingly beautiful adjustments upon finding steemit? Join @surpassinggoogle's contest which you can find here.

Cheers & Happy New Year!





DQmQ9Fqg8z7k1vLefpQdcwqAQXTnaWYdpUNHMAJSjpgeGyR_1680x8400.png




WITNESSES: @aggroed | @ausbitbank | @blocktrades | @cloh76.witness | @curie | @pfunk | @precise | @smooth.witness | @someguy123 | @steemgigs | @timcliff | @utopian-io

Sort:  

It has been nice seeing you grow here. I don't know if you remember but I commented on your intro post. I've been checking out your posts even if I don't always leave a comment. I think you're on a genuine path of self discovery and I wish you all the best in that epic quest.

Feel free to look me up if there's ever anything you want to get off your chest. I'm a good listener.

Hey! Of course I remember you, @btcnoodle! Thanks a lot, and I hope my posts don't bore you. Cheers! And I'll remember that. For now, I like how steemit changes me into someone more positive. :) Although sudden deep sadness visits me from time to time still.

Happy new year! Xx

wonderful written , i appriciate you efforts for participating in @surpassinggoogle's contest #untalented-adjustments. best wishes for you @olaivart.

He has always been generous and supportive to everyone, and it's my pleasure to join. Thanks, @rabeel! Best wishes to you as well. :)

While reading this, I can affirm on how you've changed positively and how steemit became an instrument to be a better you. So proud of you even though you don't like dramas hahaha. Laban lang besh!

I agree you know how both of our post at the beginning were relatively dark and pessimistic. You turned out alright and hope to see more of the beauty of your soul.

@maverickinvictus she can attest bc we're roommates, haha!

<3 <3 <3 Hahahaha! Jah!

wonderful posts my friend. Keep it up. Aim High.
Happy New Year.

Thanks a lot! Happy new year!

Loading...

We were both creatures of despair and pessimism when we met here in Steemit.

I was attracted to that broken soul that mirrored my own and through constant comments and interactions of being there, of supporting and in a way absorbing each others darkness we slowly began to get better.

There are still some dark days, there are still moments of despair but more than that we are given purpose and worth. What better validation it is than getting upvotes from complete strangers that get to know us more than some of the closest people we had.

In a way Steemit removed that filter that we use in our daily lives. It removed the mask that we often wear so that people will not ask if we are doing ok, so that they will not brush off our feelings of despair to just it being all in our head and made up.

In here were are able to show our vulnerability and know that the community is more forgiving and not judgmental.

So let us keep on writing until we exorcised the demons in our heads. Until our posts becomes one of hope and accomplishments. Of happiness and contentment. Of one that celebrates our lives.

Funny how you started your new account on December 4 and I started living again on the same date. In a way we were both born again that day.

Hugs @olaivart

Yes in everything mentioned, Jud! <3 Hugs hugs hugs! can't wait for our transformations this year! Reach out when the demons are alive, alright?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @olaivart to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hello @olaivart
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been spotted by @olaivart to possess rare gem!

So what can we do than to seal the deal, give you our tiny upvote and celebrate you, for everyone has something to offer.

We welcome you to the #untalented family. Feel free to come around for its a home with us. Flaws allowed, so relegate reservations and play with that beautiful mind of yours, let's tap into more hidden aspects of you. No average, no bum, just awesome you and the best version of YOU is a gift to humanity everytime. Stay awesome!

Join the steemgigs community on discord

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.

However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70