Unschooling Blog, Vol. 42 - A Weekend Getaway to Odaiba! Lots to Learn in Tokyo!

in #unschooling6 years ago (edited)

Odaiba is a section of Tokyo right on the bay (it’s actually a man-made island), and is basically one giant shopping mall complex of museums, attractions, events, and exhibitions.

0ADC498C-9193-4038-A21E-764B1720639C.jpeg
With Mario himself at “RisuPia,” Panasonic’s interactive tech museum and showcase for kids.

My son and I ventured out there this past weekend and had a great time. We both learned, enjoyed, and played...A LOT!!!


Here’s a short summary of highlights, before diving in:

  • Riding the New Monorail to Odaiba!
  • Panasonic’s RisuPia
  • Facing our fears on one of the world’s biggest ferris wheels!
  • Seeing real-life Mario Kart characters driving down the street in Roppongi!
  • The Odaiba Trick Art Museum
  • Buying toys with Bitcoin in Yurakucho!
    (For a more exhaustive resource on all the fun to be had in Odaiba for kids, please check out this excellent article on the topic.)

Riding on the (relatively) new Yurikamome monorail. We got to sit in the very front!

C65D5ABA-7AFB-4C98-88CE-1678380F9827.jpeg


We got the coveted front seat of the Yurikamome monorail which crosses Tokyo Bay out to Odaiba.
This led to a great conversation about monorails, electricity, and mag-lev trains. We plan to make our own very soon, using magnets and some common household items/materials. Z-Bee (my son) really lit up when we started talking about how these trains work, and asked lots of questions.

Here’s a sample of some of the time lapse video we took from the front:


Panasonic’s RisuPia Technology Museum and Play Center

0BCF821D-CB13-4A55-9366-15A53AA050D6.jpeg
image source.

Being as we weren’t allowed to take photos on the interactive-tech-play-center top floor, I had to use one from a different source, but what you see above is some kids playing air hockey with prime numbers in a math-meets-sports, touchscreen-type game.

8A922518-8D37-41D4-AD90-D806E0D7444A.jpeg

The real reason we had come, however, was the Nintendo SWITCH! Isaiah’s crazy about Mario Odyssey, and as such, we had to hit the Nintendo Game Front café and make a reservation. After writing your name down on the waiting list, you can play the game on your own private sofa with big screen TV for ten minutes. Not a long time, I know, but I was honestly proud of Isaiah when he waited over an hour to take a second turn.

At first I had prodded him to leave, telling him it was a waste of time to wait an hour for just ten minutes of game time. But then I realized something. He was doing what I always ask him to: exercising patience and pursuing his goals. I took a new tack and told him that I was impressed with his determination and willingness to wait for a delayed payoff, instead of seeking immediate gratification in a less-satisfying alternative.


Facing our fears on one of the world’s biggest ferris wheels!

D9394E67-381E-4FBF-89AF-E779CA589CC1.jpeg

After waiting over an hour to play the Nintendo Switch again at RisuPia, we got our turn, played happily for 10 minutes, and then walked out the door. It was closing time. It had also gotten dark in the meantime, and as I turned around to look at he city, I saw a big ferris wheel lit up in the distance. It was beautiful. We both remarked at the lovely colors blinking against the night sky.

I jokingly said to my son, thinking his slight fear of heights would stop him, Hey, you wanna go on that ferris wheel?
Yeah! came the immediate reply. I gulped. Well, time to be a good dad and face my fear of heights as well.

I’m not really scared of tall buildings, or even airplanes, once we’re way up in the air, but ferris wheels? Something about just the thought of the slow-moving, rocking carriages makes my stomach flutter with anxiety.

Well, anyway, long story short. We did it. I was fucking terrified about halfway up, and Isaiah said I was making a really funny face, but once we got close to the top, where I thought I’d be most nervous, the fear dissipated. I’m not exactly sure why, but it did. I told Isaiah “thank you” for helping me face one of my fears, and said I wasn’t afraid anymore. We talked about how doing what you’re afraid to do often stops fear dead in its tracks. I thanked him again. He said “Yeah dad, I gave you a mission!” I’m glad. I didn’t want to set an example of cowering to fear for my son, and missing out on fun things in life because of it.

F714E9BB-65AC-4B51-A616-3D3B6C430B3F.jpeg
We bought the commemorative photo at the end of the ride to remind us of the day’s big victory.


Real life Mario Kart in Roppongi!

After the ferris wheel and some other fun stuff, we headed back into the city proper to eat some dinner and check into our hotel for the night. We ran into some Mario Bros characters along the way! Check it out!


The Trick Art Museum.

2F5961C3-2738-4C49-977F-C5C5B07398F6.jpeg
NoooooooooooooooOooOOOOooooOoo!!! Never fear? There is no glass! It’s just a painting!

After a good night’s sleep, we headed back to into Odaiba the next day to visit the “Trick Art Museum,” and see what kind of optical-illusory, ninja-like fun we could get into.

Isaiah was more into finding the secret doors scattered throughout the small museum than in taking trick photos with me, but alas, we had a good time and came out with some fun photos all the same. He was interested in some of the illusions though, like the two rooms painted to look like mirror images of one another, with nothing in between but framed empty space, so you really think the empty space is a mirror at first.

Anyway, here are some more of our photos from the trick art museum.

7ED4CCF8-4674-4ED6-B407-42A83F273A5B.jpeg


1E364401-11EB-4DF2-86CE-573D30A87D29.jpeg


DC2EC518-BA3F-49C3-B90A-DB1ACB20234C.jpeg


Our final stop was a mini-Bitcoin shopping spree in Yurakucho.

We hit up the Bic Camera (a large electronics chain here in Japan) where I found a choice bottle of Scotch, and Isaiah a choice 3DS game, both of which we paid for directly, with Bitcoin.

Pretty neat.

Isaiah and I talked about money, taxes, and how the government is kind of like another kid that comes and takes half of the carrot you planted and raised, without doing any of the work. “If you don’t give the kid half the carrot, he punches you,” I explained to Z-bee. He had gone with me looking for various Bitcoin ATMs and they’d all been removed due to recent government regulations.

He really listened to what I was saying, made an angry face, and said he was gonna stop them. He could grasp the unfairness pretty easily. Kids usually have very strong senses of justice, I have found. Anyhow, we spent our BTC at Bic Camera, and then got on the shinkansen to head back home.

79CBC3B2-0F9B-43B6-8E69-6D454D478456.jpeg
image source.

All in all, a great weekend of play and learning for both dad and son.

Please do check out that linked article (after the highlights list) listing all the fun things to do with kids in Odaiba. It really is an amazing place, and there’s a lot that I couldn’t cover in this short post!

~*~

(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last Unschooling Blog, Vol. 41: “Volunteering at the Free School, Day 1 - Introductions,” you can find that here.)

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Looks like a brilliant day out Graham.
I wish I'd have had so much quality time with my Dad when I was young.
Unschooling gives you the opportunity to not only connect with your boy on a on going basis but it also gives you the chance to bring him up with the ability to think critically, have fun while learning and eventually self teach.
You're doing an amazing job mate.

Thanks man. Really appreciate that. I wish I could have had more of these kind of moments with my dad as well. Wanna be human and not just some distant and hard to understand personage.

Have a great day bro!

Finished our posts almost at the same time, but you win.

Riding Yurikamome it worth the whole effort of going to Odaiba.
I used to go all the way back and forth before getting off at the station where I wanted to leave.

Aren't kids our best teachers?? If they can help us to get over our fears, what else can we learn from them? The sky is the limit!!

I used to go all the way back and forth before getting off at the station where I wanted to leave.

I can understand. The massive-ness of the city and all the magic of everything is visible from there. Makes me wonder where everyone is going, and how tiny peons like us can build things like that.

And yep. Kids are the best teachers.

Cheers, bro.

To the moon!

I like the look of the trick art museum, I reckon my girls would like that. Our kids are great for helping us get over our fears, well done Isaiah.

Who would have thought that one of the things that Japan would be famous for was an Italian Plumber character...

Switch!!! Have you guys tried the Mario Rabbids Kingdom game too? its pretty cool!

I really like the Miraikan museum in Odaiba too, has a super cool planetarium. The only thing i found weird in Odaiba was that yurikamome line due to the fact that I couldn't use my tourist JR pass there ahaha

Haven’t tried that one, but saw the advertisement at the electronics store! I’m sure my son will be onto it soon ;)

Didn’t know you couldn’t use a tourist pass on Yurikamome! Maybe it’s a separate/more private enterprise running the line.

Thanks for commenting!

Wow ... That was a very nice trip. Moreover you bring a boy - again you are very smart, funny and brave. I am also afraid of heights. But you have given good lessons to your son. You are a very great father. Good luck always for you @kafkanarchy84.

You are welcome my friend.

first picture caught my eye! Mario~ <3
Seems like you guys had such a fun time at trick art museum!
I love the pic of your son was in vampire glass!
That's really awesome and I still can not figure out how it's painted.

Thanks! Yeah, that picture is the most convincing of them all!

What a great day out (and a pretty cool dad!). I think Japan, especially Tokyo, is a great place for kids to get inspired by. Lots of things you can do with them to keep them interested. Anyway, thanks for sharing your experience with us. Keep up the great work.

Very good post i like your post.give me vote please!

If you post more spam I will have to give you a downvote. Please say something substantive when commenting on others’ posts.

mario is a hero of my childhood. l have a lot to do to save the princess. they were good days. thank @kafkanarchy84 for reminding me of my yougth days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49