Freedom is not free

in #ungrip7 years ago

Yes, I can talk about how much money is required to get setup, how much work is involved and that sort of thing.  However, tonight I want to talk about the other 'costs' that are associated with freedom.  Costs that tend to scare people away from the idea and compel them to maintain the status quo.  Costs that intimidate the timid and weary.  

I've been teaching classes for nearly ten years, sharing my own journey recovering from depression and suicide and how those experiences completely relates to my choice to say 'NO' to the abusive relationship of the state.  As a reformed abuser myself, it is easy for me to see how others are abusive.  People who do this while wearing a badge or hide behind the mask of authority are not immune to my rebuke as authority does not excuse violence.  

This has caused great rifts to form within my own family.  Most people may not know this, but I have a younger brother and sister. My sister is now a detective with the Edmonton Police Service.  My brother is a constable for the Medicine Hat Police Service.  His wife, my sister-in-law, is also a constable for the same police service.  I also have two uncles retired from the police service too.  One of my uncles was even involved in a project by the provincial government to integrate all the police computer systems in the province (API3). 

Suffice to say, family events don't happen very often.  In fact, I've not seen my brother or sister since my dad passed away in February 2014, nearly 4 years ago.  I know that my siblings have been ordered to not spend time with me because of my political views and activism.  The ideas that I share are a threat to the state.  So I've had to mourn the loss of my family as a result of the choices that I've made.  They are contrary to everything my family believes in and lives their lives by.  

This divide has also been witnessed within marriages as well.  I'm fortunate that my wife and I have come to a consensus regarding the direction that we want to live our lives.  But I've seen many relationships break up because one side struggles with the information or cannot come to terms with the information being shared.  It is just too much for them to let go and accept the reality of their relationship with the state.  Meanwhile, the other side is working hard to make the changes.  The chasm between the two ends up being too much for the relationship to withstand.  On the flip side I've also seen some relationships form as like minded people find each other.

Tonight I decided to walk away from Facebook.  I've spent years writing and interacting with people all over the world, especially since UNGRIP came out in October 2011.  I've been enriched by the experience and I've learned a lot through the process.  However, the people wearing the Facebook masks, those who work as employees, have slowly limited the people that I can interact with.  With the algorithms that they use to control content, I found my message does not get the reach it once had.  It also saddens me that they profit so much by the content that I've shared.  Greed has taken root and I cannot support that.  Living my life on a code of ethic is challenging but I must continue as my spirit depends on it.

As I venture farther and farther down the path of freedom, the gulf widens between my desire for freedom and others desire to maintain the system and continue to receive benefits and privileges from that system.  I find that the journey towards peace is not peaceful at all.  In fact, it is full of turbulence, struggles and a whole host of feelings as change disrupts many relationships that I've had over the years. 

Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.   For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the  daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother  in law. - Matthew 10:34-35

If we want freedom, it demands that we find a way to deal with the emotional implications that this disruptive path will take.  People don't like the process and may even work to disrupt it so that freedom does not take hold.  It can be a lonely path at times too as the vast majority of the people refuse to comprehend or relate to the ideas put forth with the freedom paradigm.  Years of trauma scares people from taking that leap of faith in themselves.  

I can see why it may look like a sword.  The path to freedom is not peaceful at all, even if I maintain the peace at all times.  It is violent because of the emotional plague reaction of others.  It really does set man against his father, daughter against mother.  I've witnessed it many times.  The costs of freedom may result in a complete disruption of a way of life that we have all known for our entire lives.  

When we move through the freedom paradigm shift, life may look nothing like it does now.  It should look different as freedom is not what we experience today.  To make the shift means that much of the infrastructure that we depend on may disappear.  Our lives are going to change significantly and it aught to in order to address the violence, pollution and other issues that confront us.  Change can be painful at times if we don't engage it with a healthy body, mind, emotions and spirit.  

The change that confronts us will be challenging, but could also heal and help us grow as individuals.  My wife and I have embraced the change and work hard to go with the flow rather than fight it.  We recognize that all relationships end and we don't fear saying good bye to people in our lives.  It brings great sadness and sorrow, but we will work through that in a healthy way.  There will be a lot of mourning involved as we say good bye to what we have known.  

Mourning may be the most challenging process as we explore alternatives through this transition.  My wife and I have done much of these changes on our own terms, but there will be others who will have to go through these changes on the terms of Creator or as the violence of others comes to bear down on them.  Either way, peace must prevail and the cost of that peace will be high, especially if we resist it.  

Freedom is not free.  The costs are high and we are willing to pay that price as our spirit will benefit and is in jeopardy if we don't do the work.  I chose to do the work and that means being forever vigilant.  That is why I left Facebook and decided to dedicate my time here instead.  So far it is free and peaceful.  

Forever vigilant and persistent - my life motto!

Sort:  

Yes, freedom comes with costs. Deep costs. But to have true spirit of conviction, a strong moral compass and enlightened mind you can work through the losses that occur. I too, have lost close family members because of the way I chose to live. But I have gained so much more in the process. For those that have remained close, the bond is tighter, stronger. We are guided by the Creator to be where we are needed to be.

Indeed. The bonds for those that stick around and support our efforts for freedom, stronger bonds have been built. Taking that leap of faith and allowing Creator to guide the process has been a long, long journey!

That's a big step you took, I saw that last night and was cheering over here for your decision. Just another way you are being the change <3

Cheers to all of our healthy, new relationships <3 <3 <3 Relationships that focus on the Long Term <3 <3 <3

My heart was telling me for some time to leave Facebook. That is why when you suggested Steemit, I jumped at the opportunity. I knew Creator was giving me a way out and providing an alternative so that I can keep writing and sharing my views on life. This was not an intellectual decision but rather a spiritual one. I've worked hard to listen to my heart for years now and I have learned to set my intellect aside and trust my decision making to my heart and how my gut feels with the choices that I face.

I know that Creator and Mother Earth is guiding me through life now that I've walked away from the earthly masters and accepted living my life being guided by spirit instead. It has never steered me wrong so far. When I ignore the message and use my intellect, I quickly regret the choice. Spirit guided life decisions work and flow much more easily. It took me 15 years to work it out and have faith in those choices. That is how I've avoided jail, arrest and all kinds of problems from those who engage in violence. My gut told me not to engage in commercial remedies and I listened. I am also very grateful that I listened. Having faith in Spirit was a leap of faith and I have no regrets making that leap. So when Spirit moved me to leave Facebook, I was not surprised that another alternative was presented. I am here because Spirit told me that I needed to be here instead. You were a messenger and I am grateful that Spirit moved you to contact me about it! I am grateful that you listened to Spirit as well!!!! <3 <3 <3 Live is ALL about relationships.

Well I would like to thank both yourself @wwf for being here on Steemit and @Lydsaybowes for showing you the way! :D You have made my Steemit experience much more enjoyable, interesting and enlightened ! I would never have found you on facebook, so I am grateful for Steemit too :) (Group Hug) lol xD

Congratulations on dumping FB brother!
One of the examples I use pitching Steemit to others is why not earn a little for your content and sharing of knowledge? FB and other sites cant offer that!

You share so much and have a message with information that packs a punch! Im glad you have taken back your content and brought it to Steemit! Peace be with you brother!

Thank you Michael. I have a LOT of content to share. I'll be grabbing a dump of my facebook content, going through all my old workshops and formatting it all for sharing here on Steemit. I have years of content, so no shortage to write about. I've been here for 69 days and I've been well rewarded for the effort. Facebook never did that for me. However, that is not why I made the move. I explained that move in my response to Lyndsay's post. That is the true motivation for me being here instead. <3 Peace to you as well brother. I am grateful that I am here.

Wow! this is a very honest review of how the path to freedom has caused so much pain and loss in your life! Thank you for being truthful. It is good to pre-warn people of the emotional turbulence ahead, especially when families and relationships are on the line. As for facebook, I have also stopped using it since finding Steemit. I prefer the environment here, it is one of creativity, support and honesty. Facebook for me was getting very negative and I like to be surrounded by inspiration, not negativity. Actually, now I think about it, since leaving facebook, I also appear to have lost a few 'friends'! Looking back, they were actually not great friends, they only seemed to get in contact when they wanted something from me and never asked how I was... hmmm.... no great loss there then! lol Perhaps my life is already removing the negative aspects, unbeknownst to me! I think if you start to follow a spiritual path, life removes the deadwood so to speak and yes, it can be a painful loss, but a necessary loss to clear the path to enlightenment.

Yes, I found the same thing with Facebook as well. When writing a blog, it forces me to contemplate what I am writing about. With Facebook it was too easy to complain or get sucked into somebody else rant. I too find this environment much more supportive and engaging. I will see how many 'friends' I will lose with the shift. Mind you, I am under no delusions as I recognize lots of people want something from me due to my activism and life style. Few reach out to me without expectations that I give them something that will make them free, which as we all know is an illusion. I cannot free anybody as it is and always was the individuals sole responsibility. If people really want to learn, then they will find me here. If they wanted me around for comfort, then they will find a hole now. Either way, I feel a huge weight lifted off my shoulders.

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the emotional support.

people will always try to drain your energy if you are a positive person. As your light shines brighter, you attract more people to you, which is great when you have a positive message to share. However, people feel good around you and want more of it. Just make sure you protect your energies from being drained by leeches :)

Oh yes. I am very aware of that. Setting boundaries is critical, physical, emotional, mental and spiritual boundaries are key! Thank you for the reminder. <3

Congratulations! I quit last year for the exact same reasons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66