#Ulog: Preparation for Project S.M.I.L.E

in #ulog6 years ago

1527948442647.jpg

Happiness in Helping Hands

Helping is something I am compassionate about. Knowing I render time and in return it will give smiles to other people makes me feel blessed.

IMG_5970.JPG

Last Thursday, May 31 was an unexpected day for me. I was lying in my bed and thinking about the things that I should do to finally get settled. It was when @kayegrasya texted me about Project Smile, and that it needed volunteers to pack bundles of joy, which the organisers were planning to distribute to kids. I asked her about the things that were needed to be done as I did not have any idea about Project Smile. She told me everything about it and it intrigued me, since this was my first time to be a part of activities organised by the steemit community, and also to connect with the wonderful people working there. Time and again I have always been a part of programmes helping people, committing my energy and time, but since I moved to Cebu recently and not knowing much about the place, this seemed like a perfect activity to be a part of. So I prepared myself and met with @kayegrasya.

IMG_5971.JPG

IMG_5977.JPG

First we went to hunt for story books for the children. I love the smell of books and it somehow felt exciting to me. While gathering the books we met @indayclara and @morken. I felt really timid in meeting them but they welcomed us with smiles, which made me feel really comfortable. I felt really blissed.

IMG_5972.JPG

After we bought all the things needed like rice, noodles, biscuits, and canned goods for the distribution drive, we went to @indayclara's place for packing. I really enjoyed our little chats, and the laughs we exchanged as we prepared ourselves to get to work for the cause of helping the needy people.

IMG_5980.JPG

IMG_5973.JPG

IMG_5974.JPG

We divided and packed 2 sacks of rice into 60 plastic bags. Then we packed the rice bags, 2 cans, 4 packets of noodles and 3 packets of biscuits into a bundle, the bundle of joy. After that we arranged them all and fit them all into a sack. We also arranged the clothes by size so that they could be distributed a lot more easily. The community people also bought some detergent, few shampoos, soaps and also some prizes for the games that they had planned.

IMG_5975.JPG

IMG_5978.JPGIMG_5979.JPG

This is how we looked after finishing the packing. I have to admit the effort was worth it, even with all the sweat and back pains (I get them time and again lol). Knowing I have helped this project in any way and knowing I made an acquaintance with @indayclara and @morken filled me with delight.

IMG_5982.JPG

These kind of activities are the things I am willing to offer my time and energies for. I really believe that time is a precious commodity and we should make use of it in a right way. It is indeed a happiness to help, and knowing that I did a good deed really made me feel proud and blessed.

For all the sponsors who extended their help financially in making this project possible.

A Dollar A Day project by @pennsif, @aggroed, @cryptocurator, @gmuxx, @goldendawne, @mother2chicks, @nikolina, @redrica, & @steemcommunity witness for the 15 SBD donation

@youarehope for the 150 SBD contributions donation

@tarekadam for the 50 STEEM donation

To the following as well:
@christianyocte, @smaeunabs, @ybanezkim26, @jassennessaj, @morken, @adeline24, @chuuuckie, @jbeguna04, @iamqueenlevita, @immarojas, @chameh, @josephace135, @themanualbot, @surpassinggoogle and @yehey

May the good Lord bless us all.

Sort:  

The A Dollar A Day project has been very happy to support the SMILE project.

I am sure the children will be very happy with the packages you are making up for them.


Host of the My Life in 8 Songs and The Alternative Lifestyle Show radio shows on MSP Waves.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yellowmajesty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65