The Cherry Street Farmer's Market on an September Saturday

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

CSFM9151817cctsmall.jpg
A selfie in unique form; taken by Ren.


So often Scott is the photographer between the two of us. I tend to be the scout; the one who finds the moments and places in time for him to capture with his Sony A6000. However, there are times I feel a need to take photos. Unfortunately, I take photos with my Sony A5100 so rarely that I forget how what buttons do what on it. I have been trying to be better at this, but it is just so much easier to take photos using my Samsung Galaxy 9.

CSFM9151818cctsmall.jpg


I decided one Saturday morning during the Cherry Street Farmers’ Market it was time to pull out my actual camera and practice taking photos. Normally, I meet my daughter Amber at the coffeeshop just feet from my apartment, but she was unable to walk the market with me this Saturday so I had no excuses; it was going to be a perfect morning to take photos and I really needed the practice.

CSFM915183cctsmall.jpg


Grabbing my fabric bags to put produce in and camera bag, I set out at just before sunrise to decide where would be the best place to start snapping photos of this magical event. Our local Cherry Street Farmers’ Market starts up every spring on the first Saturday of April and ends the third Saturday in October from 7:00 am until 11:30 am. The street for three blocks is shut off to traffic and people wonder about cheerfully. It is here the community comes together to purchases their weekly produce, samples the treats, and celebrate the beautiful Oklahoma mornings.

CSFM9151813cctsmall.jpg


CSFM9151814cctsmall.jpg


CSFM915187cctsmall.jpg


Our farmers’ market is not like what you will see in the movies or on television, it is only has four, maybe five vegetable vendors, maybe two or three artists, a couple of food trucks and a smattering of prepared food vendors. It is pretty small, but it is perfect for our square mile community. We all like it this way because most of the vendors know what each customer is looking for and they even know our names! Often my daughter will pick up my produce when I am not able to attend the market due to Scott and I traveling and the vendors know that she is mine and shopping for me. Yes, I do love our farmers’ market.

CSFM9151810cctsmall.jpg


CSFM915186cctsmall.jpg


CSFM915184cctsmall.jpg


CSFM915185cctsmall.jpg


CSFM9151812cctsmall.jpg


One of my favorite things about the Cherry Street Farmers’ Market is that there is live music being played every weekend. One weekend it will be the Falsey Twins who play the blues, another weekend the piano man will be banging on his upright piano (an actual wooden upright piano) while his wife belts out a ballad, and yet another weekend there will be an old-timey musician playing causing everyone to break out in shared song and dance. Everyone seems to enjoy the music, no matter the genre; they are extremely generous when they toss money in the bucket of appreciation.

CSFM915189cctsmall.jpg


Most importantly, the best thing you will find at this little Saturday farmers’ market are the people who have made it possible. There is so much work that goes into putting on such an event. Someone has to get up before 5:00 am, set up the closure signs, get vendor spots set up, take care of the city permits, and all the other things no one really sees as they wander through the market tasting, buying, and enjoying. They are amazing people who are dedicated to being on our little bit of heaven every Saturday from April until the middle of October no matter the weather. Yes, they are what makes this event so magical.

CSFM915181cctsmall.jpg

CSFM9151816cctsmall.jpg


I was able to take so many wonderful photos that September morning while the morning light was still low and making everything golden. I am not able to tell you what my settings were on the camera, but I can tell you that it is days like this that get me excited about taking photos and maybe making someone smile. Even though the Cherry Street Farmers’ Market is gone for a short while, I can look back and remember the magical morning I had.

Thanks for spending time with me today,
rensig.png

All photos in this post were taken by me and are my property



Thank you @penderis for this artwork!


Thank you @enginewitty for this artwork!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest, curated by @itchyfeetdonica. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

I had to stop and read this when I saw Cherry Street Farmers market because we have a farmers market on Saturdays at the corner of Cherry Street and Main in our little nearby town in Texas. Love the farmers markets for sure. Thanks for sharing through #steemitbloggers.

Seems to be a common street name. I sure miss Texas.

Dear @xcountytravelers,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Yay! Another one!!!!!

Yay! Steem on!

Woow, what a nicely structured post! Btw why didn't you add 5th tag? Maybe #steemitworldmap? they also manually curate + you could add it on the map itself. I totally love the project. Just met one of the devs on Steemfest and those guys are legit..

and btw, if I was girl I'd totally fall in love with the guy in the yellow van :D It's quite hard to write this for me but he's hot as fuck hahhah :D

Dangit! I totally forgot to put that tag in! Love, love, love SteemIt World Map! I will have to take care of that!

Oh, my the Puffy Taco guy Ryan would blush! He's such a sweetheart! All of us secretly crush on him.

Haha hands away from the guy. He's reserved for me in case I turn homosexual in the future! :D

hahahahahahahahaha!!!

These are some pretty decent pics 😊
Sounds like back when I was a child and we loved in a small town where everybody knew everyone
Thank you for sharing your Farmers Market trip with us 😊

Thank you and you are most welcome. I love when people have the same experiences from many different places. It means we are all the same, human.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Thank you so much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I think you already know you did a FANTASTIC job on capturing this and your writing brought right there.

Your framing and perspective are the best. great job! #steemitbloggers resteemed

Thank you. I give myself only so many times to push the button so I try hard to get the best photos I can. I know that's silly since I have a DSLR, but it keeps me in the once and done mind frame. Plus it keeps me out of the processing program!

Lovely pictures and great community feeling about that market place when everyone knows everyone! Looks like a fun morning you had :)

It was an amazing morning. I like getting there right as they open so I get the best produce and I get the best attention from all the vendors. They are wonderfully fun days.

That's a good idea, plus you get more choice as well!

It is definitely a wonderful feeling to know i beat everyone to it all. Haha

Goodmorning ren from My side of the world. I would have loved to have gone with you to the market. I love the photo of the paprikas/peppers but All photos are great My compliments dear. Here its a rainy day so maybe I can make done Nice ones today.
Love
Britt

I am using the post to make me feel better today. I am REALLY missing the market this morning.

20181112_081810.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50