My Freewrite and Day #3 Ulog

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)



I went down to Colombia, South America for my son's wedding five years ago. It was the first time I witnessed how a homeless person lived over a long period of time.

We started our trip in Bogota, Colombia. The city is made up of Districts. I think the one we were staying in was called the Clothing district. My daughter in laws family owned an apartment there.

Bogota is the Capital of Colombia having 8.081 million people call it home. There were a few people walking around that you knew were homeless.

As days continued with our stay in Bogota I started to see a pattern with the people that were homeless.

Each person had their block where they lived. Other homeless persons would come and go but when daylight came it was time for them to find a place to sleep in somewhat safety. This is when I noticed they all went to their home block to sleep.

At night was it safe for women to go outside along? No.

When going outside to smoke at night I would have to wait until someone went out with me. There is a time for being independent and then there is a time for being stupid about your safety. I chose the smart route and had someone come with me when I smoked at night.

In the early mornings, I would wake up and have horrible coughing fits. Later I found out I had bronchitis. In order not to wake up the whole household I would grab the keys and run down the 3 flights of stairs and go outside to cough. It wasn't a pretty thing to hear by any means.

One of those mornings my son came down after I had been gone a while. He walked out the door to see me sitting on the ledge that happened to be there and saw the blocks homeless man sleeping under the eaves of the building about 10 feet from me.

My son knew the city and its ways. He can not hide the fact with his light brown hair and bright blue eyes that he is from the USA. As his Mother with pure white hair and bright blue eyes you can tell from miles off I too am from the USA. I will let you draw your own conclusions on why I added this information.

On this morning when he came out he glanced with worry at the man sleeping and then at me. Because he loves me he said that maybe I should go back inside.

I laughed and told him I was very safe right where I was. I then said that the man sleeping here would not harm me because this was his block. He is smart enough to know that if he did harm me he would then lose his safe block to live in.

My son's eyes widened, he nodded his head, sat down next to me, and we proceeded to have a great morning talk.

This is my Day 16 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest .



Part Two

Here I will ask you for a bit of patience while reading to see how these two stories tie together.



Somedays you wake up with the stars and moons in your world alining in such a way that you have to be blind not to notice. This morning was once such time for me.

I woke up to the video you will see below. It is made by a Steemian named @andrewjohntamban. His Ulog post My Gratitude Song entitled: "I AM SURPASSIAN" tells a bit more about why he made this original song and video.

The video brought tears to my eyes. It shows, not homeless people but people from places around our world that might not have the same advantages that we have. If you watch only one thing in this video go to 2:42, stop it and read what it says.



Last night while still trying to find out as much information I can about #Ulogs so they make total sense to me I stopped by @josediccus's blog and read his post called THE IMPORTANCE OF KEEPING BY THE *ULOG" RULES

Now anyone that knows me knows I hate rules and have been known to not read anything that has the word rule in it. In this case, seeing the word rule I could not click fast enough. Below is a copy of those rules from @josediccus blog post.



Now let's tie all of these stories together.

There is a man called @surpassinggoogle trying to make the world a better place for all people by using Steemit.com as a means to give people a chance to make some money that they need in order to eat and have a place to sleep.


As you can see from the video, people are taking what he is teaching and running classes on how to make a Steemit.com #Ulog post before they even sign up to get an account.


Most of the people I know do not have a lot but most did have an education and speak English as their first language. Signing up for Steemit.com was just another trial to see what it was all about for most. Not all but most people.

To see first hand how someone, @surpassinggoogle, came up with an idea to try and help all people help themselves to a better life through education and Steemit.com is pulling on all of my heartstrings.

It makes me have faith in the world that there are people out there willing to try as best as they can to help so many.



Last I will leave you with a part of the conversation I had with @shadowspub last night.

This conversation had nothing to do with homeless people or Ulogs but as I said at the beginning of this post the stars and moon aligned in such a way that the conversation, used with @shadowpub's permission, is the perfect ending to this post.



Thank you so much for stopping by!

Hugs!

Snook



Vote for Witness Enginewitty!



Sort:  

Fantastic perspective into human nature!

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you for stopping and reading!! and for adding it to the daily Sneak!!

You're welcome!

It makes me have faith in the world that there are people out there willing to try as best as they can to help so many.

It's true @snook.. In this world, human with a big heart still exists..

I'm seeing that @jejes and makes me very happy!!

Such a reminder of just how rich we are when traveling. I was trying to explain to a man who was driving me around in Bali that I really didn't have much money as far as American's go, but it seemed such a dumb thing to say when his own daughter had never even been to the ocean (only a few miles away) because they lived in such poverty. I offered we pick her up the next day and he was very excited, but in the end she refused because she had a big test in school.
The woman cleaning our "home-stay," had lost an eye in a scooter accident and just never got it fixed. She was in her forties and it'd happened when she was 8. You never see that here in the states.
At the same time, poverty is definitely increasing here in the states :(

I agree......it's the only time I have been out of the States but I had told my son I wanted to see how he really lived and I did get to see it.
There was not a tourist place in site.......but it really opened your eyes up to how a lot of the world lives. Personally, I think in some ways better then we do and others not so much.......

Thank you for sharing your story and stopping to read mine!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by @ecs creator & community leader @chelsea88.

Thank you very much for that honor!!!

Nice to know about your story. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for stopping to read!! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I still have faith in humanity. Although there are many who do not mind, there are some who care.

I too have faith but the news is always covered with the bad things in life it's good to see good being done by one person that doesn't think he will not matter so never tries.

I think the world is in for a shakeup and let's hope we are all still here at the end.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 98 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Yeah but what about the coffee?

he brings it when he comes to visit :D it's REALLY GREAT!

You have such a sweet heart and a beautiful soul. We are fortunate to have you on the blockchain. 💗

Thank you @thekittygirl coming from you that means so much to me! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94