Hospitals Are For the Sick -- So Send Me Home

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I’m one of those people who goes to a doctor when there is a reason. A damn good reason or I’m not going. In fact, I don’t even have a family doctor and haven’t for the last twelve years.

About ten years ago I had to pay a visit to the emergency department on New Years morning. I woke up with a bulge the size of an orange under my jaw. That definitely qualified as a potential issue. So, off I went. Turned out it was a swollen lymph gland. In a few days it went down on its own. The emerg doc prescribed some antibiotics just in case some infection was present.

Let’s Play Russian Roulette

Well, not really. Don’t take an otherwise empty gun and put one bullet in for me to shoot at myself with. Taking antibiotics is sort of like that for me. I’m seriously allergic to the entire penicillin branch of meds. Enough that I was told if I have another reaction, it will kill me. Sort of got my attention.

I have less severe reactions to three other classes of antibiotics. Needless to say, when a doc says “Oh, we’ll prescribe an antibiotic to be safe” — I don’t feel very safe. I get this image of the gun with the single bullet to my head.

Life Can Change So Easily


Last May I came down with that I thought was a bug. I kept up my usual level of activities. No bug is going to take me down is my usual attitude. Well, then fever started entering into the equation and I decided that maybe I needed to take some time to just rest. I took a few days at home.

As time progressed, the bug didn’t seem to get better. I went from just fever to hardly being able to keep a light meal down. So, when the morning in early June came that I was vomiting almost continuously, I decided it was time to get this checked out.


I was weak enough that driving was not a good plan. So, I got myself up and dressed. I put some extra food and water out for the cats as I might be gone a day or so. Then I packed my essentials. You know, my iPad and the charge cord. Might take a while in emerg. I locked my door and dialed 911 to summon the ambulance.

Went in for One Illness and Ended up With Two — Lucky Me

I was diagnosed with a massive infection on my stomach cavity. That was producing pressure on my stomach and thus my not being able to keep anything down. The docs were not sure what the source of the infection was. They did a few CTs but didn’t come up with a definitive source.

They did however discover that my left kidney was pretty much dead. A kidney stone had formed at some point, embedded itself in the wall of the kidney and gradually led to the demise of said kidney. When asked how I would NOT know there was a kidney stone there, the urologist told me it is rare but it happens. Lucky me.

Some of the docs involved in the diagnosis believed the infection started in the kidney. The urologist was doubtful of that due to the distance it would have had to travel in my body. Who knew there were long trips to be had in our bodies?

They inserted a drain in my stomach cavity to drain the infection and sent me out to another hospital to have a stent put through the kidney to my uretha to be sure the infection was not coming from there. Ten days later, I went home, rather weak but on the mend.

I’m A Bit of an Independent Cuss

I was determined that I would manage this on my own. I live on my own and need to be self-sufficient. One friend offered to drop meals over to me, I declined. She eventually dropped a bag of frozen meals from her catering service at my door and texted me to go get them. I had to admit, they were helpful to just heat them up.

Three days after coming home I had a hankering for fresh fruit, grapes to be exact. This couldn’t be too tough, I could go into the the local grocers. Their produce department was right near the door and their tills close to there. Well, I pulled it off, then slept the rest of the day from the exertion.

A week later, I walked the outside aisles of this small country grocery. It was a huge victory after I slept the rest of the day.

So What About the Damn Kidney?

Well it was decided that the kidney would need to come out. I could continue to have the stents replaced every six months but they can cause irritation and other issues with having them in place constantly.

We decided last fall was not a good time to do so. It would put me back where I’d just been health wise and if I wasn’t fully healed from the previous illness, there could be complications.

So, here I am, sitting at my laptop just over a year later. I’m two days post op, the kidney was removed on Thursday. Considerable pain issues were anticipated but it seems I have a pretty good tolerance level. It’s being managed with Tylenol every four hours. I have a morphine pump available but haven’t used it much since the first few hours.


Never in my life has a fart been so anticipated. Apparently I need to pass wind before they will remove the morphine pump. So practically every one of my waking hours I’m being asked, “have you passed wind yet?” Sheesh let a girl fart in private eh.

All being well, they expect to send me home on Monday.

The Steem Community

This surgery in many ways has been tough. With the illness, there wasn’t time to think about possibilities. What could happen or not. There was only time for diagnosis and action.

Anticipation of something like the removal of a body part is almost painful itself. There is time for way too much to swirl around the head and thoughts. Sometimes it doesn’t matter how rationale you are, the irrational intrudes.

Behind the scenes in the Steem community, especially on discord there has been some incredible support. The people involved know who they are. I want them to know how much I appreciated their support and kindness.

A special shoutout to the team who handled the PYPT shows on Thursday; @snook, @thekittygirl, @sgt-dan and @bluefinstudios. An extra shout to @snook for her willingness to record shows I normally do. Thank you all. Great teamwork.


Gonna Need to Check A Suitcase I Think

So, if you didn't already know, my sister is @artemisnorth. She wanted to travel down from London last year when I was sick and I told her not to. This year, there wasn't much discussion, she was coming and I would need to get over it.

The upside is, we've not had a face to face visit for sometime so when I get home that will be good. She is looking after my cats while I'm in hospital which is make this easier on them. However, I'm hearing that my until now one-person kitty Dawn seems to be transferring her affections to @artemisnorth. I'm thinking I'm going to be needing to check a suitcase before she leaves to make sure that Dawn hasn't decided to jump ship.


So, while I expected to be out of commission for a while, barring the unexpected, I will be back around pretty soon.


steemit ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

Want to @reviewme? Add your comment to this post


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://idesofmay.com/2018/09/22/hospitals-are-for-the-sick-so-send-me-home/

Sort:  

I hope to see some good fart jokes in the comments...LOL!! That first one will be epic....

I was just happy to hear everything worked out OK.
wait... no, that's not right...
... I'm glad it worked itself out in the end.
Uhmmm... no.
OK, ahhh... well, let's see...

I sure am glad this is all behind us.

Oh, stop it already. The whole world doesn't need to get wind of this.

Does this story smell funny to you?

God Speed on a Swift Recovery and not to say enjoy a morphine pump but some things to be said on some drugs.... Glad they got the damned thing out and best of wishes for kicking the ass of some of the more fun aspects of this trip we call life

Jeez that sounds like a hell of a roller coaster ride!! On the upside at least you have another kidney!! But seriously i hope you recover quickly and effectively and will be back to your usual self in no time.

P. S. Check that suitcase!! Cats have zero loyalty whatsoever!!

Posted using Partiko Android

yes definitely going to need to keep an eye on that suitcase ... Dawn rode into my house in @artemisnorth's coat.... she may ride out in the suitcase.

51r+HMAGbtL._SY879_.jpg

I'm the same way with doctors however, I am younger and living in a country with a medical system not as good as yours. I'm glad you are doing something about your health! Your doing what I am afraid to do (and can't afford😬😂). So thank you for showing your strength in seeking professional medical help. There are times where I wonder if my stubborness will kill me. Your showing me it doesn't have to...

joycemeyer1-2x.jpgsource

Steemit will still need you even more healthier for this next great and exciting chapter of this social experiment as Hf 20 is released and smts are just around the bend. Get well soon, please!

P.S. No one will frown on ya for taking a Morphine pump or two😯😜

Sincerely,
-dynamic

Yes I am very thankful that I didn’t have to consider costs as a factor in my care. My first illness incurred out of pocket expenses of about $125. There may be a prescription for pain meds when I go home that I will have to pay for. The rest is covered

Posted using Partiko iOS

it's really nice to see when a government views their citizens as an important enough resource to invest in. Are you getting a kidney transplant? I know someone who did that and that is a really serious thing and I do hope you heal appropriately from that I would not wish that sort of thing on my worst enemy even, getting a transplant for kidney that is. You are a strong person and I'm sure you can handle it just fine. My friend had to wait 2 years for a kidney and in that 2-year period He had to get really healthy...
I only brought that up because I saw that in the comments something about a kidney transplant but it seems you would still have one healthy one still so you probably wouldn't need one I'm assuming.

No need for a transplant.. my other kidney is healthy and will do the work needed

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've had an atrophied kidney since I was two days old. They left it because apparently in rare cases they can start working again, and it's not hurting anything.

Glad to hear you're on the mend.

heh! heh! if i'd known all you had to do was have a good fart, I'd have sent some of my chili to you... I had some the other night and I've been "self propelling" myself around all day! Hope you are up and around at 100% very soon! Take care Shadows!

can't keep a shadow in the dark for long

I was wondering what happened after @artemisnorth's hospital post! I've been worried and watching for you to pop up. Very happy to hear from you and get the scoop. I can't believe you've been suffering through all that for so long and not letting on to the rest of us.

That's a pretty big surgery missy and I'm expecting you to accept help... and food... and more help.....and more food.

Sending you lots of healing energy from down here in Texas, take care of yourself FIRST!

XXXOOO
~T

wasn't much to say for the most part ... they did the operation laparoscopic so the healing time will be much shorter. Not experiencing the amount of pain that was expected so my mobility is increased.

So glad to hear that the pain has been managable. Take care of yourself!! And let others take care of you too 😘😘

Its smehting i never expected to say but may a fart be released soon so you can be released

Wishing you a speedy and full recovery

thank you @tattoodjay ... yeah who'd have though a fart could mean much more than gas

I remember an uncle waiting for a fart, he was so frustrated as till getting sick not farting was more of a problem for him than wanting to let one go

I hope your recovery is smooth. Kittygirl did a wonderful job, but I did miss your voice on PYPT. Take care and I’m sure you and Artemisnorth will have fun catching up. :)

yes I expect we will ... thank you @linnyplant

I'm glad you're healing. You're going to need the energy to blast those massive farts when you are left alone. I wish I could be there to pat you on the back when you shake the foundation, but know that I am congratulatingconflatulating you spiritually.

You know, sadly, I didn't even miss your voice on PYPT. I say sadly because I was busy shovelling hardened clay out of a dump truck and didn't get a chance to listen to it. Up until now, I was thinking about how to apologize to you for not stopping in but apparently, I don't have to.

Anyhow, I'm glad you have the mettle for this and we'll be glad to get you back.

hardened clay over PYPT eh ... your boss needs to get his priorities straight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53