One of my greatest, unexpected rolemodelssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

This four-legged guy - as silly as he sometimes is, he masters the art of happiness. He sees friends wherever he goes. Radiates love. And is not too shy to receive it from others.

I can leave him for just an hour. But when I come back, the excitement, the happiness, the joy to see me, is none less than if we'd been separated for a week.

He cares. He protects. He tries out new things. Fails. Messes things up. Gets told off, feels bad, shame, guilt, frustration for a moment and then keeps on exploring.

He doesn't hold back but he lives his truth. He gives his best. All is new - even the old. Pushes the boundaries, because life is an adventure.

When he plays, he plays hard. When he loves he loves fully. He is here for you, with you, fully - not somewhere else, lost in his mind. He takes life as it comes and appreciates the simple things.

I see him sniffing on asses, peeing at trees, playing with shit. And still he embodies something we have been dismissing since we were children. He embodies, in a way, a freedom that we humans are longing for - in the prison of our own minds.

I'm glad to be human, because I have the consciousness to observe, to learn, to conclude and to know, that essentially the same freedom is available to us too.

Sam

Sort:  

Wow Sam!
What a beautifully written post!🌟
So much wisdom in it as well.
When I saw the picture of your dog I fell in love instantly!!!
Dogs are incredible mentors.
They truly embrace the meaning of unconditional love. 💕
Glad I found you and your profile:) xx

Heyy!! :) wow, your comment drew a big big smile on my face :))) I still have one while I'm writing this! Thank you so much for your encouraging words!
best wishes to you!!
Sam

Awwww!
It truly warms my heart to hear so Sam:)❤️
I saw you originally come from Switzerland.
Do you speak French by any chance?🙊

haha, I'm supposed to speak french... :)) but it's been a long long time :))) (a bit is still there though - a part of my family lives in the 'french-speaking part'

It's like Frasier said to Eddie in one episode: "How I envy you, Eddie. The biggest questions in your life are, "Who's going to walk me? Who's going to feed me?" I won't know that kind of joy for another forty years".

Yes animals certainly have happiness more worked out than we do. We can be playful and aim to have fun with things and no one should be letting their own brain hold them back from that because it isn't "productive" or it is "childish" but unfortunately we don't have the freedom of doing it 24 / 7 like pets do because we need to work etc or we won't have a house and we will starve. People do over-restrict themselves though at times because they have notions that fun activities are "childish" etc and that's just dumb - we do have the freedom to do things that make us happy and we should. Fun is restricted by responsibilities but fun shouldn't be restricted by what society thinks of what we want to do for leisure (or what we think society thinks of those things) I guess is the crux of that point.

As for "He is here for you, with you, fully - not somewhere else, lost in his mind", that definitely seems true for dogs but not every human can do that. I pretty much can't stop thinking. It's not always bad stuff or stressing either (i.e. it's not the result of a stressful society but simply how I am) but simply that I am still thinking. It's not all bad - somethings I come up with some really awesome creative stuff because of a constantly thinking brain - but yes time actually being in the moment would be nice sometimes.

I like your dog. He's cute. I'd have a dog if we weren't renting and not allowed to have pets other than fish.

hey @birchmark , first of all, thank you so much for the time and this awesome comment!!! Yes, with many things I agree with you. Maybe there's a difference between "childish" and "childlike" ... meaning being childish would be avoiding all other responsibilities we have in life. And being "childlike" (just for the sake of not having a better word) may be a way of living that holds responsibility, but yet sees opportunities through the eyes of a child (or a dog)... :) I believe we're all capable of doing that, yet - I know... we're also broadly conditioned to think differently (and everything is way more serious)

for the thinking part: I believe "thinking" itself is indeed nothing "bad", and as you said, there are so many beautiful things to create with our thoughts. There are many thoughts that serve us and empower us... but there are also many, that don't really serve anyone... not even ourselves.
I know it's a challenge, and probably for us human a big task to always use our mind in an empowering way... I guess that's the path we're on...

Thanks again so much for your comment! it meant a lot!
best wishes to you!
Sam

I don't think it even comes down to being childish or childlike. It simply is truthful that we have more responsibilities than our pets do so we have a little less freedom to do whatever we want (their freedom is restricted in different ways again to us). However someone isn't necessarily being childish if they aren't keeping up with their responsibilities in life. They might be struggling, or have taken on too much or trying really hard but just not keeping up with everything. I've been the person not keeping up with everything before and it wasn't that I was childish and I doubt many people behind on things are doing it on purpose. Some people are childish or lazy but that's not the majority. It's the same with the unemployed. There's more people trying really really hard to get work than there is people choosing to be lazy and get welfare, by far. The lazy or childish people are a very small minority.

I think you possibly misunderstand me about the thinking. I virtually NEVER STOP thinking. The way I think I do not believe is normal. And that's okay, but it comes with its pros and cons. I was the kid who never shut up and would talk and talk and talk and talk and talk. It definitely can be bad at times and yes, if those thoughts are negative it can be a very negative spiral and yes that doesn't serve anyone. I was more reflecting myself when I said it is not all bad, as I have had to think about the way I think more lately and it does have its downsides (especially if the thoughts are the type you mention - those that don't serve anyone) but it also has pluses for creative ideas and problem solving. It hinders implementing the creative ideas and getting stuff done and planning properly due to distractibility but it helps in having the ideas in the first place. There's ways to reduce the impact of the cons though, especially if the cause is what I think it is. Even now without knowing that for certain, I'm doing stuff that helps with said cons though.

Cute yet contemplative story. Great!

thanks @anomt for the feedback - I thought I'll do something different today :)

I love my dog too, she is sick and won't get any better so it's only time. I am very sad by this as she has been with me for 15 years now. I am so glad you have a brilliant four-legged friend and that he teaches you things too. Enjoy your time together :)

thank you @insideoutlet , 15 years are a long time and yet sometimes seem too short. I know how it feels, I had that experience too a few years ago.

@sams-world Thanks for the kind words, it is never an easy time. I still hope for the best and any time with her is good time.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

"I'm glad to be human, because I have the consciousness to observe, to learn, to conclude and to know, that essentially the same freedom is available to us too."
Yes! Love that! Such an awesome thing to have a friend like a pup. Hes soo very cute too! Great post
-smylie2005

image

Those are mine. Yours is só cute 😊

haha, hey guys!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83