ULOG #15 - A Fort, A Storm and An Unexpected Encounter

in #ulog6 years ago

Photo Shoot At Odiorne State Park, New Hampshire

LowTide.jpg

I've been trying to get back here for a week or so. The weather or excuses keep getting in the way. Even though it was hot and muggy and the forecast called for afternoon storms, yesterday I was determined to get here.

This place has lots of history and lots of ghosts. The first settlement in the state was here. A hotel, summer homes and a World War II fort have all come and gone. The exciting thing is that there has not been an attempt any restoration. Things are for the most part left alone by human intervention and left for nature to take its course. The sea and forest are gradually reclaiming their own.

The miles of trails here are unmarked but well maintained. Hiking though the forest brings you upon a treasure trove of exciting finds. To determine their purpose is only limited by your imagination.

Odiorne is located on the south side of Portsmouth Harbor which is actually two harbors. There's the main harbor which can handle large ocean going vessels and a smaller harbor known as Little Harbor. The main harbor is home to the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. the shipyard begin constructing sailing warships in the early 1800's and later in the 1900's up until 1969 manufactured US submarines. During World War II over 70 subs were built there. During the war, because of its strategic importance, gun batteries were constructed along the coast to protect the harbor. Fort Dearborn was established at Odiorne for that purpose.

My goal for this photo shoot was to capture what I ever I could find of the remains of the old Fort Dearborn. The fort was built about 75 years ago during World War II and abandoned in the late 1950's. Last week, I was able to wonder upon on of the gun casemates. So that led me to do some research. From what I found out the were 3 gun batteries at the fort. There was a set of four 155 mm guns located near the shore line, Battery 204 - two 6 inch guns, and Battery Seaman - two 16 inch guns. The guns a long gone but the concrete mounts and bunkers remain. Except for one there is no signage or identification at any of the sites.

Fort Dearborn

The 155 mm gun mounts

There were four of these guns. Now only three of the mounts remain visible.

155 mount_4.jpg

This one is the most complete

155 mount_1.jpg

This one is partially visible.

155 mount_2.jpg

This one is being reclaimed by the ocean.

155 mount_3.jpg

I'm thinking that the fourth one is under here.

155 mount_5.jpg

Battery 204

This is the only signage. There were two 6 inch guns here.

Battery204_2.jpg

One of the gun mounts

Battery204_4.jpg

Entrance to the bunker

Battery204_5.jpg

From Battery 204, I headed off to find Battery Seaman.

Battery Seaman

There were two 16 inch guns here.

The trail

Trail_1.jpg

Gun #1

Approaching the battery, Gun #1 casemate becomes visible through the trees.

BatterySeamanGun1_1.jpg

BatterySeamanGun1_2.jpg

The front of the #1 Gun casemate

BatterySeamanGun1_4.jpg

Some of the graffiti inside Gun #1. Did @traciyork have something to do with this?

GoodWitch.jpg

The rear of #1 Gun casemate.

BatterySeamanGun1_7.jpg

From Gun #1 I headed over to find Gun #2

Gun #2

Gun #2 appears through the trees

BatterySeamanGun2_1.jpg

BatterySeamanGun2_2.jpg

The front of Gun #2 casemate

BatterySeamanGun2_3.jpg

Looking inside Gun #2

BatterySeamanGun2_4.jpg

The storage room is blocked off

BatterySeamanGun2_6.jpg

The back of Gun #2

BatterySeamanGun2_8.jpg

The view from Gun #2

BatterySeamanGun2_9.jpg

Looking back at Gun #2

BatterySeamanGun2_10.jpg

The weather was still good so I took a long loop back to my car.

The stone fences - relics of past residents

There are stone fences located along the trails and in the woods. Many probably marked property boundaries of past residents. Here are a few there were plenty more.

StoneWall_1.jpg

StoneWall_2.jpg

StoneWall_3.jpg

StoneWall_4.jpg

StoneWall_5.jpg

StoneWall_6.jpg

Frost Point

An area of the park is know as Frost Point. In the early 1800's a hotel was located here with later burnt down.

Views from Frost Point

Looking across the harbor to Fort Stark

FortStark.jpg

Frost Point jetty with Fort Stark in the background.

Jetty_2.jpg

Another view of the jetty

Jetty.jpg

Whaleback Lighthouse

WhalebackLightFromFrostPoint.jpg

This may be a remnant of the Frost Point Hotel

FrostPoint.jpg

The Frost Point road

FrostPointRoad.jpg

My Unexpected Encounter

On the way back to my car, I felt a presence along side of the trail. I turned and spotted this guy about 6 feet away from me. He seemed aware of me but was unfazed and continued grazing. I was happy to have my camera with me and snapped away until he wandered off.

Deer_1.jpg

Deer_2.jpg

Deer_3.jpg

Deer_4.jpg

Deer_5.jpg

Deer_6.jpg

And then the storm started rolling in

Right after my encounter with the young buck, I heard thunder near by. I took a few photos before driving off

Storm_1.jpg

Storm_2.jpg

Storm_3.jpg

Storm_5.jpg

Storm_6.jpg

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Hey @rwedegis

Great post and a comprehensive view of the site with some quality pictures. There is a lot of history and it's a little sad that it's over grown but at the same time cool that it has been left untouched.

The shots of the Deer were really cool and I thought the weather looked too good for Portsmouth, cue the storm!!

Gaz

Thank you Gaz! It was pretty hot until the storm passed through. There is another fort just across the little harbor that they do maintain, I'd like to get over there and take some photos.

Cool. I'll look out for that.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much! xoxoxo!

❤ My Pleasure @rwedegis

ot58a6067e.gif

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of September 8 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

So much AWESOMESAUCENESS! Amazing captures of the storm, and that deer? I can't even.... wicked cool, Roger!

Thank you Traci! That deer was amazing and to think I even had my camera with me!

Exactly! What are the odds? LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22