ULOG #7: My Job is Awesome, Then I Went for a Bike RidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I started off the day going into work. It's a part time job, actually just filling in for a coworker. But it's different from my normal job there. I got to spend the morning driving around a John Deere Gator and watering plants. While this isn't anything I need to go to school for, I found this way more fulfilling than my previous full time office job that required a college degree. I think it just says that something is wrong with our businesses and career priorities.

My Steemit friend @pizzamergency made this meme photo after running into me at work today:

3123756590413283277.jpg

Oh, I even made the news. That's me in the background in the green shirt next to the green vehicle. This is just a screen capture from our local morning news show, AM Buffalo. You can watch the full story here.

2018-08-24 17_11_51-AM Buffalo On The Road In Elmwood Village - WKBW.com Buffalo, NY.png

Well it certainly beats my old job of teaching people how to get someone's home insurance canceled.

I rode downtown after this to drop off a book at the central library and pick up a new book to read. I ended up getting a few Blu Rays as well.

IMG_20180824_161110956.jpg

I think the building is kind of ugly and outdated, built in the 60s. It's really cool that the local libraries have joined in on the Little Free Library movement.

IMG_20180824_161048892.jpg

IMG_20180824_161407034.jpg

They have plenty of bike parking and there is even more on a lower level.

IMG_20180824_161332229.jpg

After a nap I went back out for a bit, meeting up with some friends at a bridge near my house.

IMG_20180824_194145993.jpg

I rode downtown after this. I thought I had photos but they seem to be gone. My friends went their own way so I rode down to a table by the fireboat. It's across from the General Mills factory. It often smells like Cheerios downtown because of the factory. It's a wonderful smell. If we are lucky, we may sometimes get treated with the smell of fruit loops.

My ride wasn't terribly long today. Yesterday was a much longer ride but I was too tired at the end to make a blog post. Summer isn't over. I'm planning some Vlogs of my bike rides soon!

image.png

Co-founder and Curator of:


Do you like what we do? Please consider giving us an upvote or even a resteem. This will help us pay out higher rewards to the community which encourage even more people to use #cyclefeed.

PARTICIPATE ON @CycleFeed



  1. Follow and upvote @CycleFeed
  2. Follow our curation trail on Steemauto or delegate Steem Power: Check out our tutorial!
  3. Use the tag #cyclefeed in your posts: Check out the requirements!

Join our sub-group on the Steemit Travellers on Discord!

With over 500 members already on the Steemit Travellers Discord, it is an excellent place to meet other travelers and chat about traveling! Now you are also presented with the Cycling sub-group, that has been created just for you, the Cyclist. The server is also the place where you can ask all your questions about CycleFeed.

Proud member of:



This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Opa, @robmolecula on the news, I would dance on the backgorund hahahaha

That's how it should be, you know... I don't know when in history people started to be overly desperate for a degree.. guys in the 50's and 60's could make a descent living out of simple jobs.

It's something bothering me a lot lately. While working the table at the farmer's market on Saturday, I ran into a former co-worker and found myself explaining why I loved working outdoors at a farmer's market so much more, as if I had to be defensive. Maybe part of the problem is that even after going to college it kind of turns out that the jobs we get (that say they require a degree) aren't really all that great. They're often unfulfilling, soul sucking and require none of the creativity you may have felt while going to school to get your degree. Why go through all that and till be unfulfilled? I help people buy food at the farmer's market. There's something a bit more fulfilling about that than sitting at a desk helping some for-profit business make money while you get berated and receive decreasing benefits.

Also, doing simpler jobs let's me use my creativity for my own projects, like on here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50