ULOG #11: Riding Around the City a Little BitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes you ride to work and go a little out of the way to make it a nice ride home. Other times you just keep riding. When I got home I just wanted to ride so I switched to a more comfortable bike and went south, then east, north, west, north again, etc. Initially I was just going to ride to a couple spots to read, but for some reason there were a bunch of tourists at Canalside on a Monday afternoon. I think they were all military veterans there to see our naval park. So I rode on to Gallagher Beach at the Outer Harbor. As usual, it's a "beach" but they post "No Swimming" signs. Our water is gross but people will swim anyway, regardless of any signs. I sat on a rock to read, but I didn't even finish the chapter as I just had a need to ride more.

DSC02668 (2).JPG

DSC02670 (2).JPG

DSC02673 (2).JPG

I rode kind of far after this, heading east on Ridge Road until I got to a street that cut over to Harlem Road going north. These are pretty major roads. They weren't that bad to bike on. Harlem even has a bike lane. I noticed a sign off Harlem for a park with river access. It wasn't really much of a park. The sign said it was for fishers and boaters. Not sure if anyone could launch anything larger than a canoe there.

IMG_20180917_141350306.jpg

DSC02676 (2).JPG

I was in the suburb of West Seneca, so I turned down Clinton Street to head back to the city. I rode through Houghton Park as there are some cool bike trails leading to the Buffalo River. Unfortunately they were extremely muddy, so I turned around and continued heading west. I'll post a ride to this park another time.

I turned north on Fillmore to stop by a Buddhist temple. It has a beautiful outdoor shrine in the middle of a depressed neighborhood. I'll have to visit the temple sometime.

IMG_20180917_144950394.jpg

DSC02680 (2).JPG

IMG_20180917_145012749.jpg

I rode further north, making my way Hertel Avenue and what I believe is one of the best hidden secrets of North Buffalo, Shish Kabab Express. It's an Iraqi restaurant with $5 sandwiches and free tea. They even have free wi-fi. It's been there about 6-7 years and yet I still find people who have never heard of it. They all love House of Hummus, which has two locations with one a block from here. But it's overpriced and I don't think as good. I got spicy falafel on samoon bread. You can get it on a pita but really I recommend the samoon. They also have chicken and beef options.

IMG_20180917_153642410.jpg

IMG_20180917_152506717.jpg

I finally found a place to rest and finish that chapter. I was tired though, so I went home to take a nap soon after.

IMG_20180917_155336723.jpg

image.png

Co-founder and Curator of:


Do you like what we do? Please consider giving us an upvote or even a resteem. This will help us pay out higher rewards to the community which encourage even more people to use #cyclefeed.

PARTICIPATE ON @CycleFeed



  1. Follow and upvote @CycleFeed
  2. Follow our curation trail on Steemauto or delegate Steem Power: Check out our tutorial!
  3. Use the tag #cyclefeed in your posts: Check out the requirements!

Join our sub-group on the Steemit Travellers on Discord!

With over 500 members already on the Steemit Travellers Discord, it is an excellent place to meet other travelers and chat about traveling! Now you are also presented with the Cycling sub-group, that has been created just for you, the Cyclist. The server is also the place where you can ask all your questions about CycleFeed.

Proud member of:




This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18