ULOG #1: Fwiendztay RidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180815_195416171.jpg

I started the day with a solo ride in the morning and afternoon. I started off with a stop at my usual coffee shop, Cafe Taza. I witnessed the oddest thing. Somebody was given $5 for drawing a picture of a friend of mine. He decided he would give the $5 away. I didn't want it because my friend gave it to him. The guy claimed he doesn't need money, hates money and would burn it if nobody took it. He tried giving to guy who looked homeless. The guy didn't want it. He tried a random guy walking by. He didn't want it either. He even tried giving it to a pizza delivery guy and still couldn't give it away. Finally he went in the coffee shop, bought two bananas and gave the rest as a tip. Then I watched him try to give the bananas away.

I can rationalize why I didn't take the money, as it felt wrong to take it knowing my friend had given it to him. But still, I have 5 dollars less than I could have had. What is it that makes people turn down free money? In the case of people walking by, perhaps they think there's a catch. That he wants something in exchange. Nobody want to owe somebody something. It was a strange sight to watch.

I rode off to find places to read. It was a gloomy day but it only rained in the morning. When I can't find much else to do, I can usually count on a bike ride with reading stops to be kind of fun. I'm currently reading Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. I'm pretty into this and will probably finish it it in a couple days. I need a good book to pick up when I'm done with it.

I stopped at a couple places. Went to Canalside downtown for a bit, before reading a couple more chapters at La Salle Park.

IMG_20180815_123633955.jpg

IMG_20180815_131231558.jpg

I like being alone sometimes. I also like group rides with the right people. Every Wednesday, a group of us meet up for the Fwiendztay Ride. The group usually ranges from 20-40 people. We had about 20 this time.

IMG_20180815_195425750.jpg

It was a shorter ride. We rode to Delaware Park to play kickball. I'm not the best at this, but I did score the first run of the game. I guess it's slightly more fun when you feel you played well. But it's just an excuse to have fun, be active and drink beer with friends. I don't think anyone kept score. It ended when half our team disappeared, making it pretty difficult to get anyone out on the other team.

IMG_20180815_203015969.jpg

We hung out long after dark, then road to the other end of the park to drink more beer at the Japanese Gardens. I actually did not intend to stay out so late, but this ended up being a fun night.

IMG_20180815_224620783.jpg

This Strava ride encompasses the riding done throughout the day.

image.png

Co-founder and Curator of:


Do you like what we do? Please consider giving us an upvote or even a resteem. This will help us pay out higher rewards to the community which encourage even more people to use #cyclefeed.

PARTICIPATE ON @CycleFeed



  1. Follow and upvote @CycleFeed
  2. Follow our curation trail on Steemauto or delegate Steem Power: Check out our tutorial!
  3. Use the tag #cyclefeed in your posts: Check out the requirements!

Join our sub-group on the Steemit Travellers on Discord!

With over 500 members already on the Steemit Travellers Discord, it is an excellent place to meet other travelers and chat about traveling! Now you are also presented with the Cycling sub-group, that has been created just for you, the Cyclist. The server is also the place where you can ask all your questions about CycleFeed.

Proud member of:



This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I also love to read books when I am on the move, find a nice calm place to read a chapter or two. Just started reading "the broker", I will give you feedback on it when I get a bit further into it! What kind of books do you like?

I think I tend to like stuff that can be a bit surreal, weird, not so realistic. Maybe stuff that falls under the umbrella of speculative fiction, even though I don't read much straight up sci-fi or fantasy. I like the book I'm reading, which is described as magical realism. I love satire. I like Tom Robbins, Max Barry, Edward Abbey, Kurt Vonnegut, Tony Vigorito, Octavia Butler, Robert Anton Wilson and Philip K. Dick. I would love to read more by Murakami.

Oh yeah, that looks like fun. Now here in Brazil you don't need to give up money, they'll rob it from you anyway ahahaha, just kidding.

Sounds like a perfect mix of alone time, reading, and socializing!

Sounds like a perfect
Mix of alone time, reading,
And socializing!

                 - mininthecity


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This is a fun bot :) First time seeing it at work...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59