Ulog 51: Downvote from bot

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I have been on Steemit less frequently recently due to many factors including family, work, and other responsibilities. I think the platform is a great source of inspiration. However, I found a reason why it is quite discouraging to users. What seems like a good intention is now like a police state where I have to prove my innocence because something that seems innocuous has a profound negative effect on my psyche. I have been flagged by a bot, @mack-botjr, and downvoted for posting what it described as potential "spam". And if I want to dispute it, I should go to the discord channel.

I am not even sure how to respond to that or I should even respond to it at all. I wonder why someone would think my posts were spam. Maybe it was due to the fact that I wrote similar well-wishes to new Steemians. How many ways exactly can you say, "Welcome to the Steemit platform. Best of luck!" I like doing that. That was how I was welcomed to the site when I first started. I intend to do here and there as well. I don't do it every day, but every few days, when I log on, I look at the tag #introduceyourself and look through a few of them and write a note welcoming them to the site. Just because I do that, I get tagged by a bot for producing "spam"! Part of the reason is that I wrote the same line and it's "impersonal".

I guess I understand why the spam part would look bad. It just feels really bad when I have to defend that and just the image that I did something because the freaking bot flagged my comments seem concerning. Big accounts and whales get to police what the little accounts and get to set what they consider rightful comments and what's not... that doesn't seem democratic to me at all.

I went onto the discord channel to ask the question. Not sure if I got to the right person yet. I hope that I don't end up on some blacklist that I will have to dig my way out of. I really don't have time for that crap. Welcome to my world! It will really make one to want to contribute and see it through..NOT!

Pissed and confused by the idiosyncratic nature of a platform that is communally run.

Sort:  

And if I want to dispute it, I should go to the discord channel.

I am fine with bots attempting to punish unproductive content. There will be some false positives, and in such cases, the bot operators should revise their bot's behavior and undo errant flags.

What is completely unacceptable to me is to require a dispute resolution process on a private, closed source messaging platform. Disputes should occur ON THE BLOCKCHAIN as transparently as possible.

@mack-botjr can you please consider updating your policy on disputes and commenting why @nuoctuong was blacklisted?

I have been flagged by a bot, @mack-botjr, and downvoted for posting what it described as potential "spam".

@nuoctuong can you link to the post where this occurred?

It looks like the it got resolved. I went to the discord channel to ask. They just said to give them the account. Someone checked and said that it was taken off. Who knows.

Chúc mừng @nuoctuong, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 70%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bayzora from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @nuoctuong! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This comment should be flagged. I am not sure how it adds to the “usefulness “ of the platform.

A user pointed me to this post: https://steemit.com/steemitguide/@tpkidkai/a-gist-of-cheetah-steem-cleaners-and-plagiarism-battle-guide-for-newbies which pointed out that one of the major contributors to the site want only useful and "non-robotic" comments to be part of the platform. I didn't realize that such comments do not add to the conversation. If such that is the case, then all of the auto-comment posts by bots should be flagged. There are more of that nonsense on here than I would like to believe.

There's a difference. Most bot comments are done as a result of Steemians purchasing votes, etc.

Certain "novelty bots" are ignored because they have very specific trigger.

Person acting like a bot would eventually be Mack'd. And here's the part where you should probably care because @smartvote and @steembasicincome will likely blacklist you from their services if left unattended.

If you don't want to receive the @spaminator treatment, it's best to clarify what happened at @steemcleaners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61081.38
ETH 2930.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70