Meet @musamalijames the farmer.

in #ulog6 years ago

So this is that side of me people don't know much about. I love farming which has been part of me since my childhood. My parents owned a few acres of land in which we would occasionally go cultivate and rear animals. This is something we would always do in turns with my siblings but unlike them, I was always anxious for my turn. I had an attachment to nature, admiring the science behind something growing from nothing into food ready to cook and eat. It's until recently that I decided to start up my own small farm from the little savings I had collected.

IMG_20180125_160322.jpg

I started with one female cow which I bought at Ushs 1.2million approximately USD400. This is expensive for a cow here in Uganda but it's because it was about to deliver that the price was high. I made sure to provide the cow the best quality feeds using the knowledge I got from the time I spent on my parents' farm. This boosted the quantity of quality milk I got from it that I saved some more money which I topped up to invest in a few other cows and goats plus some rabbits.

IMG_20180125_160359.jpg

The costs are currently the biggest challenge at the moment considering the high prices of feeds but with time I'll incur less costs since I'll be reinvesting the profits I get from the milk.
So far am excited doing something I love and I will not stop until am farming on a large scale and fully going commercial.

IMG_20180125_160140.jpg

I believe I can make a big break through in farming if I stay committed and turn it into my main source of income. And with this I can offer skills to my fellow youth to start an investment that can keep them out of poverty.

Thankyou for reading

Sort:  

I really love farming too. My grand father is a farmer,
and we did a lot of bonding on his farms as I was growing up.
I want to start my own farm too, eventually, and like you,
the costs are something that has put me off.
I think farmers are among the most underappreciated people in the world. I find it funny that most people do not actually know where food really comes from, or how it is that somebody can take nothing and turn it into food. If I had things my way, there would be a day every year celebrating the farmers of the world. Without you, my grand father, and all of the farmers of the world, we would have nothing to eat.
Thank you for your beautiful contribution to society :-)

Am glad to know about your side of farming. It's true, farmers are under appreciated and i hope the world can come together and do something about the people behind the food they eat.

Thank You for writing!

Very educative and motivational post indeed. I like what you are doing and will encourage you to keep up with the good work as a farmer and also as a blogger. You have taught me and others the importance of investment and not just any investment but agricultural. Many of the youth of our times feel like agriculture is for the unskilled or the illiterate but honestly we are wrong about that. Your hard work will surely pay off and with a vision to go large scale, I believe you will get there soon. My parents are farmers and I know it is not easy. Your post have been selected as one of the winning post for @wafrica daily post. And have received 50% upvote boost by @wafrica.curators. Keep blogging and using the rewarding #wafrica tag .
........choosen by @steemgh curator for @wafrica

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84