ULOG #3: I Drove 1200 Kms To See The Zaansee Schans Windmills In North Holland

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8699.JPG

THE ROAD TRIP

These windmills in Zaansee Schans have been in my bucket list for a long time, I had visited the old windmills in Holland but in a different fishermen´s village some 32 years ago. This time, when I decided to really go for it, I compromised myself to make the cross-country by driving the 1,200 Kms. It took us almost 15 hours to reach Holland with lotsof stops in between for some stretchings, lunch, snacks, dinner and walks with Lily (our chihuahua princess) as well as lots of comfort room visits that cost each time 0.70 Euro. Well, the 70 cents was worth it because the toilets were all clean.

Austrian and german highways are very good for cross-country driving, the roads are well planned and constructed. Except for some portion of the routes that are now undergoing road repairs as well as the truck-convoi (hundreds of truckers) on the slow lane, the route is manageable even if you drive in the night.

20180513_102158 Kopie.jpg

And because I really want to do this, it didn´t matter to me if I was driving this long. If I would have travelled by plane from Vienna, it would only take me about more than an hour to arrive at Schipol Airport. I would spent the same money for the air ticket if compared to the cost of the 4 diesel full tanks back and fort.

IMG_8692.JPG

Some of the important and great deals in my driving were seeing the green areas of Bavarian countryside as well as the happy cows, goats and sheep at the border of Germany and The Netherlands. It occurred to me that I have seen the same sceneries when we visited Denmark via Hamburg some ten years back... The animals were on the farmland enjoying the grass and I could tell they were the happy ones not being confined to the barn with limited space and could not even lay on their hays. So I felt happy for those animals. I´m sure they produce good milk and dairies.

20180513_104429.jpg

TRIP TO THE WINDMILLS

Going there , we took the express bus # 891 at the back of the Central Station and it took us 20 minutes passing the tunnel to reach the Zaanse Schanz. The bus # 391 also goes there but it takes 40 minutes to arrive at the place, I think they are picking passengers along the way. We paid 11.50 Euros for a return ticket below.

20180516_155444.jpg

20180516_155519.jpg

ZAANSTREEK BACKGROUND

The Zaanstreek is the region around the Zaan River in North Holland that is composed of three communities : the Zaanstad, Oostzaan and Wormerland. Zaanstad, being the biggest community has around 100K population. Being close to Amsterdam, the Windmills of Zaanse Schanz are one of the most popular tourist attractions in the Netherlands. It´s an open air Museum that is comprised of different houses that offer many workshops like cheese making, making wooden clogs, freshly baked cookies, copper works as well as dairy products offered to the public.

IMG_8698.JPG

IMG_8697.JPG

IMG_8712 Kopie.JPG

20180513_104224 Kopie.jpg

The Zaanse Shanz is actually more catered to the tourists , originally, the windmills came from different parts of the Zaanstreek regions and were transported to the present area between 1961 and 1974 where they rebuilt each original structures. The purpose of putting old windmills and old houses together in one area was to show to the tourists and public the dutch heritage and its culture.

IMG_8696.JPG

20180513_103844 Kopie.jpg

IMG_8688.JPG

It has been raining when we arrived at the Zaanse Schanz , my husband visited this area long time ago and did not want to go near the windmills because of the rain and Lily... so they stayed at the Museums´s Coffee shop and waited for me til I finish the inspection of each windmill. The rain did not deter me to go since my main purpose was really to see the place. I was just glad that I left Lily because the way to the mills were covered with broken shells and that would have an awful impact on her delicate paws.

20180513_105444.jpg

LIly +Mers.jpg

IMG_8707.JPG

I have fulfilled a dream and achieved what I wanted and I am already kind of checking-out my bucket list on what to see or do next.

All contents and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer Mers SPP.gif

Note : Make Terry aka @surpassinggoogle your witness:

Got a spare vote? Kindly vote "steemgigs" as witness by visiting https://steemit.com/~witnesses typing "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses!

Should you want to make him do the voting decisions on your behalf, simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses typing "surpassinggoogle" in the second box for proxy.

I am wishing everyone all the best!

Many thanks!

@mers

Sort:  

Ich liebe den Käse und die Sehenswürdigkeiten in Holland, ich bin sicher, Lily hat die Reise genossen.

Bestimmt! Sie hat die Reise genossen vor allem das Essen, LOL!

Du verdirbst das Kind, das sie vergessen hat, dass sie kein Mensch ist hahaha...

I have fulfilled a dream and achieved what I wanted and I am already kind of checking-out my bucket list on what to see or do next.

This is so me everytime I got back from travel. Thinking ahead of my next bucket list to unlock and my husband's reaction was like.. "jeeez! You need to calm down and make more money" 😂

Hahaha... laagan pud diay ka Joy! Sigi lang basta may time, enjoy life. Thank you for dropping by..

Thanks for sharing your adventures to North Holland! I have good memories some 30 years ago when the family visited Amsterdam. People were so warm . Their windmills were so fascinating! And their wooden shoe, oh I couldn't help myself took a photo standing inside a very big wooden shoe in one shoe factory. We also visited a diamond factory! It was such an experience of a lifetime. 😍

Indeed my friend... the experience is so fascinating that I even would like to go back. Yes, I also had that big shoe experience this time and from a much bigger shoe in another windmill the first time I went there to see another village.

Wow! That was an amazing adventure you did ate @mers long journey to drove by you.

Makaibog ! Nice Place...@mers ka nindot sa feeling of accomplishment!

paktay ang buttocks ko sa kakaupo sa car Jude... hehehe but it was really worth it! Thanks.

Long drive adventure! Tired but more fun. Thanks for sharing.

Indeed sis Fhe... nakakapagod din, kaya next time fly na lang ako... although sanay naman ako... yung sa spain nga almost 3k kms tinakbo namin for 3 days with stop over in Menton France at Barcelona para matulog

Das war ein Erlebnis,stimmt?

Stimmt 100%... hahaha.. beim nächsten Mal werde ich fliegen !

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Wow.. This is a long journey, I really impressed about the museum..i like going for tourists.. I'm so happy to know little about Holland..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81