Time to clean house

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking lately, more so this week. I got way too much crap. I'm serious too. Meaning, as much as I like the things I've accumulated over the years, as much as I enjoy some of my "little treasures" I hardly use them. I'm serious. What does that mean? How does that help me?



I wrote a post a few days ago about the same subject, because I was coming to the realization that this whole accumulation tendency we have is a little dumb. But, I'm starting to follow my own advice and I'm going to begin to sell it all. What I can't sell, I'm going to give away, but I'm feeling like a lot of these things are holding me back.

I think I will maybe do some little contests here on my blog, maybe some of the things I own can become the center of a fun game or something. I'm not entirely sure, but since I know people like giveaways and contests, this might be the easiest way for me to move some of my unused treasures out of here.

The only challenge I see of course is shipping, so whatever it is that I come up with, that aspect has to be thought of. Maybe that's why I'm defaulting to doing some sort of contest, so I can cover the shipping costs with the sbd's made. And I say maybe, because I might just covert that to Steem and HODL as if I was embracing for impact.

A quick glance of my "man cave" I got a beautiful collection of guitar straps, still in their packaging (leather), a few unused guitar pedals and even some pickups for acoustic guitars. The kind you use on the soundhole (great for the open mic peeps). So, this does not seem like a bad idea in theory.

Because its Sunday and one must change up the pace, today I'm going to be offline for most of the day as well. Spend some time with family, watch the game (of course), eat something great and try not to focus on anything else but smiling. I should be back in the night time to begin the cave cleansing process.

Much love

@meno

Sort:  

I read the title and thought "oh noooo, JP got to him and now he's gonna clean his room!!" ;-)

Great idea though to do a contest garage-sale like thing on your blog. Love how you stay so positive in these trying crypto-times: you're some welcome and much needed antidote to the prevailing negativity ;-)

contest garage-sale

Yes, maybe I will call it that.. Meno's Garage Contest Clean up

hhahaha

I downsized quite a bit the past few months and I am trying out the minimalist lifestyle to see how it feels. Its a lot less to clean and I feel much lighter mentally because I don't have clutter anymore. This sounds like an interesting idea to me!
Ivy

I honestly admire the minimalist life style... i wish i could say I can do it... i would def like to try.

Not gonna lie, it was difficult to let go of some of the sentimental items that I had kept around but I don't need to keep the item to keep the memories. I took pictures of everything and wrote stories to go with them so I make sure I don't forget. It has been freeing to get rid of old things and let someone else love those possessions they way that I did.
Ivy

Funny you would dooz this write up, we are in the middle of a month long (so far) "Purge" of the house. this is where we go through the place nose to tail and either throw out, give to good will or sell off a bunch of stuff we dont use, is broken, or no longer needed. synchronicity cuzi ;)

when we do this the place feels "lighter" and the vibe definitely gets better around the house. Its like a cleansing process that not only organizes your space but soothes the soul :)

I started a contest to giveaway some stuff, so far no takers.

i had a mate who was very irresponsible with his car, it was a cheap car and he would leave the windows down overnight, leave it unlocked and even with the keys i the ignition barrel sometimes.... the one night he locked it up it got stolen.

Moral of the story is that sometimes giving things away or if a task is too simple people wont even bother trying, if they have a bit more of a challenge it becomes desirable.... there is some psych backing to this theory as well ;) the hooman mind, lolz.

Good you are at this! Its our drive of collecting and buying stuff that drives you to this. You know what helps? Moving every now and then...it helps you filter what you are to lazy for to bring with you to the next location and what not.

enjoy the family day!

thank you Karin!! we had fun, watched the game (i was not rooting for france) but fun day after all!

:)

Cleaned up my Netflix queue...

Altered Carbon... it is dope !!

Oh, i will check it out! - this is a show? its ninja?

It is a show...you will lots of similar situations we see on Steemit...
Example- Whales acting like gods

Forget the negative thoughts and enjoy your Sunday .
It's a new day tomorrow , You might have better ideas tomorrow

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Steem garage sale / giveaway? That's Brilliant! Looking forward to steem window shopping!

Eon, ninja is the only way to be!!

We gonna do it!! #hodlonlycrypto

I really like the idea of decluttering, but the problem is I really like stuff.

it could be liberating my friend. Ask those who've done it!

@meno
I first thought you were going to say you want to clean up your apartment cos of dirt or debris but you lost me there. We will be expectant of the giveaway though. And enjoy your break with your family and don't stay away for too long. I should be getting my break soon too. Cheers good friend!

hey brother!! I confused a lot of people with my msg apparently! hahahh

Lol, I hope your break was worthwhile. And it was really interesting reading your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35