To the Two Men in the Cab Wearing a Collective 4 Bottles of Cologne.......

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

The other day I read a great post by @meesterboom about the pitfalls of riding on public transportation (you can find it here: https://steemit.com/life/@meesterboom/the-bus ) and it reminded me of something I had written on my blog about 2 years ago. Today I thought I'd share it here as a tale of maybe what not to do when you get into a cab. Enjoy!

Ok, I think I understand your logic. You are thinking you want to smell nice for the ladies. After all, scent is part of making a good first impression. But if my eyes, as a fellow passenger, start burning from the scent within a few blocks of you getting into the cab, I venture to guess that you may return home D & D; dateless and disappointed. Not only that but you'll return home confused as to why. The ladies at the bar may not tell you, so I'm here to clue you in--you're wearing too much cologne. But there is hope. After taking an informal social media poll, I have some tips to help you pass the "sniff test."

()

I know what you're thinking..."But the bottles are so small I need several. At once." Unless you are trying to cover up 2 weeks of not showering after long hours spent at your job in the fish market, less is more. Oh, and the previous scenario is no excuse. Take the time to shower, thoroughly, with as mildly scented a soap as possible, and then apply only a few spritzes to your neck and wrists. After applying have a friend, preferably one who does not wear cologne and has been sequestered in another room with a plug over their nose, enter the room and tell you if you are wearing too much. And yes, this only works if your friend doesn't suffer from anosmia. So choose wisely. Some cologne pack more of a punch than others, so even more than one spritz can be too much for some brands. Make sure to also apply deodorant. Again, men's deodorant can itself be heavily scented, so keep that in mind when choosing a cologne.

Also, keep in mind that you'll be interacting with many different types of people, in a small, sweaty place. Some of these people have sensitivities to too much cologne. This is why it is extremely important that if you normally wear a heavily scented deodorant, it might be in your best interest to skip the cologne altogether or apply with a very light hand.

Going clubbing with your friends in hopes of finding a nice girl to go out with can be tricky. With the right level of scent and a great personality, you'll be one step closer to finding her. Just put down that second bottle and walk away.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Congratulations, you have been featured in this week's Finder Frog Focus: Comedy - Recap Post "F3 as the cool kids say".

Keep creating! We're looking forward to your next post.
If you don't appreciate this comment, reply to your post and tag @BuddyUp so we can remove it. If you want to know more about the BuddyUp community on Discord you can read about us in Safe Link Post

Thank you so much for the shout out! :-)

OMG this is so true and may I add it applies to the ladies too!

We need to breathe here people!

Please don’t stink but don’t go overboard on the flip side! Remember - all things in moderation!

Enjoying your brand of humor!
~T

YES! I agree it does goes both ways. :-)

I only caught a cab once or twice when I lived in the United States.

Are people sharing cabs in the United States nowadays? @lulabelle

(I.e. chipping in on the cab fees by sharing a cab with strangers)

P.S. Taxis are very common in the Philippines!

Yep. Normally in our area not so much, but in bigger cities it definitely happens.

EDIT-I just asked my husband and I guess it happens here with our company more often then I thought. So yes.

Lol, one bottle is never enough ;O)

My nose would very much beg to differ. My husband was driving in the above story (we had gone out on a date when he was called in to take a few runs) and we had to roll the windows down for a couple miles to get the stench out. :-P

Congratulations @lulabelle! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81