You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ulog #4: Relinquishing Control

in #ulog6 years ago

It is a challenging thing to control.... "control" that is ;)

I have it. Jude has it. and I can TOTALLY relate!!!! But... don't EVER squash it! That would be my STRONGEST piece of advice. It is a leadership quality and will stand Katalina in VERY good stead as she grows older. She very clearly knows who she is... and in today's realm of kids.... you WANT this!

Don't chastise her because trust me... she will BUCK you FAR worse later and you do NOT want that with a strong personality... because it will no doubt go south for all parties involved.

So I took a deep breath and let her cut the cucumber.

Well done for letting her do it! Trust me!!!! She is VERY COMPETENT! She has as much chance at cutting herself as you do hon ;) You did the right thing in letting her do it. The more you embrace her capabilities, the more you will be amazed by them... and it will grow her confidence and enthusiasm too.

The other day... so RANDOMLY at a petrol station on our way up to go and enjoy the snow... jude and I walked across towards the shop entrance and one of the petrol attendants smiled and shouted as he passed us - pointing at Jude "A future Leader!" It was such a random occurrence, but I know its true - and the SMILE that beamed off his face - I will never forget!

It has taken me a long time to process this, because I am a complete OCD control freak - but I have accepted now and acknowledged that my little boy is simply exceptional and is VERY CAPABLE and so, I ALWAYS afford him the opportunity to shine if I can.

xxx

Sort:  

Thank you very much @jaynie for your lovely comment on this. My need to be in control has always helped me stay away from things that could have potentially harmed me, so I embrace it for that. What I am learning now is that it is not necessary for me to control everything, only what relates to myself. It's brought me a lot of peace.

Since I've taken a step back the relationship between Katalina and myself has truly blossomed into a great one. She's happier and I'm happier and now we sort of work together through it all.

So awesome to receive such an amazing compliment for your son. I'm sure it wasn't only Jude that was beaming. As parents that's all we can do, know our children and support their natural capabilities. They will take it from there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52