Cooking is Therapy for the Soul! - - #Ulog entry No. 21

in #ulog6 years ago

soup.jpg

If there is one thing in this life that soothes my soul, it is cooking. I know many consider it a chore, but I find it quite the opposite really. I find it incredibly therapeutic and today has been a day for reflection, contemplation and just simply "being". Even my #trackoftheday is somewhat representative of that.

As Fridays are the one night of the week where I allow Jude to stay up as long as his eyelids can stay open, we got to bed pretty late, so we both collapsed in a heap on the bed earlier this afternoon for a nap after he came inside crying because he had traded one of his favourite Nerf guns some time ago for a hex bug and now he wanted to undo the exchange but he could not find the hex bug.

Mostly I think fatigue was kicking in but either way the nap did us both good. I woke up before him and took a look around for the hex bug... and you know what they say... if mom can't find it - you are screwed! - well fortunately, mom found it, so he was a much happier little boy when he woke up, although he was walking a little on egg shells around me as I had scolded him for trading ANYTHING that expensive without my permission in the first place.

But with that done and dusted, I decided to get stuck into dinner...

"Cooking is therapy for the soul." - Jaynie

I seldom follow recipes, I generally create meals as I go along and they essentially ALWAYS come from my head and my own creative thought - but I have blogged quite a bit here on Steemit about the stuff I cook and today I really felt like going back to recreate one of the tastiest soups I have ever made!

Also, I have just been in the mood for comfort food - clearly, because I ate a cheese and Arugula sandwich for breakfast (so much for carb free today - oops!) Oh, and thank you @fionasfavourites your rocket tastes like a thousand times better than my own in the garden lol!

Right - time to make some deliciousness!!!

🍴

20180818_145428.jpg

For those of you that would like the full recipe for this, (well, my version of a recipe anyway) you can find it HERE

I don't have intentions to do anything particularly spectacular for the remainder of the day - but then again, isn't that somewhat what weekends are for?

There is nothing "required" of me - other than the absolute basics... so what better time to just pump the tunes, cook some good food, drink some good wine and enjoy the solitary moments ticking by.

I will however say a CHEERS to a couple of my favourite people on the planet!
@rwedegis and @traciyork

Here's to a quality evening with all of my discord family - me, myself and I....
oh and Jude if he decides to come inside at some point lol

20180818_155450.jpg

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?


Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

Sort:  

I totally agree @jaynie cooking soothes my soul as well. And I may or may not turn on some music and groove in the kitchen while I do. I also love when I am able to make food for people and see their faces light up when they eat it. Also I still hand knead all my yeast based doughs. I don't use a kitchenaid. That is super therapeutic and always quite the little workout. haha :)

aaaaah @mrchef111 - kindred souls! Working with food is one of the most beautiful things!!! I had a good giggle when you mentioned the hand kneading because I think I am one of the only people I know that still make sauce from scratch too... no matter WHAT the sauce! haha!!

Lovely to meet you!!!

hahaha that is for sure! Kindred souls indeed! :) I love working with food, it is so cool to take a bunch of ingredients, put them together and create something amazing, and then take those same ingredients, different measurements, and then create something different. mmmm sauce from scratch. I have a pretty decent bbq sauce from scratch. yummy. oh and strawberry sauce from scratch for pancakes and waffles...mmm yummy lol lovely to meet you as well! :)

oooooh STRAWBERRY SAUCE!!! That sounds DELISH!!! And as for the working with food.... I could not agree more!

:) mmmm strawberry sauce. LOL now I want some. haha

I believe it is.. i find cooking is one way of destressing..

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

ABSOLUTELY!!!! Could not agree more :)

I remember when I had my miscarriage, i turned to baking instead of crying and be sad for the loss..

It healed me.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I am so sorry @maquemali :( But I MUST commend you on your very CLEARLY strong spirit to find something positive to turn a tragic event into something emotionally manageable and ultimately positive for you. xxxx

cooking is theraphy for the soul

Oh so true! my kitchen & food photoshoot is one of my happy place 😄
Creamy butternut looks so yumm & photogenic!
I also made soup today, spicy veggie prawns
68A04BAA-D02F-43AC-A7AB-CAE87A89E961.jpeg

Enjoy the weekend Jaynie! ❤️

OOOoooooOOOooOooOOOHHHHHHHH That looks SOOOOOOO GOOOOD!!!! I am a TOTAL SUCKER for prawns!!!!!

Lol, me too. Seafood lover here!
Gracias dear Jaynie ❤️

I like good food and good photography :)

hehe Thank you @foxkoit! I would most CERTAINLY have to agree with you there! :)

you are welcome :)

Always lovely to see you pop up on my posts! Put a smile on my face :)

Umm. .yummy... I can even perceive the aroma from here.

hahaha GREAT! :)

Cooking is indeed good for the soul. I do most of the cooking here, and I always enjoy it, especially when there are plenty of ingredients around (or growing in the garden and around the house) to get creative like you do. Your food entries on this blog always look like they could be entries in a fine restaurant menu instead!

With all due respect, I must tell you that you cook spectacular, everything seems divine, very well finished, exquisite then, and I said at the beginning "with all due respect" since I will compare your dish, which is simply beautiful like you. regards @jaynie

It is very true, I feel that with a cake I can fix the gray day to someone

Whilst I am no baker @merryslamb I do agree!!! There is nothing like cheerfully coloured sweet baked goods to make the heart happy! :)

Cooking relaxes me too. I never follow recipes 😊 🤣 either. I noticed that lately I go for more simple and natural meals, but when my daughter was younger I used to create amazing “fantasy” dishes, very complicated. It was fun, she used to decorate our plates.

yes simple is my go to these days too @starjewel hehe :) but I must admit I love having Jude at hand (my 8 yr old son) because when I DO blog about food, and want to plate it for photographic purposes, the portion sizes are just PERFECT for him haha - so it is a win win situation!

I read somewhere that parsley is used to add color to dishes AND as a breath freshener for after meals?

Namaste, JaiChai

you have educated me @jaichai!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82