#WhatsCookingChallenge - Creamy Butternut, Bacon and Blue Cheese Soup

in #food6 years ago

20180420_203743.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

Soup is one of those really easy "go to" meals...
throw it all in a pot, leave it and hey presto! haha!
Normally, my favourite would be a lamb and vegetable soup,
but for whatever reason, yesterday I felt like a creamy soup
and so butternut was a total no brainer for me haha...

Except I decided to PIMP it up a little...

#WhatsCookingChallenge - Creamy Butternut, Bacon and Blue Cheese Soup

🍴

Now before I get started,
I do realise that blue cheese is quite an acquired taste,
so for any haters out there... I just want you to know,
that the blue cheese is added at the end,
so you could just leave it out altogether if you don't like it -
but seriously... it absolutely MAKES this soup!!!!
And any blue cheese fan will testify to how this stinky cheese
can completely elevate a dish to a completely different level!

YOU WILL NEED -

A pack of chopped sweet potato
A pack of chopped butternut
One chopped onion
A little chopped garlic
One chopped carrot
Some freshly chopped french chives and parsley
Salt and pepper to taste
250ml cream
A pack of diced bacon
A blue cheese triangle

🍴

Right, so as with like 99.9% of dishes,
begin by heating a pan with some olive oil...
Add some chopped onion and garlic and saute until golden.

20180420_162522.jpg

20180420_163354.jpg

While that was busy, I chopped up some carrots,
french chives and some parsley.
As usual I did not peel my carrots, I never do anymore...
I just wash them.

20180420_163101.jpg

Once the onions have finished browning,
add the chopped carrots etc. into the pot,
along with one pack of chopped sweet potato
and one pack of chopped butternut...

20180420_163330.jpg

Then you can add all the seasoning you want.

I added chutney (what a shocker hey @rwedegis lol),
salt, ground black pepper
and one chicken stock cube.

Then I filled it with water -
just enough to pretty much cover everything.
Turn the heat up and bring it to the boil.

20180420_163628.jpg

You can let it boil for a few minutes
and then turn the heat down to medium
and allow it to cook for about 45min
until everything is nice and tender.

Then you can remove it from the heat,
blend it with a hand blender,
place it back onto the stove and increase the heat to medium.
Add a pack of chopped bacon or bacon bits
and allow that to cook for approx. 10 minutes.

Then turn the heat back down to very low,
add 250ml of fresh cream,
put the lid on and leave it for an hour or two
which will allow enough time for the flavours to develop.

About 15 minutes before serving,
you can crumble some of the blue cheese
and place it into the freezer in a tupperware.

This simply prevents it from instantly melting later
when you scatter it into the soup...
so you get these wonderful BURSTS of blue cheese as you eat...
which is simply heavenly!!!

In fact the whole soup was just heavenly,
even if I do say so myself... haha!

ENJOY!!

🍴

20180420_203645.jpg

20180420_203638.jpg

I have not nominated anyone for this challenge
for quite a few days now, so tonight I am going to
shout it out to a few peeps... hehe :)

@abh12345
@milaoz
@flamingirl
@leftbank
@rea
@princessmewmew
@alphasteem
@foxxycat
@lichtblick
@creativewoman

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

……

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

……

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

What's this? You want me cooking, live on your show?!

I do actually really like blue, and just generally smelly cheese, and sweet potatoes - and could eat a bowl of your right now!

hmm, a cooking/food blog for abh1235, that would crack a few people up for sure! :D


waaahahahahaha!!!!
@abh12345 - You strike me as the good sport kind of guy ;) and as the original challenge post states, and as I have said a couple of times... this is for the noobs and the masters lol.... so make a cheese and tomato sandwich if you want ;) (but make it a good one mkay! hahaha)

(Inserting favourite evil grin gif now....)

Oh and PS. It isnt live... just a post with pics, unless ofcourse you were FISHING for video attention lol

I have something I think I could rustle up pretty sharpish that tastes awesome! :D

Just need to remember to take photos of the process, a lot of them!

hahaha AWESOME! and don't forget the cheesy grin ;) (in the spirit of anti-plagiarism and all... :P)

haha!! No-one else would dare produce this meal to present on the Blockchain! :D

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!! That is either really good news for us readers.... or really bad news.... LOL ;)

lets all cook together :)

i think very testy

indeed!!! ;)

Blue cheese in butternut soup is absolute genius! It definitely brings this soup up another level. I glad to see chutney back in mix! hahaha! I bet Mrs Ball was screaming at you from the fridge! "Jaynie, Jaynie use me tonight!" Bacon of course is a staple!

hehehe thanks @rwedegis and yes it was SUPERB!!! Yes, Mrs. Balls does not like to be ignored for too long hahaha!!!

Looks delicious!

I do have to say.... it WAS! haha ;) Thank you @steemed-open :)

Blue cheese is wonderful! I, too, am a fan of his. It's a great recipe and yummy. Thanks @jaynie

Looks delicious! I love recipes which include sweet potatoes, they are one ofmy favorites.

Thank you @joyandhappiness. Yes, I am a big fan of them too... and they are very healthy too.

You are welcome :) yes, that's a really good fact about them too.

You surely have cooking ideas.... I will definitely come to you for cooking tutorials.
@jaynie.

hahaha @emmanuelachamp ;) Thank you for the compliment x

I put all things at once too when I make spicy ramen soup that it's like a hot pot. I like the ingredients of your soup. I just don't know about the blue cheese.

hehehe try it @leeart and then let me know ;)

I have tried blue cheese on a pizza but it was mixed with other cheese so it is hard to differentiate which is which :D

oh... well blue cheese is really salty.... it is simply fantastical!!! hahaha :)

this looks quite nice :)

Thank you :)

To my shame...... I have never had butternut soup.😮

We cannot be friends anymore @bigblueleadsled... lol ;)

giphy.gif

aaaaah sulky socks!!! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44