ULOG 02: My camp experience

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Over three weeks ago, I was deployed to Enugu State in Nigeria, to undergo my compulsory one year national service under the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) scheme. I stayed in the camp for exactly 3 weeks where I underwent several trainings. There was a poor network coverage in my camp, so I was unable to log into steemit for the whole 3 weeks, and this was really annoying.
In this post, I want to as much as possible, detail my camp experience in Awgu camp in Enugu State; but first, I feel it’s necessary to give a highlight of what the NYSC scheme is all about.
Screenshot_2018-05-18-14-12-59.png

National Youth Service Corp (NYSC)

The NYSC is a scheme that was birthed as a solution to the ethnic suspicions and distrust that plagued Nigeria as a result of the civil war in the 1970s. The scheme involves the deployment of young graduates to states different from their states of origin, for the purpose of serving their fatherland- Nigeria.
This was based upon the realization that the Nigerian youth constitute a dominant force in national mobilization and growth, and as a result of that, have a crucial role to play in the task of Nation building.

The objectives of the scheme includes:
-Inculcating discipline in the Nigerian youth by instilling in them a tradition of industry at work, patriotic and loyal service to Nigeria.
-To raise the moral tone of Nigerian youths by giving them the opportunity to learn about higher ideals of National achievement, social and cultural improvement.
-To develop the attitude of mind, acquired through shared experience and suitable training in the Nigerian youth.
-To contribute to the accelerated growth of the national economy.
-To develop common ties among the Nigerian youths and promote national unity and integration.
-To remove prejudice, eliminate ignorance and confirm at first hand the many similarities among Nigerians of all ethnic groups.
-To develop a sense of corporate existence and common destiny of the people of Nigeria.

I think a more precise objectives can be seen in the NYSC website on www.nysc.org.ng

The NYSC scheme has 4 cardinal programs viz:
Orientation course, Primary assignment, Community Development Service and winding up/ passing out.

Orientation course

This aspect of the NYSC scheme involves the bringing together of corp members posted to different states to the respective orientation camps in the state. During the camp period, corp members are exposed to military and paramilitary drills, parades, trainings and lifestyles. Also, the corp members are given orientation on what they would expect during the service year.
This orientation course was what I underwent for the past three weeks, and it was both stressful and fun. I will share with you my experience in the orientation camp.

My camp experience

Camp was regimented, akin to a typical military life. We were usually woken up as early as 4:30 am every morning. Usually, at the time for every activity, the beagle would be sounded and the military personnel would swing into action to ensure compliance by the corps members. Everything was regimented. We were told when to wake, bath, eat, train and even sleep. Twice every day, we would go for drills, where we were trained by the military officers. We were trained on marching, parade, martial arts, physical fitness, endurance and agility through man ‘o war drills.
We were grouped and trained according to platoons. We usually went for drills twice a day; in the morning and evenings, and sandwiched within this period, were lectures on several topics including security, drug abuse, skill acquisition, etc. After the evening drill and then dinner, we were left to participate in social activities like inter platoon dancing, singing, debate, drama, pageantry and sports competitions.

One of the memorable days was the swearing in day. On that day, our swearing of the oath made us corp members, and we were bonded by our oath to serve our fatherland loyally, even if we had to pay the ultimate sacrifice. It also came with its perks and immunity as a paramilitary personnel.
IMG_20180518_141738.jpg

It was said that we are government property and as such, we had heavy security whenever we were leaving the camp gate.
MOW1 001.jpg

Whenever I was not busy in any activity, I used the opportunity to socialize and make new friends, and learn about different new cultures.
IMG_20180518_144623.jpg

Pushing it to the limit

Drills were very tiresome and debilitating. However, I had previously made up my mind to participate actively in camp activities including the drills. I decided to use it as a test of my physical strength. I am very happy to say that I pushed myself to the limits, and still survived. The road leading to the parade arena was hilly and the to and fro movement was weakening, yet, I chose to see it as a test.
IMG_20180518_140420.jpg
I participated fully in the man o’ war drills without any assistance and overcame all the huddles in the obstacle course unscathed. Through the loops, under the barb wires, over the 6 feet wall and while swinging the ropes, I remained resolute and finally conquered the track. It was a test of my balance, endurance and fitness. I proved to myself that truly, I was fit.
MOW4 001.jpg

MOW3 001.jpg

MOW2 001.jpg

Another challenge came up when the camp pump got damaged due to electrical fluctuations. This made water to be very scarce. I had to make a debilitating journey to a spring to get water. The terrain was hilly and rocky. I had to carry two buckets of water while climbing uphill and navigating the rocky labyrinth. It wasn't easy at all.
IMG_20180518_142023.jpg
IMG_20180518_140638.jpg
IMG_20180518_151331.jpg

Martial Art

I was part of the martial art troop. During drills, we were taught basic self-defense skills, unarmed combating skills, balancing and several other martial art moves. The martial art periods were always my best periods in camp. I always felt like a warrior during the period. I was never tired of practicing as I enjoyed every moment of it.
MA3 001.jpg
MA2 001.jpg

Currently, I have learnt the basics of unarmed combat. Thanks to our instructor which is a special combatant in the Nigerian Army, he was able to train us well. Now I unconsciously have the feeling that I can defend myself at least to be able to flee any attack.
Screenshot_2018-05-18-14-11-36.png
Screenshot_2018-05-18-14-11-00.png

During the last day of camp, we made a presentation on attacking and defensive moves and a drama on self-defense, and crowned it up with block breaking. I remember, our instructor would always tell us

No pain, no gain.

It was with that mindset that many summoned the courage to break blocks. The pain was just ephemeral.
IMG_20180518_141810.jpg
IMG_20180518_140928.jpg

Community Service

During the camp period, I was a member of the Orientation Broadcasting Service (OBS), where I worked in the technical unit. I was part of those that would set up the equipment that were needed for programs.
Screenshot_2018-05-18-14-08-02.png
During the period, I learnt a lot from the challenges that we encountered in the process, and honed my technical skills.

Friendship

One of the things I valued the most in the program was that I made new friends from entirely different religious and ethnic backgrounds from mine. In the process of my discussions with my new friends, I saw how similar and related we all are.

We are not too different from each other, we only exaggerate our differences and use them as reasons to hate each other

I believe that our differences as Nigerians and humans generally have been used negatively to foster hatred and create a divide amongst people. The truth is that our differences are what should bring us closer and not tear us apart. If we appreciate our differences and are amused at our similarities and are eager to see and learn how another group of people do what we do differently, I think that problems like racism, extremism, chauvinism and jingoism would be extinct by now.

The things that bring us together are greater than the things that separate us!

IMG_20180518_152729.jpg

Furthermore, as regards relationships with the ladies, I was also active and made many female friends. As for finding love? I wouldn’t expressly say I did, and neither will I say I did not. This is because I think that love is developed, and not spontaneous. But certainly, I had infatuations and crushes, but one stands. I don’t know where that relationship may lead to though.
IMG_20180518_141210.jpg

Summarily, I enjoyed every moment in camp, and would relive it if possible. But since it isn’t, I just have to move ahead and get serious with my national service, and write my name in the sands of time through useful community development services.
Its good to be back on steemit.

Sort:  

Congrats Ikechi. I served in Enugu state two. In fact, my PPA is Boys Secondary School, Mgbowo, In Awgu there. I will come around one of the days to visit my PPA and share steemit with corp members in that area. Currently, I am working with corp members in Aba south LGA, very close to my office. I want to see how we can bring corp members to Steemit. Keep in touch with me, we have something to work on together.

Guess what? My PPA is Rosary High school Awgu. I love the initiative and will be ready to work with you to spread the steemit gospel to Corp members. How can we keep in touch? Let me start by following you.

Here is my no. Whatsapp me: 07068083143

Ok. Alright

Wee oh!
Really comprehensive camp experience. I camped in Iseyin, Oyo state. Twas fun but really strenuous. Have a productive service year.

Waa oh! Wow. Nice. I had a friend there too. Have a wonderful service year as well

Thank you for sharing your content with #theluvbug :)

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links :)

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Aww. Thanks

Congratulations @ikechi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ikechi! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ikechi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01