My first #ulog: Reflecting on My Action-Packed Two Weeks

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I have seen several mamas from the @steemitmamas uploading their #ulog and it sounds pretty interesting. As I take time (finally) to recap what I have gone through, I would like to give thanks and reflect on the grace for me to step out of the routines. So, I thought perhaps I could do a ulog to remember what these two weeks was about, since my little milk tea is giving me the palpitations and making me stay awake.

So, what's a #ulog?

20180623_171659_0001.png
Created using Canva

Ulog means you-log, featuring nothing but you, the real you, the real deal. I came across this post "The World Needs To Hear From You. Even Steemit Is Calling!" Now, You Can Answer. "Create A ULOG Today". (The "U" in "Ulogs" represents "YOU".). It says it is talking about me and my day, the things I do, the emotions I feel. Not sure if it can be applied to two weeks' deal, but yeah I think I just had my most action-packed two weeks, with so many happenings. My body feels the tiredness here and there but my soul and heart are full.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

I foresee this is going to be a looooooooooong post, so bear with me! Even I had to bear with myself as I took days to construct this post. But because I want it to stay somewhere in the blockchain, I took some time each day to write it out to process since writing has been the tool I use to go through my experiences. I would like to apologize for my lower-quality photos, though, which some could be really unclear and blur. I have to say it first:

I LOVE MEET-UPS!

Now, where to begin? Church camp first!

FB_IMG_1529837637293.jpg
A combined church camp named Wind and Fire Camp 4 with another church who mainly consists of elder folks who are very inspiring, participated by also some people from India, Africa, Thailand and other parts of Malaysia.

My little family and I went for our first church camp together in Malacca, another state which is two-hour drive from where I stayed. I was having a tuition marathon before that because I figured I must prepare my students as much before their exams, so by the time camp commenced, I was actually quite tired but the adrenaline kept me going, anticipating and packing. It is my boy's first camp and there was children's corner, so I did some preparation to facilitate that. Not forget to mention, I attended this camp together with some Steemians in our midst too like @josephinengpy, @heartscally, @michelleloh168, @jazz-accountant, @hooiyewlim, @iamjadeline, @imchrischuajw and of course @danielwong.

IMG_20180610_090734_821.jpg

IMG_20180610_090734_815.jpg

He attended EVERY children's session, mostly with me, some with his dad. He was adored by the elder boys and a girl who were non-stop wanting carry and hang out with him. I was totally amazed, even his dad and grandparents. It started when he first asked them about one of the boys' skateboard which he found it entertaining. Then, they became the best of friends. These elder boys actually relieved me during worship to give me time to recharge with God and to do what I really enjoy doing, be led by God's Spirit. After each session, I would find Levi enjoying himself too with the boys. I even had to tell them, "Actually he can walk. You don't have to keep carrying him." Apparently, they still loved to do it. They would even remind each other whose turns it was to carry Levi, so amusing.

IMG-20180610-WA0021.jpg
@littledrummerboy and friends.

IMG-20180610-WA0002.jpg
This boy came with his godparents for the camp and became really good friends with @littledrummerboy.

IMG_20180610_120753.jpg

He had so much fun swimming with aunty @josephinengpy and his other older friends too. They were basically having a huge water gun fight! Oh yes, I got aimed too. There was a reason why I wasn't swimming or getting wet because I actually like swimming. But I had fun too with the children.

IMG-20180611-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20180611-WA0049.jpg

IMG-20180611-WA0032.jpg

IMG-20180611-WA0006.jpg

This was a spiritual feast for me too, besides just the physical fun. I believe everyone of us who went with an open heart got touched by God deeply. Many times during the worship when there were awesome manifestations of the Holy Spirit, I could feel my heart was about to burst. Sometimes, I could feel how God's heart beats for a certain individual and I would try to convey it out, though words was really not sufficient most of the time. It was a delight to see how lives were touched and especially some of the children experiencing the touch of the Holy Spirit for the first time. There was a boy who felt loved and couldn't stop crying. He was the boy who was always looking after Levi and adored him. He got prayed over and he couldn't stop shaking. He told me it was like a strong urge of energy shaking him from his inside. I asked if he felt it was good or not good, he paused and felt a while and said he thinks it is good. I know that very well, because my first strong touch from God was like that too. I bless him to grow in his destiny that God has put within him.

FB_IMG_1529837986904.jpg
His heart could not deny the intense feeling he was feeling when God touched him.

I am not sharing too many photos as I am aware that some of you may not share the same beliefs or views as me. All these scenes were very exuberating to watch. Another awesome scenario I am deeply amazed is the other church my father-in-law pastors is filled with elder people, mostly retirees and grandparents. Their passion and hunger for God are not lesser than any youth. I could see them living this verse in the bible:

“In the Last Days,” God says,
“I will pour out my Spirit
on every kind of people:
Your sons will prophesy,
also your daughters;
Your young men will see visions,
your old men dream dreams.
When the time comes,
I’ll pour out my Spirit
On those who serve me, men and women both,
and they’ll prophesy.
Acts 2:17 (The Message)

The elderly never hesitate to move when God's Spirit moved. They would break out into dance and laugh with so much joy. Boy, those laughters were super contagious, and they seemed to spread whenever we lock eyes on the one who was laughing. There were tremendous celebration in the hall for those few days. I believe there were many restorations on the hearts as well as breaking off into liberty. There was a lady who went around dancing around different individuals and she came to me out of a sudden to hug me. She was a stranger to me before that, because she belongs to another church. She looked at me with a smile and told me, "Jesus loves you so much, you know." and gave me a peck on my cheek. Then she started laughing while I started crying, haha. It was such a great reminder, even though it was just a simple message that I perhaps already knew. It refreshes my soul.


This elder woman would laugh everytime God touches her and spins out of her seat, rolling and laughing on the floor, looking very drunk without wine. So much joy when we look at her!

I really wish I could write all the details here so I would not forget the happenings as some have become very personal to me.

There was this couple whom I have very high respect for. I met them back in the year 2006, I think when my pastor conducted his yearly ministry training for pastors. I was just a student who didn't know much about ministry or spirituality but I was very drawn to them. Till today, the wife and I clicked every time we meet and they were surprisingly here for the camp. One of my respects for them is though they are aged 69, they would hear and obey God's instructions to go whenever He sends them for missions in some impossible areas. They have met with kings of small nations who received them and they are still being called to new places when she thought it is an age God would let them rest. Some people may think why they want to "suffer" at this retired age but knowing them especially the wife, I could feel the purity of their hearts. That's what I felt the first time I met them and after 12 years, their hearts remain humble and pure.

It's not about God needing us because He is not "powerful" enough but simply He enjoyed partnering with us, to restore and fulfill love as a need to mankind. He is not like a dictator trying to rule over us, but He knows what we would feel when we rely and trust Him for Who He is.

IMG_20180610_190102.jpg
A godly woman I have deep respect for. I bless them with all of my heart as they go forth.

During this trip, there was also a small incident of @littledrummerboy being thought to be kidnapped. You may refer to my post, .My Son Got "Kidnapped"!. After bidding goodbye to the campers, the family and I extended an extra day to have some family time, especially with Jansen who seldom travels out of home. We had some pleasant eating times and the children received presents from their always loving grandparents.

IMG_20180611_194647.jpg

Malacca is a historical and nice city to walk about. I wish we have more time to do that though. My friends did go around exploring the Jonker Streets, even my husband did but I chose to rest in with @littledrummerboy so he was well rested for the sessions in the night. I still managed to capture some photos.


Someone was exhausted on our way back.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Coming up, @littledrummerboy's Great Grandmother's 79th Birthday Celebration!

My husband's grandma is a very nice elderly person. She has a very big heart to bless. Whenever we go celebrate her, she surely brings along some gifts to bless her great grandchildren too. We had really awesome delicious Chinese food to celebrate her birthday this round at this place called Elite Seafood. Besides enjoying the food, we enjoyed a great time to get together.


Us with Mama, that's what we call my husband's maternal grandma.

IMG-20180614-WA0018.jpg
Mama with her homemade birthday cake from my cousin's wife. The cake was superb!



The Malaysian-French mix nephew! He is super bubbly!

I treasure times when we can come together to celebrate an elder in the family! We are grateful for my husband's grandma. In Chinese, there is a saying: 家有一老,如有一宝。It simply means when we have an elder at home, it is as real as we have a living treasure among us.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Next, Pokemon Hunting!

Yes, we play Pokemon for our leisure and fun. Pokemon Go was a hit when it first came out a year or two ago. I was not expecting our son to show interest but he really could remember the names and love to catch them. If I let him play the app on my phone, I usually would come back to find my pokeballs (and my berries) finished. His uncle called for a Pokemon outing and off we went with some friends like @heartscally. We went to this landmark of Kuala Lumpur, called the Suria KLCC which has a large park. It was especially crowded that day, because it was a public holiday and there was a special event for Pokemon hunters.

35381728_10156416955661798_267309165251133440_n.jpg
Photo by my friend, Petra

Levi had so much fun that day, though he was the one who caught the least Pokemon but used most pokeballs, perhaps. He could not stop walking and being excited the whole time!


@littledrummerboy with @hooiyewlim behind in the background


Us with @heartscally

@littledrummerboy was hanging out by himself with my friends most of the time. Thank God for them who helped to watch him because the crowd was really big that day.

IMG-20180616-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20180617-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20180617-WA0008.jpg


This was really yummy and the view at the place we ate was so nice!


Check out the excited face in front!


Happy but tired faces as we took the LRT back

Thought the little boy would nap earlier that day, but it did not happen. Guess he was too excited. Well, at least he napped because we had some more activity that night!

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Some more meet-ups in the night: Meeting My Youngest Sister!

My youngest sister who is 14 years younger than me just got over to further her studies in Pharmacy. It was a long weekend and she had some extra days from her break, so she thought she would come over to visit me. I met her two months ago when I went back for grandma's funeral but she has not met her nephew who is also my son for a year. Levi looked shy at first but after that they became friends really soon. It was a funny thing to watch actually. My sister, Amy was here with her campus friend, Stephanie. I picked them up really late (or early) at 140 a.m. and then took them home with me one night before helping them check in to a nearby hotel when their 3rd friend join the company.

Here are some photos of them hanging out with my family:


Many say my little sister looks like me, so I think you may have guessed which is her in this photo.

The night ended with a yummy chocolate cake from this shop called Delectable by Su, which my sister and her friend got us.


This cake is super good and it is called the 7 Sins of Chocolate, truly living up to its name!


I figured I wanted some time with my sister and her friend, without some interruption from a little boy who loves to speak just to catch up with her studies and some family matters. We went to Lot 10 to try the famous 6th Avenue Cheesecake at the Tokyo Restaurant after her shopping spree.


The very awesome Gateau Chocolate and 6th Avenue Cheesecake!!!! SOOO GOOD! The cheesecake was super soft and tasty, while the chocolate cake was very rich and not too sweet. We enjoyed these 2 cakes a lot!


So, this is my sister. Yes, I shared about Steemit with her and friend, Stephanie too!!

Joining my sister and friend who are both 14 years younger than me, we did some youthful things like posing for photos. Hahah, it was quite embarrassing but I tried to tap on their youthful spirit, you know. I haven't been going around much, so I took this opportunity to explore the city centre since they are also visiting.

I bet I have gained weight during their visit here because one of the young things we did, was having desserts. Of course I was happy too!


This is pistachio bingsu (snow ice) from Cafe Bene

Our day did not end here but we met my family for another Korean dinner cum early birthday celebration for @littledrummerboy!


Then we went back to their hotel room and hung out till the boy was willing to go home. He was making himself too comfortable until he was not willing to leave. It took a while to get him going. Hence, more selfies as I watched Penguins of Madagascar while they were bonding.

The next day, we sent them off to the train station to board a train back to Kedah, a northern state in our Peninsular.

I do miss my family since we stay apart after I came over to the other side of Malaysia to study. Any time we get to catch up is precious to me. It was nice she came over, just because the flight tickets back home was way too expensive. She got to also spend time with her high school friends who have gone different places for their tertiary studies.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Then, my dear old friend came from Kuching!

I actually wrote a post on meeting up dear friend and had some crazily good Pho (Vietnamese beef noodle) in this post, Some Awesome Pho (Vietnamese Beef Noodles)!!!.

Jennifer is my old friend since high school and though we got separated when we went for our tertiary studies at different places, she has always been a friend close to heart. We share many things in life together, when we were there for each other when our family was in distress and at our junctures of making important decisions. Last week, she was here to attend a course by her company. It was a long day for her since she just flew in on that morning itself. Catching up with her was very refreshing and we chatted till the mall closed. Such a rare opportunity to just chat without having the concern of time, besides having the best beef noodles I have tasted. We came across this restaurant, An Viet which is very for environment conservation. They advocate prevention of food wastage as well as stop the usages of plastic straws.

That was a meetup needed! <3 We used to talk overnight and there was no sleep, so this is nothing compared to then, now that we have our own children. I miss her being near in my life. She is going to embark on a new journey in her career to do something she is passionate about. Her courage and enthusiasm is very admirable. She said this, "If not now, then when? At least I push myself to try."

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Last but not least, a Movie Outing!


We went for Incredibles 2 in a family-friendly cinema!

@littledrummerboy had not really stepped into a cinema before. When he was 3 months old, we took him to watch Hook, thought we could just try but it failed. He was shocked by the loud sounds and I ended up staying out of the cinema with him. Before he turns 3 by this Friday, I was thinking maybe we could try again. My friend's children, Claire and Isabel wanted to join us too, as part of their school holidays' activities. They could not stop telling us about the movie, because they had watched earlier the other day, so yes we had movie spoilers with us ALL the time, telling us who is the villain before the movie even started. @littledrummerboy was okay throughout the movie, and he could pay attention. When he got bored, he would walked along the row where we were seated. There was a boy who came to our row many many times to walk past us and tried drinking @littledrummerboy's water bottle!

It was fun and the movie was also nice, in my opinion. The hall was said to be brighter and softer in their Dolby-surround. They kept the side lamps on and it was not like too bright.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Indeed, that was action-packed, do you agree? I have been really occupied and yet I am happy at the end of the two weeks. I actually love all the action-packed days! I love the get-togethers and am thankful that I have spent much time with those I love. Just for your information, I am a person who loves to go out but my husband likes to stay at home, so on days he is willing to go out, I am happy that he can tag along. Else, I am also glad I could go out by myself, either with him taking care of @littledrummerboy or @littledrummerboy coming along with me. I think in this two weeks, he has gone out the most frequent times!

Coming up next, is actually my son's upcoming 3rd birthday on this Friday. We were planning to go to the zoo tomorrow but he is having an allergy reaction now, so I figured I have to put the plan on hold.

Finally, I am done processing the recent eventful two weeks. Yay, hooray!!!

Thank you so very much for taking your time to read my very long first #ulog. I didn't plan for it to be this long, so sorry!

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

What is the origin of this dish? It looks tasy AF. I'd love to wash it down with a Weissbier. I think the two who complement each other very nicely.

Eventful weeks! Thanks for sharing your ulog! Had a great time reading it. 😄

WOW!! Super eventful indeed. Your title should have been your events with @littledrummerboy HAHAHA! Everything has his lovely smiley face in it except the one you were out with your friend! Looked like you had lots of fun!

Wow, really an eventful week for you and your family! Glad to be part of it and share the joy too! :)

Definitely rewarding and purposeful although the body is tired. Hope you get to replenish your body soon :)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69