Visiting My Two Favorite Places and How it Helps me Destress (Ulog #13)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

banner2.png

Show us how you destress
The moment I have read Mr. @healthsquared's contest made me thought of the past activities that helped me destress.

I have thought that eating good food is one of the too activities that would help me destress and put me in such a great state.

I would not deny it that I really have a huge thing for food. Who would not agree with me on this? I would not be shy to say that I am a big fan of people who are able to create and/or deliver delicious meals on my table.

As a matter of fact, I followed some Korean Celebrity Chefs on instagram who I found very interesting at Chef My Fridge and another cooking battle show that features different chefs from the countries with best tasting palates.

But, I would just like to emphasize that I do not only like food. And upon re-typing this,I realized thar my love for food is also not at par with my love for art --- art in so many forms. And one of that is tinkering things and personalizing things!

Why am I saying this? Well, mainly because engaging in the things that matter most to me gets rid of the nasty feelings I have inside. I would further discuss more about it on the latter part of this contest entry.

april_2018-05-29-21-48-54-307.jpg

So for today, I will share to you two places that I love to visit. Some of you may find this very odd but I really am just so fascinated whenever I visit these places who happen to be beside each other.

Every moment I step inside these shops, it made my mind wander and be lost as of the moment. It is as if I lie my back on top of a hammock, but on there are no headaches attached.

Along JR Borja- Pabayo, you can find Wadhus Watch Repair Service and Kimshoppe.

I had been loving these two places since I was taking uo my basic education at City Central School. Maybe it is also the reason why it has brought me comfort. Maybe the reason as to why I feel such emotion or destressing is that the process on how an object is being made (at Kimshoppe) and being repaired (at Wadhus Watch Repair Service) had always been fascinating to me. It has given me a spark or something that has not just destressed me but motivated me as well.

Let us have a look around on these two interesting place so that you would have a deeper sense of understanding of what I was sharing about.

2018-05-29 09.34.31 1.jpg

I asked manong if I could take a photo of them, he gleefully agreed to me but told me that the viewers (you) of my blog would not like his face. I told manong that he and his folks all look adorable. He just laughed at it then.

People like him makes me happy, same with the saleslady who I love to chat with at Kimshoppe. They give me insights and made me appreciate everyonr who are around me.

Well, he actually deserves a space on my blog because I owe to him the repair of a Seiko watch that my aunt gave to me almost two decades ago. Do not worry, I will show to you how he did it through photos. Also, you will have an idea how some things are being done in repairing a watch. You might be able to destress yourself observing how he makes things done.

Anyway, if you do watch repair, I would appreciate your insights!

2018-05-29 09.34.28 1.jpg

He first took the glass cover of my watch and took the parts out of it. He said he needed to clean the machine which makes the watch work even without batteries.

2018-05-29 09.34.27 1.jpg

2018-05-29 09.34.30 1.jpg

2018-05-29 09.34.29 1.jpg

Just look on how delicate and intricate my watch is and other watches are too! Just by watching this repairman works, made me felt in love with small things and tinkering.

I really stood up for an hour watching him repair my watch. I did not bother standing that long though.

I liked the idea that someone has taken care of a possession that has always been dear to me.

Manong shared that in Switzerland, women are the ones who dominate this line of work because they have smaller hands and are more precise when it comes to output. I do not know though how true this is since I have not been to Switzerland. Haha!


My favorite Craft Store

2018-05-29 09.34.32 1.jpg

My love towards arts and crafts grew because of this shop as well. Ever since I was little, my mom and dad would take me to this place. They would buy needles and threads for their cross-stitch since it has been their hobby before they got so busy and fed up with work.

I remember then walking around the shop and checking on some new items. I thought to myself, someday I would be able to buy some of their items. I would be thrilled to fill my room with art works made from needles and canvases.

2018-05-29 09.34.33 1.jpg

I love colors that is why I love roaming around and checking available colors of threads, blings for bracelets, and a lot more.

20180525_235842.jpg

While visiting Kimshoppe, my mom was so nice to buy me some stuff. These would all be helpful for me to build more crafts! It was just so helpful and therapeutic for me to be in this place again after few months of staying at home and travelling north.

I might be back to this place just to check on some new items. They do not really mind if I would not buy an item, but I guess I would always end up buying some for my arts and crafts projects!

Anyhow, now that I have shown to you two of my favorite places, can you show me yours as well? Or can you join this competition too and share to everyone how you destress yourself!

Just check on the link of the post here:
https://steemit.com/health/@healthsquared/steemit-weekly-health-challenge-3-win-steem


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

dear madam,

your post liked me because your post always informative.I posted the business today. I am fascinated by it.
The clock repair business is very profitable

Hello sir, I will check on your posts. Anyway, thank you. The clock repair business also requires a lot of patience. I love people who are working on such industry! :)

dear madam,
Without patience, success can not be achieved in life. However, it takes more patience to repair the clock

You got a 1.95% upvote from @upme thanks to @gailbelga! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84