ULog #21: My Version of BICOL EXPRESS

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! First of all, I would like to greet you a HAPPY NEW YEAR and I wish you had a blessed Christmas!

Today, I want to share with you my own and simple version of Bicol Express. I actually made this last December 24 but I am only able to post this now. While almost everybody was busy preparing sumptuous food for Noche Buena in the Philippines, I was simply craving for no other than this Bicol Express, which is made up of pork cooked in coconut milk with shrimp paste and a lot of green chilis. This dish come from one region in the Philippines, Bicol, which is known to its abundance in coconuts and they are also popular for their most local meals to be hot and spicy.

20181224_140345.jpg

I call this version of mine as simple because I used the ingredients that our nearby store only has. They didn't have red chilis and a fresh coconut that could really make this dish more enriched in flavor, so I just used green chilis and coconut milk in can. Thankfully, my husband bought me a ready-to-cook spicy shrimp paste of my favorite brand, called Barrio Fiesta, that's why everything turned out good and delicious!

THE INGREDIENTS I USED:

1/2 kilo pork (cubes)
4 cloves garlic (crushed)
4 pcs long green chili pepper (sliced into thin pieces)
1 medium onion (sliced)
1 tbsp shrimp paste (Barrio Fiesta)
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
3 tbsp cooking oil
2 1/2 cups of water
salt to taste


How to cook Bicol Express (good for 4 servings):

1. Heat oil and saute garlic & onion.

2. Add the pork and ground black pepper, cook until it gets light brown in color.

3. Pour water and let it boil. Then, cover it and cook it in medium heat until the pork gets tender.

4. Add the long green chili and shrimp paste into the cooking pot, then stir.

5. Pour the coconut milk in can into the pot and let it boil. Stir once in a while. Then, add salt to taste.

6. Serve with rice. Enjoy! :)

By the way guys, if you're not a fan of a hot and spicy food, and yet you want to try this dish, you could adjust the spicy level according to how much you can tolerate the heat. You can start with 2-3 pieces of green chili peppers until you can handle the right amount of its hotness.

I just really love spicy foods and Bicol Express is the second to my most favorite next to Pork Sisig! Hopefully, I would be able to cook the latter one once I find its main ingredients here. So for now, I hope you liked my post. It is easy to make, but it will totally drive you crazy as it'll make you want to eat more haha! Try it!

Thank you, Steemians!

Until next time.

Much LOVE,
@dynamicshine

DYNAMICSHINE.gif

Thank you @surpassinggoogle for this ULog concept as I am able to fully express myself about how I feel or how my day went each day. May God bless you more wisdom of "out-of-the-boxness" philosopy in life. :)
stock-vector-elegant-classical-page-rule-vintage-style-decorative-design-elements-351841472.jpg

20181031_133104.jpg



Thanks for stopping by! Steem on! - @dynamicshine


Join us on Discord (https://discord.gg/FPdn5QZ) if you want to message me directly and of course to meet these awesome and creative people behind #dynamicsteemians, namely:

@dynamicgreentk, @dynamicrypto, @baa.steemit, @symonp, @adam.tran

stock-vector-elegant-classical-page-rule-vintage-style-decorative-design-elements-351841472.jpg

steembulls_logo.JPG

STEEMBULLS

Sort:  

Wow! I think my hubby will love this as long as the shrimp paste is not too overpowering. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea and I think I put a lot of shrimp paste that's why my Bicol Express is brownish which supposed to be creamy-look like. Or, I just didn't put enough coconut milk. The fresh one is still the best!

Congratulations @dynamicshine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @dynamicshine! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @dynamicshine! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35