11th #Ulog: A Piece Of Old England In Medieval Moscow

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow Steemians and Uloggers!


This is my 11th #Ulog and I want to share with you some pictures and information about the Old English Court in Moscow, Russia.

So, let me start ... Usually, I like to walk a lot in the evenings. I am an active user of #ActiFit dApp. So, during the last week I had a couple of evenings strolls in a place called The Old English Court:
IMG_20190316_183137.jpg
The Old English Court is located next to the Red Square. So, it is in the heart of the city center.

To be honest, I've been in this area many times for the last 6 years. (Once again I am from Bulgaria, a small country in South Europe, but have been living in Moscow, Russia for the last 6 years). And all those old buildings in this area have always seemed to me as having a typical Medieval Russian architecture:
IMG_20190316_182812.jpg

Yeah, this is a typical old Russian building (at least I think so):
IMG_20190316_182823.jpg

One more Russian Medieval building:
IMG_20190316_183210.jpg

So, I was really surprised when last Saturday I saw among those building this signboard:
IMG_20190316_183249.jpg

Hmm, so, I started wondering if it was an old Russian or an old English architectural style. But I went to the conclusion that this was a Medieval Russian architecture. Because, old white-brick buildings are typical for Northwest Russia. Even most of the old fortresses in Northwest Russia were built from white bricks or stones. Also, the wooden tops or roofs on the towers of the buildings is a typical Russian Medieval architecture. Yeah, I have seen a kind of similar old buildings in Estonia, Finland, etc. but this is a region next to Russia, and far away from England. That's why in my view, those are old Russian buildings.

Ok! Then I found a commemorative plaque on the walls of one of those building, saying the following:
IMG_20190316_183358.jpg

When I got back home, I tried to find information about the Old English Court in Moscow, and I found this:

The Old English Court is a stone mansion erected in the early 16th century in Varvarka-street on the east side of the Kremlin. It is one of the earliest surviving specimens of Moscow's secular architecture. Most importantly it witnessed the birth of Anglo-Russian relations in the age of Ivan IV and Elizabeth I. For it was here from 1556 to 1649 that the first English trading and ambassadorial office in Moscow was located, the first official residence of a Western power in the Russian capital.

The official opening of the Old English Court Museum took place on 18 October 1994 in the presence of and with the participation of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Yeah, so, it seems that those are old Russian buildings.

That's it for today! Thank you for stopping by!


Fellow Steemians and Uloggers, I hope you enjoyed my 11th #Ulog. Thank you for reading and commenting!

Click here if you want to check my previous #Ulog (10th Ulog).


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
DCLICK: Introducing the Advertise feature

Last week, the Advertise feature has opened. you can...

Sort:  

Интересно е.

Posted using Partiko Android

@cryptoprima, да! Интересни сгради и история.

Очень интересно!
Мне кажется, там может быть и английский стиль, если это был английский двор. Вдруг его строили англичане или русские и англичане вместе?

@behelen, я не знаю. Но мне кажется, что это русский стиль.

Thanks for sharing, I always find history to be very interesting and exciting.

Posted using Partiko Android

@flaxz, yeah, I also like to research some historical events, etc.

thanks to share your content about Russia.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you liked it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Those roofs are cool! I have a thing for roofs! hehehe

Hehe! Yeah, I like those roofs.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.02% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @cryptospa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5500 replies. Your next target is to reach 5750 replies.
You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72