Ulog: No Yelling, No Spanking

in #ulog-mama5 years ago

I grew up (and currently live) in a community where it is ok to give an occasional whooping to your child, and its "normal" to yell at your kids.

Everybody here loses their shit.

And we laugh about it.

Or at least I used to.

La Chancla Majica we call it. The magic shoe. It's sad, and it is embedded into the culture, you can even see it in a scene in the movie: Coco.


Coco Movie Gif

Somewhere along the lines, I realized that intimidating your kids into following directions was not the way to go.

But it took me a while.

See, here in these parts, we don't have problems that the rest of California has (aka Northern California, specifically the Island of Alameda). Here, children are respectful to their elders.

You won't find a child here who yells at Mama. No you won't. And, when a child shows disrespect to their elders everybody has a problem with it, and everybody has something to say and a consequence to give.

We just don't put up with that here.

I remember being a high school teacher, and hearing from co-workers about "popping their kids in the mouth" cause they "weren't talking right."

They weren't proud that they let their kids get to that point, but they weren't ashamed to share their solution.

I never beat my children, but an occasional ear pulling, or even a swat on the butt when they were being "too much" felt guilty... but worked.

My oldest got it the worst. My middle child got it a lot less. My little boy only got his ears tugged, the one in my belly will hear the stories and not believe them. Just like my oldest daughter can not for the life of her believe that Grandpa used to make us pick the belt...

Then one day I realized that it was just plain wrong.

And then it took me another while to figure out how not to let things get to the point where a little shoe to the little butt wasn't necessary.

I finally got there.

Soon after, I realized that yelling is just another form of abuse.

That has been a little more difficult to eradicate.

But I am currently there.

No yelling, no spanking.

It takes a lot more mindfulness, and a whole lot of work. Especially when you are surrounded by it. My across the way neighbor screams and yells for a full hour... but you can still hear the vacuum going and the washer running, and see the windows being cleaned.

I'm over here trying to get the kids to pick up their lego's while my little boy laughs and says: "No yelling mama, it's not kind."

My biggest fear used to be that I would be too bland and would raise disrespectful kids, but I have learned, that spanking and yelling, if you don't do them with heart, don't work anyway. And, since I am no longer willing to pass off abuse as culture, I am taking another route.

I will succeed. And my children will be better people because of it.

They cycle of abuse stops here.

And I am very sorry that it took me 13 years of parenting to realize that it was abuse.

Bold Show Your True Colors Poster.png

20180516_002249_0001.png


Posted via Marlians.com
Sort:  

I think sometimes because we see others do it and we just follow without thinking if it's right or wrong.
Only when we're more mature in thinking, we realised that it is wrong.
But better late than never, I guess

This is a great message to send. I agree that there are certain ways to discipline a child and abuse is one of those things that sticks with a person for the rest of their lives. My parents were always the type to hand out spanking if we were bad, but a few times I remember catching a swift backhand from mom or a belt lashing from my very southern father.

I have never had to spank my kids, thankfully, but their mom has plenty of times in the past. They are now at the age where I really don't have to do much for them to listen to me because they are pretty well behaved.

I myself dealt with belts and such as kids, but since everyone around me was getting them too, they didn't seem to bother me much.

I do know people who were raised in communities where everyone around them wasn't dealing with that and they do have a lot of pent up anger against their parents for it.

It is very sad.

Spanking was not such a difficult task for me to stop (I never really started anyway) but the yelling definitely is a challenge.

However, even my five year old is learning to calm down in school, so I simply:

Smell the flower
Blow out the candle.

It is impressive how much lighter and happier my kids are now that I conciously shut myself up when I can feel the yells coming on.

It is better for everyone.

But I do find myself having to give more consequences (like no electronics for a day - that is waaaaaay more effective than me losing it)

Thank you for your comment and I am sorry that your children had to deal with their mom being physical. Hopefully through your example, they will learn different and your grandchildren will be spared.

We don't hit or shout at our kid as a rule; I mean sometimes I lose my cool and shout if he's getting out of hand, but I can count on my right hand how many times that has been in his life. Not many.

I hear this. My dad was a shouter. He used to come in drunk as hell and scream all night at me for nothing. Doing it differently with my kid. Seems to be working :)

I am so happy to hear that it is working.

One thing that scared me while I was still a yeller, was that they would lose the sensitivity to the screams. Sometimes, if a kid is in danger (running too close to the street, running too far at the park, about to bump into something etc) yelling will catch their attention, but, if they are always yelled at, then your caution screams just blend into the background.

I appreciate your perspective, and would like to learn more about what you do instead of yelling.

I tend to remove stressors constantly to keep things nice and calm, however with three kids sharing a living space, consciousness has to trump environment.

I only have one kid, so I think it would be harder with three. There's a whole load of other dynamics in that -- I don't envy you haha.

We rarely shout, and in contrast to losing the sensitivity, my son perks up if I shout. Our house is generally quiet and my wife and I are peaceful and happy.

I don't do much really. I think the whole difference is that attitude I have on life. I'm rarely stressed, and try and look at everything from a well meaning perspective, and never get stuck in a negative cycle -- that transcends onto my son I think!

Quiet happy family that rarely fights with each other = quiet and happy kids. It's not about what we say, it's about how we act in front of him I think. Since my kid is a boy, it really matters how I behave.

But that's just us - outside our sphere, I have no idea lol

Just like you, I had to work at parenting and the oldest was the guinea pig
The poor thing... but I did apologise to her some years back

I don't yell at them....but I think I need to tone down on the nagging....
I knew I hated it as a teen....but sometimes I just don't know how to get through to them.....WIP :)

Congratulations Mama on No.4
(I think I'll never get tired of congratulating you <33.... so exciting)

Ahhhh, my oldest, probably my best sport.

It was however a lot easier with her as she was the the only one for six years...

The nagging... Now that I don't yell, I can hear myself nagging more, I will surely pay more attention.

Thank you for recognizing that we are all works in progress and thanks for the continued congratulations, it is definitely a bit of an adjustment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.31
ETH 3859.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65