You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ulog: No Yelling, No Spanking

This is a great message to send. I agree that there are certain ways to discipline a child and abuse is one of those things that sticks with a person for the rest of their lives. My parents were always the type to hand out spanking if we were bad, but a few times I remember catching a swift backhand from mom or a belt lashing from my very southern father.

I have never had to spank my kids, thankfully, but their mom has plenty of times in the past. They are now at the age where I really don't have to do much for them to listen to me because they are pretty well behaved.

Sort:  

I myself dealt with belts and such as kids, but since everyone around me was getting them too, they didn't seem to bother me much.

I do know people who were raised in communities where everyone around them wasn't dealing with that and they do have a lot of pent up anger against their parents for it.

It is very sad.

Spanking was not such a difficult task for me to stop (I never really started anyway) but the yelling definitely is a challenge.

However, even my five year old is learning to calm down in school, so I simply:

Smell the flower
Blow out the candle.

It is impressive how much lighter and happier my kids are now that I conciously shut myself up when I can feel the yells coming on.

It is better for everyone.

But I do find myself having to give more consequences (like no electronics for a day - that is waaaaaay more effective than me losing it)

Thank you for your comment and I am sorry that your children had to deal with their mom being physical. Hopefully through your example, they will learn different and your grandchildren will be spared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69