You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom or Safe Places

in #uglydebates7 years ago

"The blockchain promises visibility not payment."
that is a hard concept for people to see when you cant see past the money you could be earning. People like myself come for the un-censorship and enjoy the few cents I can make. Its a natural thing people today to want a safe space. Its also why facebook and others are so popular, they censor the few for a higher stock price. We need to be cognizant to the fact that if people want a safe space that other platforms are promising it might not mater how much you can make. Steemit is not competing against other platforms, Steemit is competing against censorship.
This makes me think, correct me if I am wrong, SMT's; if a person issues a SMT say a whatsup coin and the creator of the coin has 51% of the coins could that person flag and "control" the payouts and "visibility" of the posts in the whatsup coin posts on Steemit? Do you get what I am trying to say?

Sort:  

I do and you make several interesting points. The blockchain promises visibility not payments!!!" I loved that line.

I didn't see that at first either. It was like the concept had to grow on me. This isn't what I am used to and I haven't had a lot of chance to practice it yet.

The 51% point is also interesting. Yes, in this world 51% would rule.

So do you think SMTs will fix this "problem" of flagging if you just write a post and only except or use your own coin that you own 51%?

I think communities will be the first big step in helping the problem. A mod probably can't delete a comment from the blockchain, but with smart development they could remove it from the community. Maybe a moderator could "Out Flag" a flagger. Mostly though it breaks people into groups that fit their own level of tolerance.

exactly what I was hoping. I do not think the moderator will be a problem, it will great to have a wall for the group to keep out unwanted flaggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76