🔹 Alexander Vokov: All Aboard The Hype Train

in #ufc7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Alexander Volkov Revitalizes The Heavyweight Division


Last night Alexander Volkov, the second tallest UFC fighter TKO'd the tallest UFC fighter Stefan Struve who stands 7 feet tall (2.13 m). In the third round landed a pretty solid left and proceeded to unleash his forward moving flurry he's famous for. The fight was far more of a slugfest than I even expected it to be. After getting pretty badly rocked the first round Volkov managed to recover and win the fight handily.

The HW division has been lacking fresh blood for a while. The same names have remained on top, and with Cain still out of the picture and Derrick Lewis's winning streak put to an end there really was not much going on. Despite Stipe breaking the record for the most title defenses as a HW champion there still wasn't much excitement going on.

It looks like things are turning around now. First off we still have Francis Ngannou who has not lost in the UFC yet and whose hype train has not derailed. And we have new fresh hype to work off of thanks to Volkov. I mean I really underestimated this guy. He showed up and took the fight to Struve. He overcame the size advantage and he overcame the beating he took in the first round beautifully. He will likely never fight anyone taller than him again and I see bright things in his future. More important than the skill he displayed, he showed us his heart in this brutal slugfest of a fight, and what a heart it was.

"If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate a follow or an upvote, thank you for reading what I had to say"

More MMA News!

Why Jones Passing His Blood Test Doesn't Mean Much


UFC: Battle Of The Giants!


Max Kellerman Praises Conor McGregor

Sort:  

Great post, nice work done !! followed and upvoted you. if you like inspirational stories, please follow me!!

The HW division is becoming much more interesting. Good post. I feel for Stefan after overcoming so much in the last year.

Here are some related posts:


I'm the AskSteem Bot [BETA] - I try to be helpful but if you don't want me click my username and hit "mute". You can also leave feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64