My personal experience when it comes to power consumption of my computer comparing Ubuntu 23.10 and Windows 11.

in #ubuntu9 months ago

So, I just wanted to have fun here the other day, so I connected this tool for measuring the electricity consumption into my power supply and then connected my computer to the measurement tool. This immediately showed me the actual consumption of the connected device in WATT, so I decided to run Windows and then run Ubuntu.

I did both tests by just running the computer without doing much (besides opening and closing the web browser a couple of times).

image.png

Above you can see an image of the measurement tool as I am writing this article in Ubuntu. My computer currently consume 78W, which is a fairly okay score for a normal computer (not a laptop).

As I did the same test on my Windows computer, the number showed up between 85W and 95W. Of course, this is just a stupid test that I did on my own, but it seems to me as if in my situation, it is more power consuming, thus more expensive, to run my computer using Windows compared to using Ubuntu.

I have read quite a lot of opposite opinions from people saying that Windows is more power efficient due to driver support and more, but during my real life testing, this is what I experienced!

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44