Writers win 5 Steem! April 10th Twenty-four hour Short story contest-A little girl finds a strange new animal in her backyard and begs her parents to keep it as a pet.

 The 24 hour short story challenge

(But you'll get a little more time than that...)


I am fascinated by science fiction writer Harlen Ellison writing short stories in a book store window.  He wrote short stories with everyone watching for years, and people questioned if he already had the stories, so he began to take suggestions for topics from people watching.  Chris Carter of X-files fame gave him the topic of a 102-year-old pregnant corpse, and he wrote a story based on that idea.


I am giving a little time  more this go around, as I want to give the chance for more entries and to get the word out a little more.
Check out the entries from last week's contest.

Here are the terms of the contest.

Write a short story no longer than 2,000 words, based on the topic phrase.

Here is the topic for you short story:

A little girl finds a strange new animal in her backyard and begs her parents to keep it as a pet.

Here are the rules for entry

1. Upvote this post.  

2. Resteem this post  (And actually even you don't enter this contest and you read this post, resteeming this would be greatly appreciated to get the word out for more participants.  Thanks!)

3. In your post put a link to this post.  

4. Post a link to your story in the comments below.


Entries are due by 9 p.m. EST (New York/D.C. Time) Tuesday April 10.  This actually gives you a little over 48 hours from when I make this post.  But I want to give more time to allow for more people to enter the contest. Use the tag twentyfourhourshortstory for your first tag.  (Don't use # before the tag or it goes over the 24 character limit.  24...24 hour short story contest...Ironic don't you think...)

Feel free to use other tags as you wish.

Prizes are:5 Steem for First Place.

3 Steem for Second Place And depending on how many entries I receive I may give out Steem for other entries.  But again that all depends on the amount and quality of posts.

(I am personally putting up the rewards for this contest, there be no whales here capt’in.  So upvoting and resteeming helps keep this thing going.)

So please upvote with as much power as you can.  That helps fund the contest.


Thanks and Good Luck!   If you want to learn more about Harlen Ellisontake a look at his epic retro website.   

Sort:  

Hello, This is my entry for the Twenty Four Hour Short Story Writing Contest.
https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@henry-gant/henry-gant-man-about-town-this-episode-twenty-four-hour-short-story-contest

I hope you enjoy it.

H. G.

Upvoted and resteemed.

I love the new idea of putting the link to the contest in the post. Upvoted. Resteemed.
C'mon Steem writers...game on.
Joy

Hello @mctiller.
Here is my entry
https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@blog-beginner/my-first-attempt-to-writing-a-fiction-story-sally-and-arpito
I think I am 18 minutes late but I hope you accept this. This is my first attempt and took me long enough to wrap it up in time. I had so much more to write.

Hi! my dear @mctiller! I have few power... But I can still resteem and try upvote! Cheers!

Every little bit helps! Thank you!

let's see what we can do.

:)

I'm back to Steemit MC! Glad to see I have a chance to win some Steem!

Writing a story was never my cup of tea. But the topic sounds interesting and I'm gonna give it a shot. Good contest.

¡Resteemed!

me gustaria participar en el concurso pero para el próximo con curso si, participo saludos desde Venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83