A Pumpkin’s Journey - 24Hr short story contest

A Pumpkins Journey


marius-ciocirlan-398900-unsplash-ban.png


I started out as a simple seed. I was a lucky seedling in the ways of the world, for I was chosen to be planted and not eaten.

The farmers spread me and my brethren far and wide into a field of rises and fallows. There were days of harsh winds and rain but still, I remained buried. The birds came and took some away but I remained firm. The sunshine shone and baked the ground until there was no water left. And then the rain returned and we sang in our beds.

I grew slowly at first and then there was nothing to stop my progress. I grew and I grew until I was big and bright and orange.

On the day of the picking, the children ran between the rows. I was lucky to not be trodden on.

A small boy stopped by my row and pointed at my neighbor but the taller people wanted me instead. They took me home. I was happy.

Then one day they placed me on the table and all took turns to hurt me. First, my top and stalk were taken, then they scooped out my insides until there was nothing left. Then they carved into my skin and left strange shaped holes.

They put a candle in me and left me outside on the doorstep. I was not alone for they had butchered two others, each had similar symbols carved into them. They cried the same tortured cry that I made myself.

For I was no longer a pumpkin. I was a jack-o-lantern.

divider-2154993_640-small.png

This is my entry to @mctiller’s 24 Hour Short Story Contest.

Find out about the contest here.

Image from Unsplash

Divider.

Mizu no Oto Gaby banner.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @gaby-crb! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

Poor little pumpkin dude and his buddies! getting to see what they did to him on the faces of his friends! The immortal pumpkins, oooo, and now they get to slowly burn up from the inside while their faces rot and sag! So very Halloween appropriate!

I enjoyed the fairy tale like take on the prompt @gaby-crb

and entered in the Halloween contest...thanks, Gaby!

Dear @gaby-crb: I just voted for your story, 6 days too late! Sorry I didn't get here sooner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70