Travels With Catweasel #1 12 Question Challenge

in #twelvequestionchallenge6 years ago (edited)

I'm not so good with titles, so I just went with something I know. That's why.

Come to think of it, I'm not so good with these challenge things either. Looking at the flashing cursor I'm wondering what I was thinking? I guess I know. When there was no cursor my thought was 'how hard can this be?'
I really can't tell you the answer to that question, but I can SHOW you. Proof to follow.

One nice thing about working with a Catweasel challenge format can go out the window. SultnPappa was the first to respond and he tossed a monkey wrench in the gears pretty well so I'll throw another in for good measure.

I challenge @zen-art, @princessmewmew and BroncoFan99. You don't have to sort through this whole mess to accept, but you might want to take a look at the questions down at the bottom before you start writing. I mean it is about the questions after all. I mean the parts that aren't about me. Which is pretty important in the overall scheme of things.



Source

No particular reason, I have just always liked Chuck Taylor All Stars

Without further ado, my 12 questions. Actually Catweasel's questions, my answers

What 3 meals would you have before heading to the International Space Station?

I think I would start in Cottonwood, Arizona at an upscale place named Randall's. It's in a strip mall and I think it may have once been a car dealership, but their 'Chili Verde Chicken Fried Steak' is to die for. An in house prepared Chicken Fried Steak smothered with Chili Verde (Green Chili) and topped with cheese. It ticks all the food pyramid boxes. I honestly don't know a thing about the rest of their menu because I had it the first time there and every time since.

Next would be the Alamo Restaurant in Salton City, CA. It isn't authentic Mexican food, it IS Mexican food. No bad choices on this menu. And it looks like a boat pointed at the Salton Sea.

Last but certainly not least would be Arthur Bryant's in Kansas City, MO. Best BBQ ever. You all can keep your pretenders, Arthur's wins. The New York Times rated it #1 in America in the 70s. Arthur is gone now, but his Granddaughter keeps the place going just fine. Last time there I got 10 pounds of ribs for the road and didn't have to stop to eat till I got home.

What section of the newspaper would you be?

Comics. Not cause I'm particularly funny, but I always think I am. Like today's comics. Not particularly funny, but I keep trying.

If you were immortal, what age would you choose to stop ageing at and why?

At 33. I was just a stud physically, there was simply nothing I couldn't do.
Broad at the shoulder and narrow at the hip,
everybody knew you didn't give no lip
to Big Tom.

What sport would you compete in, if you were in the Olympics?

The 100 Meter Dash. I was born slow and slowed down. I always ran pretty fast just-too long in one place. I'd like to see how the other half lives.

If you had to go back in time to live the rest of your life where/when would you go?

Hardest question in the batch. One million BC? I'd love to see what the world really looked like, and maybe I'd run into Raquel Welch. Nah. I believe I'd head for the 1770s when the US was born. Those guys threw off a Monarchy and nobody had ever even thought about doing that. Life without a King? Preposterous.

If time and money were no barrier what would you create?

A clean burning power source. I hope we haven't fouled our nest beyond redemption. Might as well make it turn some Horsepower while I'm at it, a little fun is good for all of us.

Have you ever completed anything on your bucket list?

At my age, my list better be a hell of a lot closer to done that not. I'm not at the end of the road, but I can see it from where I stand. Yes, I have completed much of my list. Not least among them is that I saw Peggy Flemming and Dorthy Hamil skate and Olga Korbut and Nadia Comaneche on the balance beam in the same year.

What would be the most surprising scientific discovery imaginable?

That Quarks are made of something and are not the smallest particles of matter.

Are you a good witch or a bad witch?

That depends on which definition of witch you go which. I'd guess I'm a good whitch unless I'm not, in which case I am a bad witch. Unless I can be a pure vanilla 'neither' witch.

If you had to teach a class on one thing, what would you teach?

Driver's Education. Look the hell out for motorcycles people! The life you save could be mine.

Which band/artist – dead or alive would play at your funeral?

Rolling Stones. If I get a funeral Sympathy for the Devil will be played. Shattered, probably also. Keith Richards having been completely embalmed by the age of 30 could have been the Scientific Discovery from above.

What book or movie read/seen recently would you recommend and why?

The Signal and the Noise by Mitch Silver. I am a stats and predictions geek and just can't help myself. Mitch Silver is the Guru and wrote a really good book about probabilities. Did you know that the worst, the very worst statistical predictions are by economists? Much worse than weathermen and bookies. He unfortunately did not include crypto predictions in his study.

Here are the questions:

What 3 meals would you have before heading to the International Space Station?
What section of the newspaper would you be?
If you were immortal, what age would you choose to stop ageing at and why?
What sport would you compete in, if you were in the Olympics?
If you had to go back in time to live the rest of your life where/when would you go?
If time and money were no barrier what would you create?
Have you ever completed anything on your bucket list?
What would be the most surprising scientific discovery imaginable?
Are you a good witch or a bad witch?
If you had to teach a class on one thing, what would you teach?
Which band/artist – dead or alive would play at your funeral?
What book or movie read/seen recently would you recommend and why

And here are the rules set by Catweasel:

Answer each of the 12 questions.
Nominate 3 or more victims.
Acknowledge (this rule does that) the originator of these questions, @hobotang. His is the best introduceyourself post I have read, possibly better than mine.
Include the questions.
Include the rules.
Tag your post with #twelvequestions

And for crying out loud, you don't have to be challenged to do this thing. If the spirit moves you, write the post. If something else moves you take two aspirin and check with Catweasel. He's a doctor.

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

I would be ever so grateful if you would change the rules and change one of the tags. Not the first tag, you are stuck with that, but I want you included with all the other #twelvequestions.

And here are the rules set by Catweasel (edited):

  1. Answer each of the 12 questions.
  2. Nominate 3 or more victims.
  3. Acknowledge (this rule does that) the originator of these questions, @hobotang. His is the best introduceyourself post I have read, possibly better than mine.
  4. Include the questions.
  5. Include the rules.
  6. Tag your post with #twelvequestions

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Done. As many of you know, I am capable of screwing up a two car funeral procession so the tag snafu ought to be no great surprise. I forgot that if you use # you can use numbers.

I enjoy your flavor of humor :)

Leave it to CW to come up with this!

Lotta fun, I got to tell you. Really good questions.

Interesting challenge and interesting answers!
Haha I enjoyed reading that. :D

Glad you liked it. I sure had fun.

Loading...

Very Interesting article @bigtom13 with some profound answers. I especially like the 3 meals you would have before visiting the space station. Now I would probably go to Roscoes Chicken and Waffles for one, then Hop Louie's Chinese Restaurant second and then Taco Ready for Mexican food last. Sounds good, When is the next trip? Thanks for sharing.

I just collect 'Mom and Pop' restaurants, it's like eating at their homes. Arthur Bryant's is bigger than that, but I was fortunate enough to have a sandwich served by Arthur. There is just a bit more to the story. Arthur was a black man and his restaurant was in the same building that housed the Slave Auction in KC. Gave Arthur no end of pleasure that a Black Man owned that building.

This challenge is quite interesting. What's up there.? Those answers are really nice 👍 @bigtom13

Thanks steepup! I had fun doing it..A guy has to have some fun :)

Yep sir, I agree with you.

Thank you for the nomination, this does look like a fun thing to do. I am not sure when I will find the time to do it but I will have it in my mind ;) Sympathy for the Devil at your funeral? LOL, oh and stopping aging at 33? I am 33 and I agree with you :D

I really hope you do. With all seriousness I would love to hear your answers.

Yes. Sympathy for the Devil will play at my funeral if I have one. My brother knows my wishes as does his oldest son. It's my ringtone on my phone!

I settled on 33 because it is just half my age. Seemed somehow appropriate.

Those red Chuck Taylor All Stars are high tops, right? Old men need the ankle support.
Nice answers, but a clean burning power source has already been discovered, and has been around for years. That would be moonshine, good moonshine burns so clean that you can't even see the flame when it is on fire, and it produces a lot of power, mostly just uncontrollable drunk hillbillies though so that part of the equation needs some tweaking though.
The Indy 500 is this weekend and those cars all run on the chemical company equivalent of moonshine known as methanol.
Have a good one, one last thought, those meals might even produce some fuel, maybe not as clean burning as you hope for though.

Of course they are high tops. The cool factor alone makes them great!

You are right about the fuel source. I worked on an Alcohol Dragster for a couple of years. NHRA estimated our HP at 1760 out of a Keith Black 426 Hemi. It could make a 1700 lb car move out pretty well.

And, I am always pointed the right direction to maximize my boost when I eat at those three places.

I was in to drag racing years ago as well, my father in law was a IHRA world champion back in the 60's but I only worked on NHRA cars.

Wow, that is something of a challenge but some questions are interesting.

Section of the newspaper - horoscopes, I like fun stuff.
Age of immortality - 65, approximately. Why? Why not...

Why you mean it that you not so good. I not mean it. Because you are always a helpful man and I like you. Thanks Bro.

Well, it's a little out of my expertise. I did have fun with this.

Well done Bro. Thanks.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 82 SBD worth and should receive 177 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65