Music & TV Way Back Challenges (for TWB)

in #tvshowwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

For TWB?

Yes TWB. @thewritersblock. This is a seven day challenge and to help @gmuxx pay back his loan to get over here from Europe, I will send all the liquid SBD proceeds from all 7 posts of this challenge to The Writer's Block. I want to meet you too man, and I will, so this is my way of saying thanks for making the sacrifice to come and helping out. I know it can't be easy, I've done my fair share of traveling abroad and expect it will be commonplace again soon enough. See you soon!

Wayyyy Back

This is day one of both my #tvshowwaybackchallenge (initiated by @saffisara) and the #musicwaybackchallenge (started by @greek-trail). Since Sara tagged me for both of these (thanks hun), and I promised I would do them, I am making them both in the same post(s). So, here we go!

The Music

I have several iconic points of my life where songs say a lot. Some as early as 3 years old so I changed the first 'rule' down there to 'youth' instead of high school/college years. That being said, I have very fond memories of one song in particular that my parents would play often when we lived in Fort Jackson. They sometimes would dance, but mostly I recall sitting on the porch with them as the sun would go down and listening to "Summer Breeze" by Seals & Croft. Still causes the eyes to um...ya dust.

➿🎵➿➿🎵➿➿🎵➿➿🎵➿➿🎵➿

The chorus :

Summer Breeze...makes me feel fine
Blowing through the Jasmine in my mind

➿🎵➿➿🎵➿➿🎵➿➿🎵➿➿🎵➿

The Boob Tube

The earliest thing I remember watching was good old Hanna Barbara. No, not the Flintstones. And no, not the Jetsons. I actually didn't like either of those. I was a huge fan of Scooby Doo! That was the cartoon I got up for Saturday mornings. Velma was and always will be my fav. She was smart, and hid her cute little self behind books and brains. Even young, I respected that critical thinking and problem solving was a major plus to have. And she always said "Jinkies", so that kept me coming back too LOL!

You can join either of these challenges too by following the rules/guidelines:

  1. ➿ Choose one song or television show from any point in your youth.

  2. ➿ Write a few words about when & where you heard the song or watched the show for the first time, what it means to you, and/or why it holds a spot in your memories.

  3. ➿ Try to write your text while listening to the song or watching an episode. As soon as it ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.

  4. ➿ Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

  5. ➿ Mention one person who should do this on each day.

  6. ➿ Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge or #tvshowwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

You're Tagged!

Since this is two challenges, I'm tagging two people. You can do both or pick one, but I hope you participate. Let's see, let's see, let's see... we'll go with new fam @calumam and old school ally @phelimint. Am curious what y'all were into back in the day. STeeM oN my peoples!


CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES PIRATES


DQmYGeUdDTwuzUBDxvDdiAPxzbpA5i36RH4vzQiENpNA3k4.gif
@snook made this badass gif
@enginewitty #thealliance witness.png

Sort:  

Scooby Doo is the best! Superb choice for the TV Throwback challenge, I have pretty much every episode ever from the tv shows to all the films - sadly my boy at 8 has grown out of them and is far more interested in the YouTube gaming channels - so I will have to sit and re watch them without a good excuse any more! My favourite film Scooby Doo was the Rock and Roll mysteries with Kiss - that is a great watch. In fact, that gives me a Bad Karaoke idea!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.4$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Oh wow, thank you very much @enginewitty!

Do what I can my man, most welcome.

Ooooh. . . and this is why we love you, @enginewitty! This is brilliant! And sounds like a heck of a lot of fun, too.

You know I had to Google me up some Seals & Crofts, too. . . .

Wait til you see the next song ;) And I love you back!

It was really a tossup between this one and Hummingbird, remember them both, but I think more people have heard this one :P

I'm now down the rabbit hole in an S&C playlist. . . .

LMFAO, my bad... takes ya back tho right?

Heck yeah, it does.

yes!! scooby doo!!

What she said. ^^ scooby doo is still hilarious. ;)

@katrina-ariel hahaah you crack meee upppp ... i tried to find the perfect gif but gave up ... i just had to shake my head and let it go .. most were whitney houston making funny faces or Prince .. both sadly gone now. yay for scooby snacks!! had to change that sad subject. :)

Right? Scooby dooby doo, where are you...

Think I'll have to stick with music since I didn't watch a great deal of TV. but I'm down for this challenge.

This is going to be interesting...

Summer Breeze" by Seals & Croft gets a big thumbs up from me. I recognize the tune but don't think I've listened to it before so thanks for that one :D

Sure thing buddy! Was a number one hit here in the states and my mom just fell in love with it.

As always making it your way 😊 Great idea to do them both in one post... I think I will do that too.. Lol
I love that song and I can se why you choose it. Great memory for you as well. I honestly haven't heard that song untill you shared it ones in my beginning here.
And the TV show... Who doesn't loove Scooby-Doo? 📺😉 Loved that one.
I never saw Flintstone eather wasn't my favorite
But Scooby-Doo was fun and mysterious... Lol
Brilliant ❤️

You remember that? Awesomeness! Mystery Machine rocking out! We got a guy here in town that painted his van like their bus and it looks totally sweet. One of these days I'll have to stop and take a snapshot of it :P

Yes I remember... Has a weard memory and can remember things from way back... Lol
That's so cool that he has a van like Scooby-Doo.... Should be fun to se if you manage to capture it on picture 😉
Snapshot? As in that ap? Never got that one.. Lol

Snapshot=picture=photograph :)

That was seriously last year some time. I'm all old and I knew I talked to someone about it. Glad you remember who it was!

big hugs

I'm not one to back down from a challenge, give me a couple days and let me see what I can whip up. Thanks for the tag man!

Yessir yessir, you gonna do the music or tv or both?

Scooby Doo is the best! Superb choice for the TV Throwback challenge, I have pretty much every episode ever from the tv shows to all the films - sadly my boy at 8 has grown out of them and is far more interested in the YouTube gaming channels - so I will have to sit and re watch them without a good excuse any more! My favourite film Scooby Doo was the Rock and Roll mysteries with Kiss - that is a great watch. In fact, that gives me a Bad Karaoke idea!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Roooby Roooo! I have a sudden craving for some Scooby Snacks lol! They actually have those here. Not like biscuits, but they're fruit snacks😎

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44