[TV Discovery] Hey Arnold!

in #tvdiscovery6 years ago (edited)

Every now and then, I like to cover one of the shows from my youth, even if it does enforce the fact I am a 90s kid. Nickelodeon was like a friend to me from a young age, name a show (that aired in the UK) on Nickelodeon from the 90s and I'll have seen it, dozens of times. This time, I'd like to tell you about a great show that I was pleasantly surprised to find out still stands up as a solid programme even today; Hey Arnold!

Hey Arnold! follows the adventures of Arnold, a fourth-grader who lives with his grandparents in an inner-city boarding house crammed full of interesting characters. There's also his school friends, such as Gerald his best friend, and Helga, his one part bully, two parts secret admirer. These days if you hear football head, it's usually in reference to Stewie from Family Guy, but Arnold is the OG football head.

The individual stories for each episode, at least for the first couple of seasons, are really well written, often fleshing out one of the many characters from this world. A great example of that is the Christmas episode from the first season, where Arnold gets Mr Hyunh, one of the boarders, as a secret santa, only to discover that his daughter was taken from him. This makes Arnold want to track her down, and so through a classic TV trope he ends up finding out where she is. The reintroduction of Mr Hyunh with his daughter is a genuinely touching scene that many dramas could take a note or two from.

I can't talk about this show without talking about Arnold's room. Holy mother of Bieber I wanted that room so bad growing up (and still do). His room was the attic of the boarding house, kitted out with some rather impressive tech for a mid-90s kids bedroom. His sofa would retract into his wall via remote, there was a ladder from his bed to the roof, oh and the sky light! I'd still happily live in that room if truth be told. One other thing that should probably be addressed, that isn't a skirt or kilt that he wears, but his shirt. That sparked a few playground arguments.

As I said at the beginning of this post, I was really happy to find out that this show is just as watchable today as it was back then. Don't get me wrong, I'm not going to be binging all 5 seasons anytime soon (I still can't believe it was that many, felt like a lot fewer) but when there's nothing else on and you feel like something nice, maybe after a particularly vicious horror film,Hey Arnold! will definitely do the job. I decided to revisit this old gem after I read that they had finally released the long awaited Jungle Movie, which had become something of a lost piece of media as far as I was aware. It was given an actual release last year, roughly 13 years after the show was last on the air. I haven't watched it myself yet, but if it's either very good or horribly bad I may do an actual review on it. maybe.


Did you catch Hey Arnold! in your youth? or maybe as an adult? I don't know about you, but I'm looking forward to watching the long awaited movie! Let me know your thoughts and feelings down below, and I'll see you in the comments. As always, make sure to follow me for the latest Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates and if you're a fan of strange/interesting YouTube videos, you might want to follow me on Twitter.

Oh, and as a side note, I'm trying to get a new tag started; #tvdiscovery so if you write posts about shows you enjoy and others might too, then add the #tvdiscovery tag to your posts. I'll be keeping an eye on the tag for new content, so expect a helping hand if you do join. Until we meet again, take it easy!



Enjoyed this? More [TV Discovery]

[TV Discovery] 12 Monkeys

[TV Discovery] Brad Neely's Harg Nallin' Sclopio Peepio

[TV Discovery] BoJack Horseman

[TV Discovery] Person of Interest

[TV Discovery] Arrested Development

[TV Discovery] Colony

[TV Discovery] Are You Afraid of the Dark?

[TV Discovery] Look Around You

[TV Discovery] Lost

[TV Discovery] The Fast Show

[TV Discovery] Mr Robot

[TV Discovery] The Terror

[TV Discovery] Legion

[TV Discovery] Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

[TV Profile] The Path

[TV Profile] The Prisoner

[TV Profile] Nathan For You



P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.


Sources:
Hey Arnold! on Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hey_Arnold!)
Image from Buzzfeed (https://www.buzzfeed.com/caseyrackham/move-it-football-head)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

omg!!! i actually watched the Hey Arnold movie only the other day.. and his sofa flip to secret hide out was the dream!!!!! love all things nickelodeon!!! have you seen the comparison from their head office in the 90's to their head office now. it's so sad

I only found out the movie existed the other day, really looking forward to it. I need to rewatch the rest of the show first though, it's like a compulsion!

No I haven't, although I have seen an urban explorer looking around the old studios, and it's just heartbreaking. Is Nickelodeon anything like it used to be these days?

This brings me a lot of nostalgia. It's one of my favorite series.

Haha, I remember Hey Arnold!

I think we get something else out of it now we are older. Like this gem:

Totally did not notice that when watching it as kid.

haha oh my god that is unbelievably creepy. Yeah, definitely didn't pick up on that as a kid!

Wonder what adults used to see in those cartoons, eh?

I often think that, I also worry about my parents letting me watch things like Ren & Stimpy... that shit is weird.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

That's a fun thing to do actually. Although I don't know hey arnold myself lol. Wondering if it may have been before my time? :)

Maybe, although I think it's still airing to this day, apparently my niece is a fan of it too. Definitely worth checking out though if you can find it, it's really well written and has a cool jazzy soundtrack to go with it.

I will have a look, thanks! There are some other cartoons that I did not understand growing up. But when I look at them now I find them fun :) lol.. so it's worth to have a look hehe

Yeah absolutely, it's fun spotting the "adult" jokes you missed as a kid. Rugrats is another one that I've been meaning to watch and see how it compares now.

Yes haha, now it all makes sense then when watching these things lol.. I know exactly what you mean :)

You just planted 0.14 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3143.04 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 21497.11
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89