[TV Discovery] Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle was a British comedy series that featured a mix of stand up and sketches. It aired between 2009 and 2016 with four seasons, but unfortunately due to budget cuts at the BBC, it wasn't renewed for a fifth season.

Stewart Lee himself is often referred to as the comedian's comedian, as he incorporates a mix of observational comedy with metahumour, often using "callbacks" to earlier comedic statements. He's not really a joke kinda guy. He uses irony an awful lot, to the point many people will fail to see the humour in his sets. He'll often criticize the audience for not being intelligent enough to understand the joke, frequently stating that they'd prefer more simplistic material or the work of more mainstream "arena" comedians. He is also very proud of the fact that he writes all his own material, often slamming more popular British comedians for using writers who aren't credited.

If you're a fan of "dry" humour, then you will most likely enjoy this show. I don't know if many of his observations will translate to a non-British audience, but it's certainly worth exploring if you enjoy stand-up comedy. The show itself is broken up between stand-up filmed at a working man's club in London near where Lee lives, and sketches written by Lee himself but more usually performed by Kevin Eldon and Paul Putner with cameos from other TV and circuit comedians. After season 2, the show was mainly comprised of stand-up mixed in with a fake interview between Lee and a skeptical interviewer.



Have you seen this show? Or have you seen any other comedy stand-up based shows that you think I might enjoy? Let me know in the comments down below, and as a side note, I'm trying to get a new tag started; #tvdiscovery so if you write posts about shows you enjoy and others might too, then add the #tvdiscovery tag to your posts. I often find the #TV tag to be a bit cluttered. Anyway, as always make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Internet and Pop Culture updates. Until next time, Peace!

All images are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Nice I like stand up every now and again.I really enjoy the stand up by Michael Mcintyre! and Ricky Gervais but hes a bit hit and miss....

I wondered how the 'fair use' worked.. thanks for that! DO you know if im sharing music and want to use the album covers if thats ok?

I never quite got into Michael McIntyre, and I am totally with you on Ricky Gervais. I really enjoy the Ricky Gervais show that aired on HBO, but he can come across as a bit of a knob at times.

As far as I'm aware, it's absolutely fine to use album covers when sharing music. I can't see any record company taking issue with that, especially if the post is discussing or reviewing the music. I usually just go to Wikipedia and use the image from there as they're usually held in the Wikimedia Commons library, which are all free-to-use.

Feel free to use that finishing paragraph in your posts, it's a good thing to spread awareness of Fair Use.

Yeah Ricky Gervais seems a bit full of himself .. used to watch little britain years back - did you ever see Come Fly with me? Was the two main guys from little Britain, i liked it.

Thanks!

I used to watch Little Britain, but I don't know if it's aged that well. I was always more of a Fast Show kinda guy anyway. I vaguely remember catching Come Fly With Me when it first aired however many years ago that was now, it didn't grab me the same though. I love Matt Lucas (the bald fat one) but there's something about David Walliams that rubs me up the wrong way.
There was a sort of comedy panel show that aired on the BBC way back called Shooting Stars, if you can find any episodes of that you should give it a go. So weird but hilarious.

Havent watched in years so I reckon it probably wont be as funny. I rememeber watching Sienfield and married with children when I was younger and trying to watch them again a few years ago - still funny but just not the same!

Yeah I liked Come Fly with Me I dont know how well it did though....

Sweet il try and find it but we only have Netflix here and the selection isnt the best!

I started watching a youtube video about the Little Britain PS2 game yesterday, and the guys playing it were also of the opinion it's not really aged that well. I think even David Walliams has gone on record as saying he regrets it lol, it was funny at the time!

I never watched Seinfeld, I don't think it aired over here. I know a bit about it through nerd osmosis, although I did catch Curb Your Enthusiasm.

I've just checked my Netflix and it isn't there which is a shame.

Lol was definitely funny at the time. Kinda like mad tv - was good when i was young but bet its awful now!

Did you ever watch the jamie Kennedy experiment? I used to love that!

Ive watched a few curb your enthusiasm they are clever i think alot of people wouldnt get his style of humor - very dry

Mad TV was one of those I've never seen but kinda wanna. I've heard of the Jamie Kennedy experiment but again not watched it, would you recommend it?
I'm all about the dry humour, although CYE did take a bit of getting into for me. It's like It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, the first 3 seasons of that I just kept asking myself "what the hell am i watching?" but now I love it!

By the way I found the best way to get people using the #musicdiscovery tag was to find people already posting music and direct them to my tag - not being to spammy about it tho!

So maybe this could be the way to try and get traffic to this tag too?

Thanks! I've left comments on a couple of people's posts, I'll keep an eye out for fitting posts and contact people as they pop up =]

Cool. If i see anyone posting about tv shows il direct them to the tag aswell ☺

I'd really appreciate that, cheers bud!
On a different note, I'm heartbroken that I've spent the last 8 years not listening to A Thousand Suns. I'm a fan of concept albums, and that really vibed with me.

No problems :)

Glad you enjoyed - as I said its one of the most under rated albums of theirs.. didnt seem to do to well commercially. Most people just fixated on Hybrid Theory.

Do you know many concept albums? Im a big fan and I could give you a big list to listen to lol.

One of favorite earlier ones is definetly 'Welcome to my Nightmare' by Alice Cooper

For me, I stopped paying attention to Linkin Park around the time of Minutes to Midnight. It's a shame this one went under the radar.

My all-time favourite has to be The Wall by Pink Floyd, I dread to think how many times I've listened to that one. Another favourite of mine is Is A Real Boy/Was A Real Boy by Say Anything. It's definitely worth checking out if you haven't heard of them.

You've given me another one to add to my list there, I've never really listened to Alice Cooper so I'll have to give that one a go.

Minutes to midnight wasnt their best work. Fair enough - The wall is brilliant! Havent heard of them il look them up tommorow.

Alice Cooper is brilliant -seen him live twice. Such a showman! He has like 20 albums the ones i like are welcome to my nightmare, trash and Along came a spider one of his newer albums and also a concept album

Is/Was a Real Boy is probably one of my favourite albums, there's one track in particular called "Wow, I Can Get Sexual Too".

I've just added Alice Cooper's discography to my Google Play Music account so i'll start on them this coming week, I've been after some new artists recently and you've given me so much to listen to!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 71.43% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @johngreenfield. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3784.44 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18646.35
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91