Droppin' Cash (Netflix series): It's entertaining if you like to feel extremely jealous

in #tv5 years ago

I wouldn't normally even bother with a show like this but Netflix "recommended" it to me at the top of my list and well, I made a promise in February that I would watch anything (annn-neee-thing-gah) that they send my way.

At first I was thinking "well, this is just going to annoy me," but it is actually pretty entertaining. However, I have to presume that most of the people on here can't just jump up and spend $4000 on an arcade machine so there could end up being a tinge of jealousy in your mind at the end of an episode.

06c010c8bf6353dfaf16a585d0615330.jpg
source

The premise behind this show isn't terribly complicated: It is a show about celebrities (in this particular instance they are rather minor hip-hop stars) going around and spending money on lavish stuff that the rest of us could only dream of possessing.


source

Ever thought about randomly spending 20,000 dollars on a custom made quad-bike? Yeah, me neither. But this series of the modern-day "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" has things exactly like that happening.

I don't think the purchases are genuine to be honest with you because what are the chances that everyone in the show just happens to have a bank-sealed stack of hundreds for every purchase that they make?

9eab1e81240cec2bf49320443218f4c4ce0aa144.jpg
source

So far, my favorite episode is number 3 where Chief Keef is the "star" of the show (and i gotta be honest, i have no idea who that is.) When the film crew turns up at Keef's house, the place is a mess. Dude didn't even clean up to be involved in a television program.

The reason why I like this episode isn't just because he obviously doesn't care what people think of him but also because his entire house is filled with gaming rigs. I mean every single TV has an Xbox 1 or PS4 attached to it and he even has custom made arcade machines all over the place.

At the end of the episode he decides to buy a motorcycle racing game for $4000 or so and of course he pays with cash, which is yet again wrapped in bank bands. I gotta call BS on this - i don't believe that these fellas are actually buying this stuff.

I later looked into it and found out that Chief Keef only makes around 150,000 dollars a year, which is nothing to scoff at, but certainly not the sort of super-rich persona that can just go and buy $4,000 video games because he kinda liked it.

Basically, this show isn't exactly a new concept and based on the repetitive buying everything with stacks of wrapped cash I can't help but think that all of this is staged and maybe that makes me feel a bit better.

However, the show does move quickly. They do interview these "stars" in the car en route to where they are making their purchases and perhaps this is just promotional banter for the artists. Of course the fact that they are traveling in a pimped out Chevy Suburban is pointed out to us a LOT and maybe that is where the stacks of hundred dollar bills are actually coming from.

anyway, this show is a bit stupid, but I gotta say.... i was entertained. They do a good job of keeping the audience interested with their constant display of affluence that all of us are extremely unlikely to ever possess. While it does make me a bit jealous, I can say that this show is actually worth watching.... for a bit

It's only 22 minutes after all.

download.jpg

Sort:  

Kind of reminds me of "Cribs" from back in the day. That used to actually be a little entertaining. Maybe even "Life Styles" with Robin Leach before that. I remember that show being on as a kid. Talk about crazy. The shows that really make my blood boil are the ones you see all the memes about. You know, house hunters on HGTV, I am a stay at home mom and my husband trims bonsai trees for a living, our budget is 5.8 million :P

hilarious! Yeah, that House Hunters show never made sense to me either. Where do you guys get all this money from? I guess we should have learned how to trim bonsai trees. lol

Cribs was the first thing i thought of too. Something that kind of surprised me was that there were certain celebrities whose houses weren't even very special. One of them was LL Cool J and he seemed like an exceptionally intelligent dude in a financial sense. He didn't have a fleet of Bentley cars, he had a Honda Accord.

Then there was Seann William Scott (Stiffler from American Pie) and he was living in a horrible apartment and had a non famous room-mate. That one was hilarious.

Heard like a intresting series. You was jealous after seen the series?

well, after seeing the house of the guy who had a bunch of arcades yes. But then I come back to earth after the show and realize that I don't really care and then realize that this guy will probably be bankrupt in a few years as soon as the music industry abandons him.

I would say that most, if not all of, the cash being thrown around on the show is from Netflix or whoever else is is invested in the show behind the scenes. Because they know they'll recoup the costs in advertisements and through other avenues.

Such is pseudo-culture being sold by entertainment media and the progressive waves of idiots go as fast as they can to praise garbage "reality" shows like this. The show appeals to a very specific demographic of fools who are easily separated from their money. They are the fools of their own cultural idiocracy.

very nicely put and I agree. While it doesn't do so exclusively, the show focuses primarily on hip hip artists and very much glorifies these people's excessive spending habits, which since it is quite obvious that it isn't even their own money, isn't really even a representation of the people at all.

I know this probably sounds hokey, but where are the shows celebrating actual achievement in some other, far more meaningful capacity?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41