Women of the world, Can you beat this?

in #tunisia6 years ago


source

I grew up as the second smartest student in the class, because the smartest was a girl who used to get higher marks than mine every year. Only two or three of the top ten were boys in most of the primary school classes. So from a very young age, if you ask a Tunisian boy about whether it’s right to say that boys are smarter than girls, he would laugh at you!

If you check Science baccalaureate classes you will find 5 boys and 25 girls in the average. If you check medical, paramedical or pharmacological universities you will find a similar majority of female students AND professors. The opposite applies only to technology universities but this is still remarkable.

Now I work in a factory where most of the bosses are women, maybe that’s why most of the new recruits are girls😏. Of course this is not a general case, but neither is the opposite.

So many NGO’s I know, or I’m member of, have women presidents.

It’s so hard to offend women in a country that was founded by a woman. You can ask google about “Elissa of Carthage” (known also as “Dido”).

It’s hard to offend women in a country where a political party can not run for parliament or for any local or regional authority if it doesn’t have equal number of women and men in it’s list or if it doesn’t have equal number of women and men as “head of the list” if the party has many lists in many places in Tunisia.

This is Tunisia, an Arab, Muslim, African country. How many countries in the world can beat this?

Because that’s what countries should be competing on 😉


source

You think you have something to say about womens rights, gender inequality or Women Heroes but you're hesitating?
Chek @beanz 's challenge here or join femini-steem discord server and you'll get motivated 😉 Well that's what happened to me anyway.

Sort:  

I love the photograph included. In the western world there is a lot of prejudice towards these hijabs, because it is assumed "sexist" because there may be in the past or present a law enforced to make them wear them, and these women who wear them simply because it is their cultural heritage often have to fight for the right or acceptance to keep wearing it in the west.

Here we have 3 stunning women, clearly free to dress their headwear as they please.

In fact Hijab was forbidden in Tunisia 7 years earlier (before the revolution) so women here are kind of enjoying their right to wear it and, as you can see, they're not "forced" at all.

By the way the girl in the left is my cousin 😊 her name is Takia. I was searching "Tunisian women" and I was very surprised to find her lol

Knowing that now makes me really want to visit Tunisia. It sounds like there is a really interesting history there.

maybe you should 😊 you're more than welcome

You and me both, @beanz — I'd love to explore a country with a strong history of equality. Hazem, I had no idea your homeland was this cool! This made my day. :)

I'm glad to hear this princess 😉
Bring your campervan and wel shall have a tour 😄

togetherness in difference.
very beautiful to look at

I guess it is 😊
Thank you


شكرا للمشاركة المميزة كالعادة :)
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)
** يسرنا اعلامك انه يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت من 0.10 الى 0.40 :)**

This is so amazing and I had no idea of this about your country Hazem. I guess Tunisia is one of the countries I haven't known to much about. Thank you for sharing and really cool. 🤗
I love the picture and I read a little and cool your cousin was in that picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85