My Life's Journey - Finally rebuilding our home with my father after it was ravaged by war. Part 2 - ProgresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #tsufamily7 years ago (edited)

As promised here is the progress report from the work on our house in the past week. For those of you just joining in you can read the first post so you can catch to the entire story about the rebuilding of my home in Drnis, Croatia.

https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/my-life-s-story-finally-rebuilding-our-home-with-my-father-after-it-was-ravaged-in-war

Anway as you remember guys we started with stripping down the walls and fixing the water damages done to them causes by the leaks from our balconies on the second floor which is now fixed. Just refresh your memory here is how it all looked at the beginning.

Collage 2017-08-10 16_29_06 - Copy.jpg

From there we started working on laying down gypsum boards along the stairs to the second floor which took some careful planning, patience, and some hard work. Here is how it looked after a couple of days of work.

Collage 2017-08-10 16_35_34 - Copy.jpg

As you can see we placed 3 big gypsum boards and filled the whole made by water damage. From there we went on laying down gypsum boards along the stairs and we got a lot of work done, but there is a lot of work to be done. I mean a lot of work. But before we go further along the progress we did I want to share two a bit funny stories while we were working. One is connected to how clumsy I am for anything besides basketball and the other of my father pride preventing him from admitting a big mistake he made.

First one starts with me trying to mix the glue and cement we needed to the attach the gypsum boards to the walls. So basically I added a bit too much water to the mixture and did not notice the whole mixture was a bit slushie.lol So here I am taking the machine to mix it up altogether and instead of setting on slow rotation I put it on the max speed. Do you get where I am going with this? lol I am laughing at myself while writing this.

So basically high speed instead of slow, and too much water leading to me sprinkling the mixture all over the walls around me and the door entering our living room. I was soaked in it. My legs were covered with it, and I think some flew into my mouth. lol I was laughing so hard. My dad just looked at me and started laughing saying this is classic Duro. "Stick to basketball son." Thank you, dad, for the vote of confidence. lol I did not take a photo of everything around me but this is how the door looked like.

2017-08-16-18-01-16.jpg

Anyways, you know how older people have their pride, and would not sometimes admit their mistakes. I mean for me it is simple. I make a mistake. Acknowledge it, and move on. But, for my dad, it is almost never the case. There is always something else wrong, but it was not his mistake.

So as we were cutting the bottom of gypsum board so it fits the indentations of the stairs. I noticed he made the wrong measurements and that it will not fit. I mean not even close. He really usually does not make these kinds of mistakes. But as many times as I told him it was wrong he would not listen. So, I just stopped talking and let him cut it the wrong way, and we did. Of course, when trying to fit along the stairs we missed the measurement by I am not even kidding 15-20cm. I mean by a mile. Not even close. I just started laughing so hard on the inside when he started to get angry and curse some Croatian words. He has a lot of them. lol

For 20 minutes he argued with how the wall was crooked, and many others reasons why it was not his fault. Even when I told him before we cut it was wrong. It was the crooked wall. It was my glasses. lol Finally, I just went along for whatever the reason he found for not being his fault so we can move on and fix the problem. Otherwise, none of the work would be done. So after the "crooked wall" accepted reason we went along with work and managed to do a lot of work. Here is how it all looks now.

Collage 2017-08-16 18_27_38.jpg

Even though we have completed a lot of work there is still a lot of work ahead of us. We have to finish laying the last layer of mixture over gypsum boards and prepare it for painting. But before we can paint it we have to scrape the old paint above the stairs and fix the window on top of the stairs. We also have to tear down the railing on the side of the stairs, and refinish it and paint it. After all that is done we can paint the gypsum boards. O yes plus we have to add another layer of new cement in the entrance hallway to fix all the cracks and crooked parts of the wall. So basically a lot of work to be done.

Collage 2017-08-15 17_51_41.jpg

Even though there is still plenty of work to be done to rebuild our home we are looking forward to it, and enjoying the process as much as we can. Plus we are capturing some memories which will last us forever. Every time I pass these wall in the future it will remind me of the days my dad, and me fixing them with our own two hands. Great memory in my book of life.

"If you truly want to do something you will be grateful for, do it with your own two hands."

Collage 2017-08-16 18_46_47.jpg

Anway's guys, I hope I did not bore you too much with my story telling. Next time I do progress report I hope we will close to finished with it all for this year. Even when all that we designate to finish for this year there is plenty of work on our home to bring it back to former glory. Looking forward to the challenge. Hopefully no more cement in my mouth in the future and more on the walls. lol

Thank you for reading. Sending you much love. :)

If you want to keep up with the updates on our progress it will be under this #rebuildingourhome.

Here are some of my other posts this week. :)

Color Challenge - Tuesday Orange Sunset Submission

https://steemit.com/photography/@awakentolife/color-challenge-tuesday-orange-sunset-sumission

"Start saying I CAN, and start believing with all your HEART." Expressing my thoughts - Motivational Post 4

https://steemit.com/motivational/@awakentolife/start-saying-i-can-and-start-believing-with-all-your-heart-expressing-my-thoughts-motivational-post-4

My Life's Journey - Amazing day with my brother Nikola.
https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/my-life-s-journey-amazing-day-with-my-brother-nikola

My Life's Journey - Finally rebuilding our home with my father after it was ravaged by war.

https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/my-life-s-story-finally-rebuilding-our-home-with-my-father-after-it-was-ravaged-in-war

My Life's Journey - The unexpected gift on the horizon.

https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/my-life-s-journey-unexpected-gift-on-the-horizon

An incredible story of a man who saved 669 children from Nazi Death Camps. Must see. Expressing my thoughts - Motivational post 3

https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/an-incredible-story-of-a-man-who-saved-669-children-from-nazi-death-camps-must-see-expressing-my-thoughts-motivational-post-3

ALL THE IMAGES POSTED, AND WORDS WRITTEN IN THIS POST BELONG TO ME. 100% ORIGINAL

Copywrite of Duro Bjegovic

Sort:  

Not boring in the least I enjoyed reading this and to see the progress, when it is all done the feeling you, your father and family will have of satisfaction will make all the hard work so worthwhile

LOL at the spraying incident, I can imagine me doing the same thing lOL

Thank you, my friend, for a wonderful comment. I am sure we will. Finally, we will be able to say war is just a memory.

hahah it was hilarious. I laughed at my own stupidity. :) Hopefully next time it will more mixture on the walls where we need them and not all over me and the poor door. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

:) you to have a great day

I totally liked this quote

"If you truly want to do something you will be grateful for, do it with your own two hands."

That is so true! So I DID a lot of work with my bare hands today as well. LOL.
So excited that your post has gone up to $100 ! Congratulations @awakentolife!
Going to save my vote for your other newer posts. :)

I really believe you get a bit of extra gratitude if you do something by yourself. In my case, working with my dad, and repairing our house, gives me so much gratitude and appreciation for what we are doing. It is easier to just hire somebody, but this is something I can say I worked on with my dad. Amazing memory in my book created by our own two hands. :)

Thank you for such an amazing comment. Have a great day. :)

You are doing wonderful job Durko, but I like the stone walls............can you leave them bare in somewhere to make an accent wall. You know the rustic look is very popular. We don't have houses built of stone here in Canada, but builders make them look like they are lol ? UPV & RSD

We would leave it, but the stone under is really not that good looking and creates a lot of dust around the house. It is one of the reasons we covered it. I know what you mean. We can later find fake stone looking tiles to put over to make it better looking.

Thank you, my amazing, friend your amazing comment always and all your support. :) I am picking up steem a bit. My vote is worth 0.02 now. lol

My pleasure Durko............. I am looking forward to see the results and congratulations on your Steem progress too. Keep up the good job 🌸💖🌸

We will do so. I am getting excited about being closer and closer to finishing. It is going to look amazing. :)

Congratulations @awakentolife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @awakentolife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hard word done!!

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you, brother. Hard work indeed.

Have an amazing day. :)

Sorry I could not upvote this post I was too late however what an amazing story its interesting what you call the board, in english we call it plaster board and in bulgarian its called gypsokarton. I am following you from now thank you for posting this.

Don't worry about upvotes, my friend. Thank you for a thoughtful comment. Well, honestly I did not know how to translate them into English so I just used google translate and this is the suggestion they gave me. So I used it. LOL

Thank you for your comment, brother. I am already following you from a week ago or so. :)

Thank you so much for taking us with you on this journey of healing for your family. I am so sorry you all had to experience such a devastating time such as this and I am very sorry for the other families and their losses.

This is a beautiful thing to see, family working together to rebuild what they love. You all are creating wonderful memories and laughter sure helps heal the soul. I really enjoyed your post, very funny. Looking forward to to more of your journey. Many Blessings ~ Resteemed!

Your words of encouragement mean the world to me. It is my pleasure to share our journey of rebuilding with you guys. Especially when I get such a great response and feedback like yours. It motivates me to keep writing and to keep sharing. :)

We do have some funny moments as we go along the way. I am just happy it can bring some smiles to everybody faces. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

So glad I can be of encouragement to you ;) Stay motivated, you're doing well. Thank you for my smiles today! 😄

You are more than welcome :)

Great post on your progress. It is always nice to be able to enjoy that fact that you did the work with your own hands. Even if it is hard, the satisfaction of your job well done outweighs the hard work. Keep up the great work and good luck as you continue on. Thanks for sharing your progress and pictures with us.

Thank you. We have been working really hard. But, there is still plenty of work to be done. I am sure we will appreciate it, even more, working on it with our own two hands. I am really excited about it. :)

Thank you for a thoughtful comment. Have a great day. :)

Thank you, You too. I look forward to seeing more of your progress as you go along.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90