WILL THE GOVERNMENT SHUT DOWN BE THE DEATH OF US ALL?

in #trump5 years ago (edited)

How many people will this affect, and how badly?


There seems to be a lot of speculation out there about exactly what will and will not be affected by the current "government shutdown" here in the United States. While I also am not sure, it certainly seems like it wouldn't take much to really destroy what is left of our society.

WHAT ABOUT BENEFITS, AND TAXES?

While some things, like visiting some "national parks" may still be possible, some people think that certain functions of the government shutdown could financially crippled many US citizens. Since it is the federal government that takes care of tax refunds, and such programs as SNAP or EBT (the current form of food stamps), many speculate that if the shutdown doesn't end, such things may be postponed.

Honestly, I've looked into it a bit and can't definitely say one way or the other. Many sources claim tax refunds and food stamps will not be affected, while others claim the opposite. At this point, does anyone know for sure?

If these things happened to be suspended or postponed, I personally don't see too much going well in the United States. For one, people basically go broke (or broker) around Christmastime, and many even take out extra loans with the expectation of attempting to pay them off when they get their tax refund. It would certainly be a dire situation for these folks if that tax refund didn't come when they expected it.

Moreover, many now depend on programs like EBT and SNAP. Food is one of the dearest things to our physical lives on the earth, and many people will do things they normally would never think of (See 2 Kings 6:28-29 in the Bible for one example). I really wonder how safe it would be for anyone who can afford to buy groceries to go shopping in the city if millions of people were suddenly cut off from their food supply.

Honestly, entire cities may be destroyed by riots almost overnight if something like this went down. Remember that people are so tramatized by the media these days that they can't even handle someone wearing a hat, opening a door for them, or having a different shade of melanin in their skin tone without completely freaking out. Now, take food away from people like that and see what happens.

So, what do you think? Will the shutdown come to an end before anyone is really affected? Will these programs continue during the shutdown even if it continues for months or years to come? Will this be the end of the United States? Will trump declare a national emergency and build the wall without the support of congress?

Also, if anyone thinks that they have definitive information on how things like tax returns, EBT, and SNAP benefits please share it below. It sounds like social security should be fine through September, but who knows if that is accurate?

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

I can't say how long the shutdown will last, and how extensive it will be. I can only say that this is a perfect opportunity for people to take inventory on their lives, and take care of one another, along with their environment, instead of relying on government employees to do it.

Yup! Very, very correct! If you wean yourself, you'll be able to handle things when the "milk" dries up.

Am I correct in saying after 30days he can start draining the swamp? Thanks mike

The shut down is nothing more than political theater. The cops are still out, they are still collecting taxes, and we are continually losing more and more of our freedoms still. Political theater is all it is. We don't need a Federal Government anyways.

These are all dismal prospects. I just checked, and I got my EBT
Payment on 1/15/19 right on time, although it went down a few
$'s because of COLA (Cost Of Living Allowance) increasing my
Disability by a few dollars (I think it went up $12 per month)
Post is Upvoted 100% @papa-pepper
On a side note, I live in Atlanta Ga, not any of the Suburbs,
But in the old, downtown part of the city. I am white, and
I am in a minority, I don't care what the media or census
Says. I am looked down upon daily by many of the black
People around me, if not actively threatened.
This would all go to hell in a handbasket very quickly.
I am afraid, very afraid.

I used to live in "the Black Pearl" in New Orleans. I know the feeling.

It's not that easy. I'm on a very limited income, I am awaiting a hip replacement surgery
That the VA will be doing or paying a civilian to do, and the VA hosp is only a few
Miles from here.
I live in a 14 floor, low income senior housing building. I pay roughly 1/3 of my
Monthly (disability) income in rent, which is $197. I can't get ANY apartment
ANY where around that I know of for that amount.
The other factor is, when I am physically recovered from the surgery, and
Can get back to playing music for Retirement communities etc, I can
Make about as much per year as I do in my disability, but if I move
To a more rural area, this would not be possible. You wouldn't
Believe how many nursing home, retirement and assisted
Living facilities there are in and around Atlanta. I could
Probably make as much around Savannah (closer to
Where I grew up) but the racial divide is just as bad
If not worse down there. Things may change when
I get past this surgery.

Unfortunately, all the things you brought up are in the realm of, if they didn't tax us to death in the first place, none of that would be needed.

The EBT system is operated by one of the "too large to fail" banks. They are not affected by the shutdown. However, the president can stop funds going to that at will. (the president is in charge of fund distribution)

Further, what puts food on the table is food.
Like what you are doing.

We have all of these welfare moms, who basically sit at home all day. There life could be vastly improved if they spent part of their days gardening.

(yes, its not all welfare moms, but the stereotype exists for a reason)

So, really govern-cement is the problem. Or, govern-cement is the solution to a problem that they created.

Yeah, it's all a mess, and a trap. I'm just trying to stay as far away from the "cheese" in this trap as I can.

The second rat always gets the cheese, never the first. He does the heavy lifting.

LOL - Good point!

Times like these I'm glad I preserve every bit I can. While some crops didn't do so well this year I have plenty of tomatoes. It's getting things to go with the tomatoes... by this time of year. Many who do preserve and harvest their own animals may find themselves running down to low amounts. I know I ran out of goat meat, chicken, and rabbits a few weeks ago. Thankfully we put another harvest of rabbit in the freezer.
My understanding of SNAP/EBT for Minnesota is that it's mostly automated at this point. There is a renewal every 6 months. So maybe it shuts down at the end of June? People I know with it still received benefits in January, tho we'll see what February brings.

Thanks @papa-pepper for this new updates.

I read about the government shutdown" in the Us on some italian newspaper and, sure, I'm a little bit in worry because the thing you wrote: food. If a crisis "touch" the basic needs of people, people could do things that they never think to do and it could be really a problem. I hope everything will be better soon.

Tax returns will be going out, they funded the IRS. People will still get their state welfare benefits and such, shutdowns are a drag but everyone will get paid when it is over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97