Steem Is Poised For Incredible Growth. My Response to the Question: "Is Steem Worth My Time?"

in #triptolemus6 years ago

As you are all well aware, I spend countless hours on Steem. Whether it be writing posts, reading posts, or interacting with the various new platforms and projects that continue to be released on the Steem blockchain.

A friend asked me yesterday if I was sure that spending 90% of my energy on the Steem blockchain was worth it. "What if it goes to 0?" They proposed. Or "what if you find out that it would've been better to just focus on some other project outside of cryptocurrency and Steem?"

These are valid questions and I'd be an idiot to not consider the downfall of Steem and the "waste" of all the hard work that I've put into my account and this blockchain.

Here's how I thought through those questions and how I responded:


There is a possible scenario where the Steem blockchain fails and STEEM becomes worthless. It would be ignorant to think that anything was completely failsafe.

If I entertain the idea that the Steem blockchain could fail (even though I consider that possibility to be a micro-fraction of a percent chance), then I still don't consider my work on here to be a waste of time for the following reasons:

  1. Writing posts and reading and learning is never a waste of time. Even if the Steem blockchain were to up and disappear (something I don't think will happen), the development to my intellect and skills when it comes to writing, blockchains, coding, etc. is something that can never be taken away from me
  2. I take a small income from Steem each month and save it in fiat as my "just in case fund". Over the past few months, I've saved enough so that I have a few months worth of living expenses stocked away
  3. The opportunity and risk trade-off are incredible: I'm well-aware of the risks of crypto and Steem and how this is a new market that could up and disappear (though I doubt that will happen). But if you consider the upside of holding on to Steem, then you'd see that it far outweighs the risk... BY FAR!
  4. The technology and projects - Steem is unlike any other crypto because of the innovative entrepreneurs who are building amazing projects on this blockchain. The blockchain itself is unlike any other as well because of the scalability and structure and innovation to the core.

If you ask me, going all-in (or mostly all-in) on Steem is a risk, but it's a well-calculated one. I'm well aware of the potential downside but I'm also well-aware of the upside - the amazing entrepreneurs and the amazing community has me convinced that Steem will continue to grow as an ecosystem and will create massive, MASSIVE opportunity for all of us on here!

Sort:  

You are not alone thinking like this. Most of us are in same boat and constantly thinking how to contribute to keep it floating. And that probably won’t let it fail.

From my own point of view...i feel cryptocurrency is far from failing as long as we have passion for it and use it continuously...
Steem actually worths every minute or second spent on it...its an interactive,educative and financial social medium which build abilities in people to do things they might not be able to do normally..such skills include critical thinking, creative and esucative writings and posts, it also creates a blogging spirit in the minds of steemians....
Starting up on steemit and earning on the platform takes a lot of patience and determination

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I love this and think you are 100% correct. Sure, anything can fail but what you have learned and what you have taken away from Steem is worth all of those hours. It is another form of education and education is wealth.

I too have questioned if creating and spending time of Steem was worth my time and I decided it was for similar reasons. Plus, I really believe in helping others and if my posts help a single person, that is enough for me.

Amazing post! Follow and an upvote from me!

Hi, I agree with you overall: learning things on Steemit is something that can not be taken away whatever the future of its blockchain is. Though, as a Steem newbie, it's hard to find content I'm interested in and which are relevant and not just written or produced to "make money". I appreciate being rewarded for participating in the Steem community but it also introduce a lot a bias on how people communicate with each other, including a lot of spam.
Anyway, as I said, I appreciate how you deal with doubts most steemians must have had at least one day since they joined. Thanks !

i think steem is still good way to go, you just have to really put your time in,

Great response to the questions. This is a message everyone that is losing hope in the time they spend on the platform should take in. There are more benefits in blogging than the pay got out of it.

Hey nice post ! Enjoyit a lot 😊 I restarted here on steem ! Cause I saw the big oppurtunity!!

steem is most transaction cryptocurrency today.some time more than Bitcoin.but still value is $ 1.4.i can not understand this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58702.17
ETH 2301.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46