One of the Most Effective Motivational Tactics That I Use to Get Fired Up

in #triptolemus6 years ago

Making progress is one of the most important facets of life as a human being. We’re geared and wired to love progress and always look for ways to reproduce and push the species as a whole forward.

Making progress in our own lives on many of the things that we have come to care about can prove itself to be much more difficult though.

I love to make progress on the things that I’m learning and trying to get better at. Seeing progress happen is a miracle of life - kind of like a flower sprouting into fullness - it’s majestic to watch it unfold.

But the actual work - crossing your t’s and dotting your i’s and just grinding your way forward - can be painful, to say the least. It can be hard to get started on new habits.

It can be hard to work your butt off each day and not have much to show for it. It can be extremely hard when you’re working on things that have no immediate payoff or very little immediate payoff.

These types of things - where the payoff is big but it’s far off in the future - can be hard to work on each day. Motivating yourself is the key. You cannot get motivated externally, you can only add gas to a fire that you’ve already lit all on your own.

One of the most effective tactics in my tool belt for being motivated each and every day is to write down the reasons why the payoff is worth all of this incredible hardship. Why the payoff is so downright amazing and infatuating that it’s worth beating yourself up every single day in order to achieve it.


As you may have noticed, I’ve started a podcast recently. So I’ll show you how I apply this tactic of writing down the reasons why as it relates to starting a podcast.

I just got done recording the episode for today. It’s episode 3 of my podcast and it’s definitely an improvement from the previous ones.

Seeing that improvement is really great but I still have to battle with an inner voice in my head that tells me that this is all a waste of time and I should focus on writing and other endeavors.

I battle that voice everyday, but what can truly silence that voice is my why. My reason for podcasting. My reason for beating myself up each day.

The reason why I beat myself up everyday in order to get better at recording my voice in podcast format is multi-fold, here are some of the main reasons:

  1. Being able to articulate your ideas via speech is an essential skill for thousands upon thousands of different crafts - I’m the type of person who loves to master a wide array of skills so that I can be extremely adaptable to any situation that life throws at me. Being articulate in your speech can allow you to be phenomenal at selling anything, getting hired anywhere, raising capital, operating a podcast, vlogging, etc…. The list goes on my friends!
  2. A podcast that is well-developed can lead to a lot of great relationships, business deals, investments, ideas, etc etc.
  3. The act of making the podcast requires me to learn something through teaching and speaking… Speaking about something requires that you know at least a little nugget of information that you feel the need to pass on to your listeners.

Anyways, you get where I’m going with this idea of creating a podcast and sticking to it no matter how bad I am at it right now.

Improving my podcasts episode by episode will only lead to me getting better at the multitude of skills that I mentioned above.

If you haven’t yet listened to my podcast, there are 2 episodes out right now: 1 on Dtube and 1 on DLive - please let me know what you think of them!! There’s a new one dropping later tonight!!

Thank you for your immense support and constructive criticism!! It’s highly appreciated and it’s helping me get better!

Sort:  

Hey dear @triptolemus
Infuse your life with action. Don't wait for it to happen. Make it happen. Make your own future. Make your own hope. Make your own love. And whatever your beliefs, honor your creator, not by passively waiting for grace to come down from upon high, but by doing what you can to make grace happen... yourself, right now, right down here on Earth.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

A blunt a day all your need for motivation.

Awesome article. My son gives me great advice when I feel overwhelmed. He watches a lot of motivational videos so I don't know who to credit but I like the expression "play a game you can win everyday"--it's a metaphor for chunking your projects into bitesize, realistic goals that you can actually accomplish and feel good about at the end of the day.

Congratulations @triptolemus! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Where there's a will there's a way. This is a poem btw written by Ezra Cook. I should probably share that poem someday. It's beautiful. Thanks for sharing your motivation. For sure this will help many to get them motivated as well. Well thought out.

You got a 35.05% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @triptolemus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44