How to use thermal mass to harness the incredible power of the SUN and to grow food year round!

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

Last winter I buckled down and built myself a 15' x 40' greenhouse. I built it on a shoestring budget and I'm actually pretty happy with it. It needs some stuff (like automation) but it sure gets the job done! One day I'd like to write more about how it was built...

IMG_0001.jpg

I considered this greenhouse an essential for the farm. With it I was able to start plants much earlier than the last frost, and I'll be able to grow into the fall and even the winter this year if I choose to do so. Next year I'll really get a jump start cause I won't be so busy building everything and can just focus on planting!

Heating costs for a greenhouse can become a major expense very quickly.

However, the sun puts off abundant amounts of heat. It's right there, all around us... IF we can just learn to harness it's power. And here's another thing I like about solar power: Most everything in our lives has been commodified in one way or another, but no one can ever slap a price tag on the sun. It's abundance of power will always be free.

So I needed to do two things to harness and keep the power of the sun in my greenhouse:

First, I needed to insulate the greenhouse as much as possible. I did this by making the house "double walled", which means I used two layers of plastic instead of one. Then, I added a small blower to inflate the space in between the plastic. This creates dead air space, which is pretty decent insulation.

IMG_0582.jpg

This is the blower that inflates the two layers. Low cost and effective.



Second, I needed to create thermal mass. Thermal mass is anything that collects and holds heat. Water does the best job at this, followed by rock, and then soil. This isn't a new idea. People have probably been using thermal mass to help grow plants since the beginnings of agriculture. For example, the ancient Romans grew espaliered fruit trees, which are basically a fruit tree trained to climb a south facing wall (thermal mass) to protect it from frost and extend the fruiting season.

I got lucky, because on the property I am stewarding, there were quite a few old, rusted out 'stock tanks' lying around. These are the big metal water tanks that are used to hold water or feed for livestock. They had been rusting and cooking in the sun for a very long time so I needed to find an effective way to get them to hold water.

DSCN2557.jpg

Here we have two of the tanks. The one on the left has a pretty sloppy fiberglass patch on it, and the one on the right has the entire bottom resurfaced with fiberglass.


I used fiberglass and epoxy to resurface the tanks and make them usable once again! I don't have very good pictures of this process, but it wasn't incredibly difficult. I just painted on the clear epoxy, laid out the fiberglass sheets, and then painted it again. If it was a particularly bad hole, I thickened the epoxy with "microbubbles" which is a thickening product used in boat building. You can also just use wood flour to thicken epoxy. You can do some amazing things with epoxy and fiberglass!

Here are a couple pictures of the finished tanks filled with water:

IMG_0584.jpg

IMG_0190 (1).jpg

There are four tanks total. They are all in the second picture but you can't really see them because they are covered in starts. I am guessing they hold somewhere around a 500 - 700 gallons of water, but I'm not totally sure.

During the day, the hot sun heats up the water in these tanks (they weren't covered in starts in the winter, so they got more direct sunlight). If they were painted black, they would do an even better job at this. Then at night, they slowly release the heat, keeping the greenhouse warm and increasing the humidity level... Which is a good thing here in the desert.

I have a small pump in each tank that creates a little fountain effect in the middle. This aerates the water to keep the microbial life healthy, and also adds some humidity to the air.

I also make my earthworm teas in these tanks, so they serve a nice double purpose.

Soon I would like to add fish and aquatic plants, and hook up a line out that feeds into my drip system, but I haven't tackled those projects yet!

During the winter months, these tanks made a HUGE DIFFERENCE in my heat bill. I was getting a solid 10-15 degrees of temperature gain most nights just from the tanks. I would supplement that gain with a small propane "Mr. Buddy" heater, but many nights I didn't need it.

By the time I got everything setup and had plants in the greenhouse, we were still experiencing nights going down into the low teens. I never had to turn the propane heater any higher than the lowest setting, and many nights I didn't use it.

This is a 15' x 40' greenhouse with 8' of headroom in the middle. That is a big space to heat!

I added up my propane costs, and my heat bill was running me... wait for it.. just about $10 a WEEK.

Compare that to $300 - $500 a month without the tanks (conservative estimate)!

It's crazy to me how simple these kinds of systems are and how much energy is available to us for free if we can just capture it and use it. This doesn't just apply to the sun.. there is energy everywhere in nature waiting to be captured or unlocked. It's in the soil in forms of insoluble minerals that microbes can release, and of course in the rain water. We just need to build or help nurture the natural systems to hold these forces in place so that us and our plants can benefit from them before they dissipate back into the universe.

I believe strongly that the key to growing healthy plants - and for that matter just living a good life - is to work with these systems of nature instead of against them. These could be as basic as harnessing the sunlight, watching the movement of rain water through your fields, etc... or as complex as the music you play, the art you create, your personal life, business relationships, etc etc..

I hope y'all found some insight or inspiration from this post. Thanks for reading... and if you like what you've read, please resteem, upvote, or comment below!

Sort:  

Wow you did a great job!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I always heard about using thermal mass through rock but I never knew about water. I mean it seems obvious now you say it, but this is a super cool idea. I've also seen some set-ups where people prop chicken coops against the greenhouse so the their body warmth transfers. I feel like this would be a good energy exchange between the tanks and the chickens for colder months... Nice idea though!

Yeah water is excellent. It's really neat to see the steam rising from the tanks in the middle of the night. Chicken coop is also a good idea. Critters produce a lot of heat. I did another greenhouse at a farm I was managing last year with worm compost bins for heat. They worked great... that one pushed all the way through the cold Taos winter with just a tiny electric space heater as supplemental heat. The house was 10' x 30' in size and the bins were about 4 x 4 x 3 and there were two of them. Thanks for the comment :)

I like the worm bin idea! That's awesome! I read a thing about people use the heat from crypto mining which tickled me!

AMAZING... what a saving!!! Love your resourcefulness too.

We loved your great content so much we wanted to showcase it in our weekly curation report where you will be paid from the post payout. Thank you!

You can find the post here;

https://steemit.com/helpie/@helpie/helpie-s-homesteading-curation-report-13-by-helpie-curator-llfarms

Thanks! That is awesome. I followed @helpie and you as well. I appreciate the support!

Another way to harvest energy from the Sun which can probably compliment your use of water tanks are solar air heaters.

They kind of look like solar panels and can be fitted onto the outside wall of a building or tiny house on wheels.

They are made from used soda or beer cans that are painted matte black. A small computer fan that is powered by a small solar panel is used to help circulate the air through them.

Cool air from within the building flows through the painted cans where that air is heated by the Sun; it then flows back into the room which the solar air heater is connected to.

There are many videos online that show how to make them: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=solar+air+heater

Nice! I might try this one day. I've heard of these and considered this idea in the past. Thanks for reminding me of it... very cool stuff

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Loving what you're sharing here! This is such a great use of resources, I really value your repair and reuse ethics and the great design idea to fill the tunnel with mass. Long live heat sinks!

We're getting ready to erect a 30x48 tunnel and we're chewing on non thermal mass options. I like the water tank, we're also thinking of gabion end wall (hella rocky here). Lots to consider but this post was inspiring.

Happy to see you winning with thermal mass heating. Look forward to seeing all the great things to come from this tunnel.

I couldn't agree more about aligning with nature and growing good plants and living a good life!!! Thanks for sharing.

Awesome! That is excisting. Just FYI .. if you don't already know this... I don't know the exact percentage but water retains much more heat / coolness than rock does.. I think maybe twice as much? So it's usually a better option than rock. Like for instance if there is already a rock or dirt south wall in place it makes sense to build on to it, but if you are starting from scratch, maybe consider the idea of tanks or just filling 55 gallon drums and painting them black for an end wall or something similar... Just a suggestion of course... there are so many different opinions and ways to do things especially with farming and maybe a gabion end wall makes the most sense for you and I'm sure it will also work great. :) Anyway thanks for the comment and I'm glad you enjoyed the post :)

Oh one other thing... In the fall this year, I'm going to hook in an on demand hot water heater that runs off of a propane tank. This is replacing the janky 'Mr. Buddy' heater I run. That way, the heat goes straight to the water and is retained for even more efficiency. When I was running the Mr. Buddy I would place it as close to the large tank as possible to achieve this same effect, but using an on demand hot water heater is going to be alot more efficient. I may also add worm bins in the greenhouse. Hoping to see more of a decrease in heating costs and eventually I'd like to break free from the propane and be fully off grid.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks so much! I appreciate it

This post has been featured in the @offgrid-online Weekly Review #7. Another great post about garden structures and techniques. That's an amazing savings you saw with that thermal mass!

Thanks I appreciate it! I love posting about this kind of stuff.. I will try and do more in the future. I also appreciate what you all are doing. So much valuable information being shared .... Thanks for that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11